We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Centrally located & great for our girls weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection to your Saves list
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810 (Mission Bay Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Centrally located & great for our girls weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I sent my wife & 3 daughters out to San Diego for a little rest & relaxation. Well, they were so busy that they didn't get as much R&R as necessary. They were there for a concert @ Aztec bowl to see 1 Direction. Perfect location to get to concert, or to go to the world famous San Diego zoo, or head up to LaJolla for dinner & view wonderful sun sets.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    603
    247
    132
    77
See reviews for
845
488
56
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Dana was a very relaxing stay. Pretty surroundings and a wounderful view of Mission Bay. The rooms are comfortable, a beautiful heated pool with a hot tub and a easy walk to Sea World or you can take the shuttle the hotel has to the park. The Dana is a great loaction in San Diego, with easy access to major highways and a short drive to downtown or La Jolla.
Would stay at the Dana when in San Diego again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

So many good things to stay I don't know where to start. We were in San Diego for my daughter's graduation from SDSU. We booked 6 rooms for all of our family from the Boston, Mass area and couldn't have been happier with any of the rooms. They were all lovely and in different buildings on the grounds, each room had a spectacular view. The staff without exception was friendly and genuinely made us feel that they were happy we had arrived. Each day we had amazing breakfasts at the Blue Pearl restaurant right on the grounds and finished our busy days with a night cap at the Firefly by the pool. Our stays ranged from 2 nights to our stay of 6 nights and I could have stayed longer.

Very convenient for shuttling our guests to and from the airport, we even took advantage of the low cost airport shuttle for one group. My daughter will be staying in the area for her new job and I will be visiting her often and booking my stays at the Dana for sure!

Room Tip: We had heard that the newer section was the way to go and booked our room there and had a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0m627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel was clean, restaurants were great. Pool was beautiful and great location

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigz1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night/4 day stay at the Dana and it was great! My husband and I traveled with our 1 y.o. and 3 y.o. boys and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 2 room suite, after a reasonably priced upgrade, and we were pleased.We stayed in a corner suite, room 2300 (3rd floor), with a large balcony and view of the Bay. My boys loved waking up watching the the boats come and go and the relaxing scenery of Mission Bay. The rooms are kept very clean, the beds are comfortable (although the pillows are little too soft for me), and the staff is very friendly.

Firefly was our favorite restaurant on site, the food was delicious and the restaurant staff was friendly and attentive; it's definitely a little pricier, but we were looking for a few nice meals while on vacation. The other restaurant, I forget the name, the food was decent but they took 55 minutes to get our dinner: UNACCEPTABLE!

We were able to buy bus/trolley passes from the hotel lobby for $5, catch the bus/trolley to the San Diego Convention Center very easily.

The pool is nice in warm, which was nice for us since the temperatures during our stay varied between 60-70 degrees. My son wanted to swim every night!

We walked to Sea World each day, only took about 15 minutes (it's really close!). Our kids rise early and we didn't want to wait for the free shuttle, which starts running at 9:45 (Sea World officially opens at 10am, but lines for shows and attractions start forming earlier).

Loved, loved, loved the fact that Einstein's bagels was just across the street. We ate there each morning.

CON:
1. The Shuttle to/from the Airport stops running at 8pm. Not sure this is advertised. Our flight arrived after 8pm and we found out the hard way. We ended up paying about $35 (including tip) for a taxi ride to the hotel.

I would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Dana is a lovely hotel situated on Mission Bay. The rooms are spacious, clean and up-to-date. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a lovely view of the garden area. We stayed 2 nights and both evenings found ourselves enjoying Happy Hour on the outside patio near the harbor - a beautiful view! Our only "complaint" was that housekeeping was way too efficient! They tried to clean our rooms before 9 each morning. If you are a late riser, remember to put out the "do not disturb" sign. Highly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (without views) seem larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisfuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Dana is a very nice facility that is well maintained. The grounds are lovely, nice pool area and very convenient location. Our room was upgraded to a suite (#2320) and it was quite nice with a large patio and view of the Marina.

Room Tip: The Marina view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#132 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,492 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#33 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Mission Beach
Bahia Resort Hotel
Bahia Resort Hotel
#29 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,142 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#121 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing