We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT | COMFORTABLE | CLEAN | PRETTY | NICE STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sea World
Ranked #167 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a perfect example of different HIE Owners managing their individual Holiday Inn Express hotels in a different manner from one another. We were in San Diego overnight to see The Who Concert at the nearby San Diego Sports Arena (now called Valley View Casino Center which is misleading since it is 45 minutes from the Valley View Casino......just adding that as a tip)

Anyway, THIS Holiday Inn Express is beautiful, comfy, clean, and friendly (and great breakfast!)

It "ticked all the boxes" on the things that matter to me. The heat/AC was silent!! How did they do that? Usually we suffer with loud a/c in a budget hotel, but not here! TV was a new flatscreen. Bathroom was very large, new marble, NICE GROUT (hahahahaha, but there can be horrible grout in budget motels, indicative of dirt and mold), well stocked with all the items you might need. The coffee pot was large and the desk staff (VERY POLITE AND HELPFUL) gave us a few extra coffee packets so I could make stronger coffee in the morning.

The breakfast was amazing. My husband went down at 6 am and came back with a tray with coffee, orange juice, two omelettes and sausage patties and cinnamon rollls. It was all good and what more can you ask for ? - Usually we go out to breakfast, but in this case, breakfast was taken care of.

Beds, linens, towels, free wifi,comfy furniture, 2 free bottled waters - ALL GOOD.

Two Thumbs UP for this particular Holiday Inn Express - IDEA to the Management: You could probably get some Concert Arena business by offering a shuttle drop off and pickup because we walked, and it was so close, but felt slightly uncomfortable to be out at night in a strange area, walking alone along a commercial street. It beat driving though, because the concert hall is just a few long blocks away and the gridlock was avoided (not to mention the $20 parking fee) - So, I just offer this up to the management because this HIE is a WINNER. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Our third floor room overlooked the street and it was quiet and fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 287 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

can't say enough good things. staff was kind and friendly, immaculate from the garage, lobby and room. beautiful, expensive marble everywhere. spotless room and everything looked new! we stayed there jan 22 and were prepared to cancel our jan 27 return and just take an extra day at paradise point hotel where i was having to stay for a business conference. on jan 22 stay we cam in around 11pm and just needed a place to sleep. very impressed with everything there. came back on jan 27 at 3pm and the front offered us a goodie bag with candy, fruit and chips and had free coffee, tea and cookies setup in the lobby. after paying $2.00 for water at the other hotel, we were overwhelmed! breakfast was amazing. everyone wanted to watch the pancake machine, there was biscuits, muffins, bagels, deli ham and sausage gravy, cereal, juices as well as coffee and tea. i've stayed in hotels all over san diego area at least 3 times a year- high and low end. this is my favorite over hotel w, hard rock hotel, wyndham emerald, or paradise point. it was half or less the price of the other hotels.

Room Tip: we stayed twice and it didn't seem to matter as both were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

stayed at Holiday Inn Express summer of 2012...with my 3 kids. Very convenient location for Sea World, restaurants and shops. Plus I would like commend the excellent service of the General Manager, Marijo Bien Fabian who was a hand on GM...to the point of driving us to the best barbecue place in town for dinner and picking us up from Sea World to the hotel. Excellent housekeeping and excellent front desk staff... To Marijo kudos and more power....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

rooms were nice and clean. the staff is very friendly and helpful. never a dirty area, as they were always cleaning and picking up right away if something was on the floors. i will def. stay here again. we stayed on 2nd and 3rd floor, but prefer the 3rd floor only because it has the washer and dryer on that floor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dagwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Firstly upon check-in we were greated by a very friendly member of staff, and this great service remained throughout our stay. Whenever we rung the front desk to ask for anything (sea world opening hours, pool directions etc) they were always very happy to help.

The property has some great features. The pool and spa are very clean in a nice surrounding, the breakfast was great, parking was close to the elevator and the wi-fi was quick and easy to join.

The location was great, only a few minutes drive to Sea World and up the road from plenty of shops and restaurants.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lithogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nice hotel in decent area, free parking, continental breakfast (didn't try), free wi-fi. Room and bathrooms and lobby very clean. Easy access to freeway, was in town for golf and Charger game, overall good experience. Would recommend for $100.00 stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel is very clean. Friendly staff. They also have decent breakfast. As the name suggests, the hotel is close to Sea World and Old Town San Diego (must visit by the way). The rates are reasonable.
Just be careful backing out your car in the parking lot. The parking spaces are very tight since it is a small lot. When I backed out, my side mirrors hit a post and broke. It was my fault, but luckily I had LDW coverage :).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sea World

Address: 3950 Jupiter Street, San Diego, CA 92110-5119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $121 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sea World 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from the San Diego Zoo, San Diego SeaWorld, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront.The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld is also only a few minutes drive from the San Diego Airport, and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR. Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sea World Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn Sea World
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing