We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel, Terrible service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Ranked #225 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“Great hotel, Terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel location and ambience was excellent. Close to SeaWorld and the rooms were great. The service was terrible. The concierge said since I booked my reservation on Priceline, I wasn't able to participate in the complimentary continental breakfast. This completely affected my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirza29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenda g, General Manager at Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Mirza,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room. However, not sure how or why you felt misled about breakfast, as we do not offer a continental breakfast. There is a breakfast package available for purchase but not through Priceline. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future and encourage you to experience the food at Dupar's, our restaurant partner
Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    493
    567
    409
    290
See reviews for
1,215
312
67
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Average stay and average service. If you're looking for just a place to sleep for a night, this is a good place and the location is ideal. If you are expecting someone more, I recommend paying more or just staying downtown if you're into the night life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy5o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our room was very immaculate and we were very pleased with our room service. The location of our Hotel was near many shopping stores and the beautiful beaches. My husband and I were very comfortable with our visit. We will use the Wyndham in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days last week. We flew in early and they refused to allow early check in. Forcing us to find something to do until 3p. When we finally got checked in, and arriving at our room we opened the door to what seemed like a sauna. The air conditioner(as we found out later the next day) stays on only if people are in the room. So, if you leave for the whole day and it is over 80 degrees out, be prepared to continue to be hot in your room until it can cool off. The room was average, a little oudated and the bathroom consistently smelled of marijuana. The staff was somewhat helpful, but not very pleasant. It is close to a lot of restaurants and on a major thoroughfare so that was a plus. I wouldn't stay here again, it needs some work and definitely some customer service training.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTRHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#145 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld

Property: Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Address: 3737 Sports Arena Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92110 (Formerly Mission Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile to SeaWorld, the hotel is located just minutes from San Diego's best attractions including SeaWorld San Diego, Mission Bay, Old Town, Downtown, Gaslamp Quarter and the world famous San Diego Zoo. Mission Beach, one of San Diego's most popular beaches, is located two miles away, and Mission Valley and Fashion Valley Malls are both within three miles. Popular restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel. This San Diego hotel has one bedroom Junior Suites that will give you and your family the comfort you desire while you enjoy your San Diego vacation. Has special Kids Mini Suites, with a custom-designed bedroom for kids separated from a bedroom area for parents, are perfect for families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Diego Near Seaworld Hotel San Diego
Mission Plaza Hotel
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing