We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and inexpensive when we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice place but rooms are a little small. Clean and inexpensive when we stayed. Close to most anything in San Diego. Gave us a better rate at check in than was listed on Trip Advisor. Put us in a room overlooking marina

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,422 - 1,428 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to San Diego in March and stayed at the Dana. It's a really beautiful area ... and although the rooms in themselves aren't luxurious or most up to date, they had all the amenities you could ask for ... and ours was clean. We very much enjoyed the breakfast every morning at their on-site restaurant (there are two: one is more family oriented and they have a fancier one by the pool which is also good) and the hot tub / pool area at night! Staff was friendly and available all the time. We loved renting bikes and driving all over the Mission Bay/Beach area. Although we don't have kids we saw lots of families there ... would definitely go back ... Maybe rent a car this time though (there are ways to get around and the staff helped, but it's just more cost effective in the end and time efficient to rent your own car).

Room Tip: If you want a bottom floor room, be aware that it may be a bit noisier (from rooms above and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xtina_Cm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We got good helps from Ms. Morgon when check-in, room arrangement very fast and introduction clearly shown all we needed. Room view is good too, but the room itself just a bit old, acceptable. The shutter bus service to Sea World is excellence. It's the most valuable theme park resort hotel we ever stayed. Don't forget to visit their restaurant for breakfast, reasonable charge but good taste, and must try the Daily Special !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanK_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

All I can say is WOW!!! From the location to the staff, food, facility and phenomenal views were all amazing!!! Front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful, Morgan went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was perfect. The Firefly Restaurant was delicious, and had the most unforgettable dessert ever...I forgot the name but its Rocky Road something. Would definitely recommend this beautiful location to anyone looking for a place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpilocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Unfriendly staff. Try arranging some meetings on improving the gift shop and phone service. Young girl was texting throughout the whole shopping experience and was not welcoming at all. Called for check in time and adjustments and seemed like we were bothering them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cynthia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

After being invited to a wedding across the street and seeking the opportunity for a nice night out, I decided this was a good chance to stay at the Dana. Pretty much all hotels are expensive during summer time in San Diego but the Dana definitely met my expectations. The girl Jolene at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful and even upgraded our room. We had a beautiful stay with a balcony facing the bay. I can't wait to find an opportunity to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for a night while in San Diego. The layout of the hotel was a bit confusing. The room was beautiful. Close to the pool. Would have been nicer if the pool was just a bit warmer, it was okay once you jumped in and got used to it. We were close to the pricier restaurant, we were hungry and didn't care but that was a bite to the wallet. We went for breakfast at the Pearl. Much more reasonably priced but it took quite a walk and touring to find it on the other side of the property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 279 in San Diego
1,668 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 279 in San Diego
2,755 reviews
Bahia Resort Hotel
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810 (Formerly The Dana On Mission Bay, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#43 Family Hotel in San Diego
#69 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $139 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront resort enveloped by tropical landscaping, The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection delivers an exceptional lodging experience in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Rest comfortably in a well-appointed guestroom or two-room suite overlooking Mission Bay. Delight in such quality amenities as two outdoor, heated swimming pools, fitness center, private marina, and watersport and bicycle rentals on site. Our location is both family- and business-friendly. The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection is less than one mile to Mission Beach and Belmont Park. We're the closest hotel to SeaWorld San Diego and a short drive to the San Diego Zoo. And the San Diego Convention Center is equally convenient. In short, the only thing we overlook is the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing