We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
101
133
39
17
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
133
39
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea worldgarage parkingbreakfast was amazingold towntwo queen bedsdecent place to stayclean bathroomfree breakfastweekend stayconvenient locationpool and hot tubrental carocean beachstaff was very friendly and helpfulmini fridgela jolladefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 308 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This hotel had great service, a great breakfast in a great location! Easy to navigate San Diego from here. Our family of four (two kids -13 & 11) stayed here for spring break and we were able to get to the Zoo, Old Towne, La Jolla, Ocean Beach and Balboa from here within 10-20 minutes. Free on-site parking, helpful staff, clean rooms, grocery stores and pharmacies nearby made this a place we would definitely stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdub757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

We booked our trip almost last minute as we were waiting for our vehicle to be shipped from Hawaii to San Diego and it arrived early. We also ended up arriving earlier then originally expected. However, guest services went above and beyond what they needed to do. We ended up on an overnight flight a day early and arrived at the hotel around 9am. Since check in time isn’t until around 3pm we weren’t sure if we would be able to get a room. Not only did they get a room that had an early check out ready for us and allowed us into the room early, they also offered our family the complimentary breakfast for that morning. This made what could have been a very dreary day of driving around with no sleep waiting until check in time an great morning nap time so we could then enjoy some of San Diego during our first day.

The rest of the stay was just as nice. We had clean towels when needed. Beds made every day. And even some nice tips on places to eat during our stay.

Although the weather was a bit chilly during our visit, and the pool and hot tub are outdoors, we still enjoyed a dip in the heated pool and some relaxation in the hot tub.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Shawn Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

I stayed here overnight and got this hotel as part of a Sea World vacation package. The location was very convenient and close to Sea World. The beds were comfortable, and the place was a bit outdated. The breakfast was a full breakfast of mediocre food, but liked that it was included.

Room Tip: Room in the back away from the busy street
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018

We had a weekend stay on April 2018 at the Holiday Inn Express Sea World and we were very pleased with the property and the service. The hotel is not walking distance to Sea World but a 5-10min drive from the park. The location is across the street from a strip mall that has restaurants, pharmacy, and a supermarket so it is very convenient to walk there for dinner. Within a 5min drive you can make it to Old Town SD, The Valley View Casino Center, and Point Loma Nazarene University, so I would recommend this hotel.

The hotel's layout is unique were it does not have a curb to drop off passengers, as when you pull in to the front lobby you are also blocking the entrance to the garage. The only inconvenience I found was that the parking is designed for compact vehicles, and the garage parking has ridiculously tiny parking spaces, the good thing is that they have an additional parking lot 50 feet away, and they do have a very friendly security guard, so we used the off-sire parking as it was easier to get in and out. The best part is that the parking is free, unlike many hotels in San Diego, this is a nice perk.

There is only one elevator in the property, but it is fast and works fine. We did not have to wait long before using it. The hotel did have one nice touch, they had chocolate chip cookies at the lobby when we checked in, they were great and it I had never seen another HIE property do that for their guests, so I applaud this property for it.

Check in was fast and friendly. They provide a parking tag for your car, wifi code, and your set of keys. The room we received was on the third floor, no view, but the room was very clean, it appears to have been recently remodeled, and overall comfortable. The carpet was very clean and overall the room was one of the best HIE I have been to, in terms of cleanliness and condition of furniture. The room had a pull-out couch and two queen beds, and huge LCD screen, and a refrigerator/microwave. The bathroom had a new feeling to it, lots of lighting, plenty of hot water, and lots of counter space.

Unfortunately we did not make it to breakfast which closes at 10am on the weekend, so I cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spideymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

A worn version of a Holiday Inn Express. Convenient location. Elevator was scary. It shook and ground as it approached a floor. Elevator inspection certificate was more than 8 months past expiration. Chairs in breakfast room had almost no upholstery left. New bed was great. Breakfast was great. Front desk staff were very friendly.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank SDTwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sea World, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Hi SDTwit,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Sea Word Area and for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great to read that you appreciated our location, staff, and breakfast. However, I am sorry to read about the hotel conditions and the elevator facility. I appreciate your comments on the aspects of the hotel that need updating and rest assured, this will be shared with management to determine the areas that will benefit from additional attention.

We value you as our guest and hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Kind Regards,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews