We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dana on Mission Bay adds a personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #62 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Dana on Mission Bay adds a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I went to The Dana for a business trip that happened to take place on my 20th wedding anniversary. The sales staff we worked with were very professional and accommodating. They even sent a cookie tray to my room and a card wishing me a happy anniversary. The hotel is in a beautiful location and the on sight restaurants are top notch.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the bay are beautiful as is the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GClementAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    608
    249
    134
    79
See reviews for
852
494
58
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Dana is the only palce we stay in San Diego after trying many other locations over the years. It is close to everything.
The service is always prompt and courteous starting with the check in and all the way through the check out. You can't beat the view from the Bay rooms and from the pool and Firefly cafe.
The food is always great as well.
You will never stay anywhere else after one visit, I guarantee it.

Room Tip: We always select a Bay View room for the view, but the other rooms are a great value as well. We do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Exellent location for Sea World. Nice pools. Clean and professional. One minor problem: I reserved the hotel months in advance, checked inn late but the key was not ready and it took to long to get us into the room after a long day at Sea World.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights with the Marina View. The property is conveniently located to Sea World and offers a shuttle service which we used for one of our days. We enjoyed the hotel which offers 2 large swimming pools and hot tubs. If you like walking, there is a nice walk along Mission Bay. There are bike rentals by the Hotel if riding a bike is your enjoyment. You are not far from the beach and can ride a bike to and from the beach. Had I known, you can also fish off one of the piers. Not sure what one of the guests was catching, but they were releasing the fish and feeding a sea lion close by. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The desk staff was polite and helpful with ideas of what to see and do. We purchased our Seaworld and San Diego Safari tickets at the front desk. All around a great location with a view of the harbor and bay and attractive grounds. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had always stayed on Coronado Island when we were in San Diego, but this time we needed to be in town. On a recommendation from USD, we tried The Dana and were totally charmed. We stayed in a ground floor bay view room with a nice patio and a gate that exited right out onto the park for easy access to a path for walking and jogging. The room was large with 2 queen beds, small pullout sofa, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, safe, and free wifi. We ate dinner on the patio at the Firefly restaurant and the crispy pork belly sandwich was delicious, so we went back and had it again the second night! The Blue Pearl for breakfast was a pleasant space with acceptable food. Staff was pleasant and helpful and the grounds were beautifully landscaped.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building closest to the Firefly Restaurant seem to be the newest. Those on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maroonedcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed on the top floor of the 3-level buildings, and had an amazing view. And wow, what a view. My wife and loved our stay at the Dana - as much as we could.

The restaurant is very nice. Stephanie in the restaurant is really a top star, as is John in the restaurant - super friendly and very enthusiastic. I remember tipping him almost half of the bill, just because he was both charming and on his game. The food was delicious.

I was physically ill, unfortunately, during this trip. My wife was able to get some medicines from the gift shop (the lady in the gift shop was VERY nice and felt bad that I was sick!) - and I guess if you're going to be sick on vacation, being sick where there's a nice view is about as good as it can get. The room was comfortable, and the sunsets were beautiful. Even at my worst, I couldn't help but enjoy the view and the beauty of the property. The balcony was nice and spacious, and room service was friendly and the food - again - was good.

Front desk was ok, but not very personable. I was surprised, and a little worried when checking in, but everyone else was nice. Additionally, $16. for parking is really ridiculous, and I think a little creepy after paying over $1000. for three nights. No amenities were considered, and no manager to discuss it with. I guess after $1000, who cares about another 1.6%, but after the fact, I just don't like the concept. It's like getting a hotel room only to find a pay toilet in the room. Who does that these days? Cheesy!

One restaurant staff member on a particularly busy night, however, was very friendly and was willing to move his car so we could park. I was pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Top floor is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at The Dana. The rooms were affordable and right on the bay. The grassy area was a great place for taking walks, the balcony had a great view and mission beach was extremely close. We had a quick easy drive to get to the zoo, Coronado Island and downtown. The service at the hotel was awesome. The front desk was incredibly friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Next time we are in San Diego we will be staying at The Dana.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msimyak327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#134 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,510 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
Mission Beach
Bahia Resort Hotel
Bahia Resort Hotel
#27 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,174 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#123 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing