We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Pacific Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Shores Inn
Ranked #217 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you're looking for a budget-friendly place just steps from the beach, this place is the way to go. However, it is not the most comfortable room I've ever stayed in. We were there during an unusually hot week in May, so after hoping to chill out for a bit in an air-conditioned room, we were disappointed to find out it was NOT working. It seemed to be blowing stale, warm air. Our bathroom did not have a fan either, so the extra humidity after showering did not help matters.
We arrived before check-in time, so the front desk staff was nice enough to let us store our luggage in the back for a few hours. However, after we were asked if we wanted top or bottom floor, we were still given a bottom floor room even after we asked for top. We were also given a room without a table/chairs on the patio (all the other rooms had them). Very small complaint, but still noticeable.

A big pro of this place is the salted (not chlorined) swimming pool just steps away from our room. The pool area could definitely use a few more lounge chairs, but there were not a lot of people using the pool to warrant a complaint.

A few evenings were a bit noisy outside (we had to leave our windows open to counteract the lack of AC), so be prepared to hear the hustle and bustle of the night crowd/partiers.

Overall, this is a great place to stay on a budget and to be walking distance from all the bars/restaurants... and sandy beach.

Room Tip: Choose to pay more for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smoothkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We are definitely sorry about the a/c. It seems that about every month, one goes out. The salt air really affects the lifespan of our compressors. I hope we were able to do something for you to help you want to stay with us again. We just ordered all new tables and chairs for every location at the property, so we should be good in that regard in about two weeks. Again, we are sorry about your a/c. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    160
    90
    46
    47
See reviews for
166
122
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
362 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The hotel is only a short walk to the beach. Free parking in this crowded area is a terrific plus. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is meager and they should not charge for wifi. Lots of places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
I completely agree about the charge for WiFi, and that will be going away very soon. Thank you for your review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Me and my husband spent there 2 nights. Rooms look old and need renovation, furniture are outdated. Also the liquid they use to clean the room is so smelly. We had to open doors wide for hours to breath. Unfortunately, you cannot get rid of this smell totally. WiFi is not for free ($10 a day). At least parking is free of charge. Location is excellent for Pacific Beach and Mission Beach. You can easily go for a long work. Also it is good location to go to La Jolla (by car 5 min.) and walking distance to Garnet Avenue. It is handy to rent a bike which cost $10 for a day (get a coupon from hotel reception) but you need to return the bicycle before close of business the same day which is usually 6pm. I am not recommending this hotel if you are used to good quality hotels. But if you want to survive 1-2 nights that would be good choice. But do not stay there longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Sorry you didn't like us. Yes, the location is fantastic! But, the new rooms are just that, very nice, and modern. We are scheduled to renovate some more rooms this winter. This should make all of the rooms new then. I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I compared pricing for many hotels in the Pacific Beach area and you can tell the prices reflect the proximity to the ocean. I really wanted to stay along the beach for my first night in San Diego. We were just steps away from the sandy shores, however it was much farther to get all the way down to Mission Bay. Shops and restaurants along Grant Ave. and Garnet Ave. were in walking distance. I wish I had gotten a better deal on the hotel because I was not all that impressed with the room. We had one of the tiny rooms at the end of the lot by the pool and the walls were paper thin, I could follow the conversations in the next room of the party crowd taking up residence that night, and then housekeeping cleaning up the mess the next morning. Check in was quick and easy, I appreciated having a fridge and microwave. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee. Oh well, plenty of places nearby to grab some caffeine before a day at the beach. No problem finding a space to park at check in under the shaded spots.

Room Tip: They have a few room type options, some have balconies and seating outside, others are by the pool b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! If you decide to stay with us again, the rooms with two queen beds are much larger than our singles. I think you find the experience to be much more pleasurable. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I read the reviews and knew what to expect, and really for the price, you can't complain! We actually stayed in a recently remodeled room that was super nice. It was so newly renovated that they didn't even have the hanging rack up! Within a few hours of us calling about that, the maintenance man was there installing it. We did still have to call again for hangers. I also had to ask for a hair dryer as they didn't have one in the room but the front desk lady was really nice and had one for me to leave in the room. The place was pretty quiet and home-y. The only thing we didn't like was the glass on the bathroom window. It was not as private as we would have liked since there was a car parked right under our window and we could see people walking by when getting ready a few times.
Since we're from the Midwest, it was so awesome to be so close to the ocean. Took a walk every day at least once and enjoyed that close location to the beach. Its also close to a lot of great restaurants and night spots.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennioDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
The location so close to everything, including the ocean is really nice! I'm glad you were able to enjoy a new room, and that you were surprised, especially after reading the reviews about your stay with us. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Don't be fooled by the exterior of this hotel. Looks can be deceiving. The rooms are spacious and clean. Tastefully decorated and the beds are comfortable. We stayed for 2 nights and though it was a bit pricey the close proximity to the beach was great. Service was adequate. Nearby shopping and public transport access is very good.

Room Tip: There's no lift, so if you have considerable luggage or a disability, request a ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are working on the exterior all the time, and I wish we had a answer to the look that I could resolve in-house. Right now we are redoing the walkways, and that alone should do a lot to help with the general appearance. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Hotel has great location in Pacific Beach, walking distance to so many things and right off the boardwalk and beach.

They did a small face lift to the rooms but wish they did a little bit more. Room is average, nothing special. Bathroom was the worst part of the visit, soooo small! I'm a 5'8 average size female and the shower head was horrible for me, had to do a complete squat to wash out my hair (Even worse for my 6'2 husband). I also wouldn't suggest this hotel for larger people due to the tight quarters of the restroom.

Walls are paper thin.. ok maybe cardboard thin! We were woken up every night from talking/yelling. The couple next to us had a pretty bad argument one night and we could literally hear every singe work without even trying to listen.

I did like how they had continental breakfast and bikes to rent.

Room Tip: Don't worry about paying $20 a night for parking we stayed on a weekend during Spring Break and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laureny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We are terribly sorry for the noise. I have no idea why so many guests feel it is fine to yell at 2 am. I know it's right after the bars close and since many people stay in Pacific Beach for the night life, it's not really surprising that many guests return very late. Of course, the only problem is the loud talking. I do have someone there all night, every night that tries to keep the occasional guest under some type of control by getting them to their room in a quiet manner.

Some of the rooms do have a low shower head, and during our next phase of renovation we will be making sure that does not occur again. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 279 in San Diego
170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#122 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#151 of 279 in San Diego
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#99 of 279 in San Diego
665 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#172 of 279 in San Diego
327 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#27 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Property: Pacific Shores Inn
Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109-2590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danishes are always free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing