We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Ranked #222 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Glendale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just returned from a 4-day stay at this hotel. I booked late for the summer. Every other place I've stayed in San Diego was way too high for the summer. I wanted to save a little money, so I took a chance here. Don't do what I did if you expect comfort. This hotel has seen better days. Don't be fooled by the Web photos. Yes, the lobby is nice and the employees try to be upscale, but the rest of the hotel itself isn't at all comparable. The stairwells, sidewalks, and parking lots are dirty. We rented a junior suite, which consists of two room separated by a sliding glass door. If you shut the bedroom door for privacy, you need air circulation and cooling from the front room window air conditioner, so there's a fan in the wall to pull air into the bedroom. Our fan was broken and wouldn't start. Management brought us a floor fan the first night. The cord was not long enough to place it anywhere strategically, so we put it at the door to the bedroom to pull cool air in. We kept running into it during the night. The next day a mantenance man came and said he would put in a new fan. Apparently he only got the old one started because for the next two nights it rattled and clanked and kept us awake. The bedroom remained hot. Additionally, the suite had no chairs, only a couch. The tub stop didn't work well, so a child couldn't take a tub bath. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was also very noisy. Management gave us a $50 discount, which hardly made up for the discomfort. Overall, I won't make the same mistake again next time we're in San Diego, which is often.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the Web site promo pictures and writeups. This is not a typical Wyndham. Pay clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    533
    616
    442
    324
See reviews for
1,311
338
77
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham in San Diego July 23rd and 24th. I had read the reviews and unfortunately decided to give it a try because it was a good location and centrally located. That was the ONLY positive about this place. We stood in line at 2:45 for the strict 3:00 pm check-in. Once at the desk at 2:45 we were chastised and told our room was going to be in the back of the hotel on the ground floor. I asked for anything closer or upstairs as we were two females with a child, but was rudely told "no.". There was no parking and when I asked the night clerk about she was abrupt and essentially called me a liar. In our room the carpet was wet. We called maintenance and he finally showed up and said he was going to get towels to sop up the water. At around midnight he showed up again, but by that time we were in bed. My bath towel was on the rack and when I went to use it, it was dirty. We called the front desk and was told I couldn't have a clean towel or any extras until we turned the other ones in. So, for three people we had one washcloth, one hand towel and bath towel. We used our own beach towels since they refused to give us more towels. There was no complimentary coffee, ice machine on 1st floor didn't work so we had to go to the third floor for ice. The beds were horrible. It was as if the springs were coming through the mattress. I think mostly though the rudeness of the staff was what I'm complaining mostly about. There is no reason for their rudeness. We will never stay there again and I am going to contact the Wyndham corporate offices. Even my eight year old granddaughter was afraid to sleep in the bed and touch anything because it was dirty, old and in severe need of an overhaul even though the staff said it was updated! I would definitely advise against this hotel!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

7hsjVK1qjfGSO08PriLhI2g60-9JBR3jkd7o-GfBDx4
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room itself was ok. The air condition in front room worked great but the back room was very humid and not very cold. Vent in between room did not work and we went and purchased a fan to circulate the air. Three floors but only ice machine on lower level worked. For vacationing families this was not acceptable. The parking was cramped and difficult to maneuver in and out. Also right outside the hotel at the street were dump trucks parked every day and men standing around the Home Depot to seek daily work. The trucks made it difficult to see the street and to get out safely. The day workers makes the area look unclean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank RANDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7hsjVK1qjfGSO08PriLhI2g60-9JBR3jkd7o-GfBDx4
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not a good area at all. Would not recommend walking out on the streets. Did not like the quality of the room for the price, very stuffy even if air condition on. Plus had to run air to counteract the noise outside the room

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank SCOTT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
7hsjVK1qjfGSO08PriLhI2g60-9JBR3jkd7o-GfBDx4
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Hotel was Excellent, the staff was great, we loved the room the loation to the beach was great and the restaurant next door was amazing. Kids had an amazing time the only thing was that we went on a busy weekend there where no parking spaes by our room. Other than that it was Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank WENDY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLETON
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

When we checked in, the room we were sent to was already taken, so had to lug all luggage back down and to the lobby...shouldn't they have known? On various touristy type questions,a phone call to the front desk didn't help at all. The pillows on each bed were 1/2 the size of a normal pillow, so not comfortable sleeping. The pool has NO restroom and they suggest you walk clear around the building and into the lobby. The pool is nice and clean. For those who are unfortunate to be in Building D...the parking is limited and hard to get into and out. The hotel is 4 miles from Sea World and real close to Ocean Beach(both easy drives). Also close to the S.D. Harbor and Old Town. If the things above could be improved on, then stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank GARY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Upon check in, we were assigned to one room, then told it was near the highway and very loud, would we be interested in another room. Hmm, why even ask?! We were there for TCS Nationals, with our team. A block was reserved several months in advance, however the rooms were scattered across the facility. We were not told there would not be breakfast provided.Wi-fi was not accessible. Had to request towels EVERY DAY, we were there 5 days! No refrigerator in room, and $20/day if we wanted one! Ice machines didn't work! Ants in the bathroom! Shampoo, soap, etc., only left on 1st day, for family of 4! Rooms were not cleaned until 4 - 6 p.m. daily! (Not acceptable!)

Soccer teams arrived toward the end of our stay and were very loud, obnoxious... looking in windows, knocking on doors, running up and down hallways, stairs, yelling all hours of day and night and nothing was done, however security came to our rooms and called our parents, when our children were not the problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank MARTY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#223 of 279 in San Diego
1,220 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld

Property: Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld
Address: 3737 Sports Arena Blvd, San Diego, CA 92110-5131 (Formerly Mission Plaza Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one mile to SeaWorld, the hotel is located just minutes from San Diego's best attractions including SeaWorld San Diego, Mission Bay, Old Town, Downtown, Gaslamp Quarter and the world famous San Diego Zoo. Mission Beach, one of San Diego's most popular beaches, is located two miles away, and Mission Valley and Fashion Valley Malls are both within three miles. Popular restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel. This San Diego hotel has one bedroom Junior Suites that will give you and your family the comfort you desire while you enjoy your San Diego vacation. Has special Kids Mini Suites, with a custom-designed bedroom for kids separated from a bedroom area for parents, are perfect for families with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Diego near SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Diego Near Seaworld Hotel San Diego
Mission Plaza Hotel
San Diego Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing