We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #61 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
1 review
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I really can't say enough great things about the Dana. In fact, part of me wants to keep this little gem all to myself so I can return any time without facing a sold-out situation. Another part of me wants to shout it out to all the families with young children how great it is. It's location, close to airport, on the bay, across from Sea World and close to a market is perfect. The hotel staff smothered us in service to the point that it became a joke among us, "I bet they're calling to make sure we got our towels...yup - that was it". The courtyard rooms, are small but fantastic for both children and parents. Children can run around in the enclosed courtyard while parents can relax or get ready. This feature afforded me the luxury of actually being able to relax for the first time in a long time. I was impressed with The Blue Pearl restaurant with its great service, prices and decent food. I wouldn't recommend renting a car considering the parking fee and the fact that you can do so from the front desk they day before you need it. The only bummer is that there's no kiddie pool but there is a gigantic sand pit with toys. The Dana is affordable and totally awesome and I pray to go back someday!

Room Tip: If you have children, get a courtyard-access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank messahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    608
    249
    134
    79
See reviews for
852
494
58
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed at the Dana with our family of 9 people. Rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Bay view suites which offered great view of Mission Bay and sail boats etc. Staff was very polite and helpful. Food at the Blue Pearl restaurant for breakfast was good, but service was slow, needs more wait staff. Pool was perfect for kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveNGini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I always try to stay here cause everything is so convenient I dont need to rent a car and the view is killer. Front desk, shuttle drivers and house keeping are all super friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freakydeaky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The room was not even up to the quality of a Motel 6. The fee for parking in their parking lot was $18. and tacked on after arrival, not part of their advertised fee structure. The room was small and noisy, and workers were renovating the room above us with power tools at 7 AM. The shower was tiny and there was no fan! In short, in 50 years of travel, the only room I've been in that was worse was in Vietnam in 1968. If one spends $250 a night on a room, it ought to be at least 4 star and not a 1 star! Yes, the grounds were pretty, yes the beach was nearby, yes the shopping and fun 1/2 mile away in Mission Beach was fun but oh, the "resort" room itself was poor.

Room Tip: Ask for your total fee structure - no surprises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank WillandKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My family recently stayed at The Dana for a little mini getaway. It was a beautiful hotel - tropical landscaping, right on the bay. We paid a little more and stayed in a beautiful spa suite. It worked out really well. Able to put the toddler down for bed and then enjoy the rest of the evening in the living room. The suite had a huge balcony and a view of the bay. Loved it. Our daughter enjoyed both pools and we couldn't keep her away from the statue of the kids. Got some great pictures! Front desk staff was very knowledgeable about the area and loved the free shuttle to SeaWorld. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haloman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We were really happy with our stay here. We stayed in one of the older rooms facing the pool. It was a little on the small side, but we were travelling with three little kids. We have a lot of stuff and we weren't in the room that much. It was very clean and the beds comfortable. The location was wonderful, easy access to everything and the most beautiful views. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3lilkays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

we stayed at the Dana for one week, the hotel is not that big but it is nice and the location is great! customer service is very good and the staff are friendly. There is an outdoor swimming pool and a jacuzzi which is very nice. I recommend this hotel for a business trip and not for a honeymoon...as one can find much bigger hotels but it is up to your budget!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MireilleSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#133 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,505 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Mission Beach
Bahia Resort Hotel
Bahia Resort Hotel
#28 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,165 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#121 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing