We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can't Wait to Go Back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #62 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

So many good things to stay I don't know where to start. We were in San Diego for my daughter's graduation from SDSU. We booked 6 rooms for all of our family from the Boston, Mass area and couldn't have been happier with any of the rooms. They were all lovely and in different buildings on the grounds, each room had a spectacular view. The staff without exception was friendly and genuinely made us feel that they were happy we had arrived. Each day we had amazing breakfasts at the Blue Pearl restaurant right on the grounds and finished our busy days with a night cap at the Firefly by the pool. Our stays ranged from 2 nights to our stay of 6 nights and I could have stayed longer.

Very convenient for shuttling our guests to and from the airport, we even took advantage of the low cost airport shuttle for one group. My daughter will be staying in the area for her new job and I will be visiting her often and booking my stays at the Dana for sure!

Room Tip: We had heard that the newer section was the way to go and booked our room there and had a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0m627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    608
    249
    134
    79
See reviews for
852
494
58
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel was clean, restaurants were great. Pool was beautiful and great location

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigz1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night/4 day stay at the Dana and it was great! My husband and I traveled with our 1 y.o. and 3 y.o. boys and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 2 room suite, after a reasonably priced upgrade, and we were pleased.We stayed in a corner suite, room 2300 (3rd floor), with a large balcony and view of the Bay. My boys loved waking up watching the the boats come and go and the relaxing scenery of Mission Bay. The rooms are kept very clean, the beds are comfortable (although the pillows are little too soft for me), and the staff is very friendly.

Firefly was our favorite restaurant on site, the food was delicious and the restaurant staff was friendly and attentive; it's definitely a little pricier, but we were looking for a few nice meals while on vacation. The other restaurant, I forget the name, the food was decent but they took 55 minutes to get our dinner: UNACCEPTABLE!

We were able to buy bus/trolley passes from the hotel lobby for $5, catch the bus/trolley to the San Diego Convention Center very easily.

The pool is nice in warm, which was nice for us since the temperatures during our stay varied between 60-70 degrees. My son wanted to swim every night!

We walked to Sea World each day, only took about 15 minutes (it's really close!). Our kids rise early and we didn't want to wait for the free shuttle, which starts running at 9:45 (Sea World officially opens at 10am, but lines for shows and attractions start forming earlier).

Loved, loved, loved the fact that Einstein's bagels was just across the street. We ate there each morning.

CON:
1. The Shuttle to/from the Airport stops running at 8pm. Not sure this is advertised. Our flight arrived after 8pm and we found out the hard way. We ended up paying about $35 (including tip) for a taxi ride to the hotel.

I would definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Dana is a lovely hotel situated on Mission Bay. The rooms are spacious, clean and up-to-date. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a lovely view of the garden area. We stayed 2 nights and both evenings found ourselves enjoying Happy Hour on the outside patio near the harbor - a beautiful view! Our only "complaint" was that housekeeping was way too efficient! They tried to clean our rooms before 9 each morning. If you are a late riser, remember to put out the "do not disturb" sign. Highly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (without views) seem larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisfuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Dana is a very nice facility that is well maintained. The grounds are lovely, nice pool area and very convenient location. Our room was upgraded to a suite (#2320) and it was quite nice with a large patio and view of the Marina.

Room Tip: The Marina view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The decision to make in San Diego is a hotel, or a resort. For a three day visit to my daughter, I chose a resort and am glad I did. The Dana turned out to be a reasonably priced, well run resort on a very nice peice of property. There are two types of rooms - the old two story buildings, and the more modern mini tower. We stayed in one of the older buildings, and the accomodation was merely adequate. The room was small (though two queen beds) and the appointments were moderate. Very clean however. The pool area was beautiful and well maintained, overlooking the bay. Also a large marina with water sport rentals. Overall I would again, though I would request the new building.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank scarknighttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel offers a decent price for the area. However, they seem to add in a lot of hidden fees and if you do not get a newer room you will be disappointed. They have 2 decent sized pools and hot tubs that were always filled with young families. We were lucky to get a newer room which was clean and large. There is a parking fee, but if you complain they will either take it off completely or drop it in half.

I did not feel that this hotel had my best interest in mind. They did not go over and beyond. If you ask for the better room and ask to have the parking fees removed they are more than willing to help you, but YOU MUST ASK.

I think it is worth paying a little bit more money and staying at the Paradise Point Hotel which is also located in Mission Bay.

Room Tip: Avoid the 900 building, it has not yet been renovated as of 3/2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#134 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,510 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Mission Beach
Bahia Resort Hotel
Bahia Resort Hotel
#27 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,174 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#123 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing