We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“"We can't wait to return, and bring more family."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #63 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“"We can't wait to return, and bring more family."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My Grandaughter's Godmother wanted to take her to Seaworld for her 5th birthday, she lives in So Cal and we live in AZ, so we decided to meet in San Diego. The Dana came highly recommended by fellow Arizonians so we tried it. We were so pleased with the location, the accomodations, service, food, and the warmth of the staff. This was a girls trip but can't wait to take my husband and meet up with other friends at The Dana. I honestly don't think you can do better, especially if you're bringing children. The grounds, the pool, sandbox, all so much fun. We booked a courtyard level so we even had a patio.

Room Tip: We loved the courtyard level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    608
    249
    134
    79
See reviews for
852
494
58
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

As petty as it is, I didn;t think that the Dana should be charging a parking fee. Memorial weekend and I had to pay for parking for 4 nights ... meanwhile there was a wedding there and the gates were open all day for the wedding party ?

If they insist on charging for parking, at least hide it in the cost of the room to make it feel like you are not getting hit for the little extras.

Other than that, the hotel was nice again ... However, I sure wish we were in the newer section

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Had a pool side room in the old section,was very convienent for the pool. We had our own table and chairs. Our only minus was the sink,fridge,and microwave made for no counter space for all our bathroom products.
The Blue Pearl restaurant was inexpensive,friendly and fast.The Fire Fly we ate at the last night on our 3 night stay,service was good,the food was just average. There was a wedding so maybe that was the reason for the filet mignon being over cooked and over all average meal,with the exception of desert.They through in a free desert for over cooking the steak and it was excellent.We will be back.

The Andersons

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaLaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

A good experience all round with clean, well maintained room and friendly staff. Got a great rate of around $110 and a free upgrade to a marina view. The rear of the hotel has great views an open frontage onto the marina and is really quiet - I'd imaging the rooms around the pool and at the front of the hotel would not be so good - so try for the upgrade if you can.

Like everyone else - the one issue is the parking. The ticket says complimentary and no-ne tells you ist going to be $18 per day added to your bill on departure.

TOP TIP - when you book in - don't take the car park ticket option. There is a free car park adjacent to the property that is well lit and very open - use that!

A reviewer on here said there was no Wi-Fi. This is wrong - there is Wi-Fi that covers the entire hotel and it is free.

The bar closes far too early (10pm) something us Brits struggle with I'm afraid. Restaurants are ok - but you'd be better taking yourself into town for choice and value.

Pool is nicely sheltered behind glass screens to keep the cool breeze off and the Jacuzzi is super heated.

All in all - very good - but please sort the hidden $18/day parking charge out as customers can'd help but feel screwed by it.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Marina - quieter and best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheRealBollidear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We chose this hotel for the location and planned on staying 2 nights and leaving.
We stayed 4 nights and loved everything about it. From the minute we checked in, we were greeted with a smile and offer to assist in anyway possible. Upon entering our room, 3rd floor balcony, I immediately noticed the cleanliness and functionality as superb. The wireless service was included, (rare at most hotels) and the robes and large pool towels were an added bonus. We wer offered a shuttle to visit Sea World, free, making it simple to not worry about parking. The pools were very clean and the grounds beautiful. My only complaint was the restaurants. Not the best choices, but just okay. We found wonderful restaurants close by, recommended by the waiter at the hotel! The bar was awesome, very friendly. Even though NY and Calif. is a six hour plane ride, I do plan on returning to San Diego, and will definately be staying at the Dana.

Room Tip: 3rd floor balcony overloking the bay and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We went to San Diego over spring break for a sunny getaway for our family. Upon arrival at the Dana, we were greeted by friendly staff, who continued to be helpful throughout our whole trip. We are a family of five and the two queen room was too small. But, it was ok because there was so much to do on the Dana Resort grounds, such as two large swimming pools and hot tubs, ping-pong, volleyball, bike and boat rentals and outstanding food. We dined at the Firefly and the Blue Pearl. We were able to walk to Mission Beach, Belmont Park and Seaworld.

Room Tip: Keep an eye out for the 48-hour 50% off sales!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArchieVBRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

If you are looking for a quality, relaxing, scenic stay, this would be the place. But you must take advantage of the "Deluxe" accommodations over looking Mission Bay. You are minutes from anywhere, Mission Beach, Pacific Beach are a brief drive away and downtown, old town, just a short freeway drive. Enjoy the hot tub, and lounge by the pool. Look forward to a refreshment at the Firefly lounge. For us, a glass of wine in our room as we enjoyed the sunset and watched the boats from our balcony over looking the bay.

Room Tip: watch for specials, deluxe accomidations
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacificajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#133 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,509 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,816 reviews
Mission Beach
Bahia Resort Hotel
Bahia Resort Hotel
#28 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,165 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#122 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 3,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1710 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-7810
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#44 Family Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dana On Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Dana On Mission Bay Hotel
Dana Mission Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing