We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Shores”
Review of Pacific Shores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Shores Inn
Ranked #218 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pacific Shores”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location of this hotel is the best feature by far. It is located almost on the beach with direct access to the beach walkway. Additionally, it is walking distance to the hub of town - bars, restaurants, coffee shops and market. Since it is so close to the beach though, there are tons of people walking the area - so if you're looking for a quiet location, this is not it.

The pool was great and warm with easy access.

The room was not so great - shower was broken - could not get the water on, then would not get hot and then most problematic - the water would NOT turn off. The TV was also on the fritz - turned on by itself about 3am and continue to rise in volume - had to dismantle it. And the cleanliness and upkeep left a lot to be desired. Chairs and carpets were all soiled.

And finally, internet was not included - what hotel does not include these days?!?! And the so called free breakfast is not factual.

I did like Karla at the front desk - she was very helpful getting directions and suggestions. She was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the street side are very noisy with a lot of foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc-fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
That's very strange about your tv. I'm guessing it may have been functioning from another remote, but I have never heard of this before. I would like to know which room you stayed in, so I could be certain it was one of the rooms scheduled for a full renovation next month. As for Karla, she is excellent and genuinely nice.

We are constantly trying to improve the property, and if you are a return guest, then you can see something new every year. I have seen a dramatic change in the property over the years, and all for the better. And, I am working on getting free Internet service for the guests, and I hope to see this occur before the end of the year.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    160
    90
    46
    47
See reviews for
166
122
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dinklage
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here in september for two days.parking was free, Internet cost per day 9 Dollar.we divided on the room.after stay in 6 cities this room was by far the worst.
very cool check in, the woman at the counter phoned during the check in.
So on to the room.
the room was the size in order, with coffee machine with no coffee or cup.
microwave available.
mobiliar was pretty down.
beds were in order.
carpet dirty.
it did not feel really comfortable.
on the second day there was no running water at the sink in the toilet either or shower.
on demand, we were told it will take 20 minutes.
then it was 80 minutes.
annoying when that happens one in the shower.
only advantage is the location for the sea but it was already. we were after this stay 200 meters further in a motel, this was much better classes and no more expensive than the pacific shore inn.
we do not come back.
and we are guaranteed no vip or something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I remember this time period, and this was when we had to repair an emergency with one of the boilers. Unfortunately, we had to shut the building down to get it fixed, but on the good side, it only took about an hour and a half. I'm sure that in your situation it was very inconvenient to say the least. We are truly sorry about that, but as you probably already know, emergencies are not planned events. I hope you will reconsider coming back to stay with us. We are going to be renovating some of our rooms this winter, and these will be as nice if not nicer that the rest of our rooms. Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been staying at Pacific Shores for the last 20 years or so and we love it! It is comfortable and feels homey and the price is right! It is close to the ocean and the interesting boardwalk with so many restaurants and shops within walking and biking distance. It is also close to great neighborhoods that we love to walk and bike around. We love Karla at the front desk, she is always friendly and helpful. Our rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff is wonderful. We sit on the porch in the evenings and play games and chat with friends. Like I said last year in my review - it is like a home away from home! Thanks Pacific Shores - from the Jorgensens

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are all happy that you continue to stay with us year after year, and please know that we do not take that for granted. I'm sure you have noticed the changes over the years, and that we are always striving to improve our property and services. I will let Karla know about your comments. Thank you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Shores Inn in August 2012. The carpet looked like it hadn't been replaced since the early 80's at best. The room was just OK considering the price. The TV in the room didn't work. The pillows were a joke as were the beds. If you plan on staying there, don't count on the "continental breakfast" and coffee, which was more like sweet rolls and bad coffee shop coffee with powdered creamer. The location is excellent just don't expect too much if you stay there. We had several issues with our reservation that shouldn't have been issues but the front desk worker didn't handle things properly. If you wnat somewhere close to the beach that isn't that great of a room this is the place to stay. Don't expect to be blown away though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiLove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
First of all, thank you for taking your time to comment about your stay with us. Wow, I'm completely surprised about your comments though. We constantly clean and change our carpets at this property, but with the location, being near the sand, it really takes its toll on them. The good news is that we are again replacing 1/3 of the carpets, and renovating another third of the rooms very soon. As for the continental breakfast, it always surprises me when more is expected when we advertise what we offer. We do offer, from 7 - 10 am, a complimentary breakfast which includes: coffee, juices, danish, muffins, and a few other pastries. This is very simple, but it does come from a local bakery each morning and is very good. We just recentlychanged our coffee, but not because it was not getting good reviews, but simply because the company we buy from came up with what they said was a better tasting product. Not taking their word for it, we did a taste test for about three weeks with the guiests we had at the time, and it was about 2 out of three saying it was a better choice. As for your reservations, I always suggest confirming reservations before arrival so that if there is a problem, it can be fixed before you get here. Anyway, I hope upon your next stay with us you will be more than satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pacific Shores Inn is located in the heart of Pacific Beach. Just a 1 minute walk and you are on the sands of the Pacific.
The hotel has clean rooms and Jim is a great manager. He is willing to help with everything from extra towels to getting cabs if you plan to leave the area.
The great thing about the location is you can walk to eat / drink or just soak up the sites.
Downtown and Sea World are just minutes away by cab it you want to travel outside the area.
I have stayed many times and this is my place of choice when in San Diego.
Highly recommend this place and will be returning soon.
Thanks to Jim S.

GB Salt Lake City Utah

Room Tip: If you have small kids get the Junior suites on the bottom level to avoid stairs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much!! We all hope you will come back and visit us again very soon! And, it is always our pleasure to help with anything that will assist you in having a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our first time to Pacific Beach. The price was perfect for us. We wanted to stay at least 3 nights. our room had a patio set outside our front door and could see the ocean from our room. It was a short walk to the boardwalk of Pacific Beach loaded with rentals, wonderful stores for shopping and many choices for eating.

The beach was clean with a beautiful pier.

The parking at our room was free. We had continental breakfast every morning. Laundry room,
ice, swiming pool with a grill and showers to get the sand off from the beach.

The room was simple but clean, plenty of room. We loved it and the maids and the front desk staff were GREAT. Can't wait for our next trip.

Room Tip: Always reconfirm your reservations be for you leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I hope that you will choose us again for your next trip to the beach. It always makes me feel really good when a guest comments about their experience with the staff and the housekeepers as well. We are striving to have the nicest housekeepers anywhere, as they have almost constant contact with you, the guests. Thank you again for taking your time to comment about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arrived early. Young lady at check in desk was dismissive and was adamant room was "not ready." Young man worked the situation and checked us into a nice quiet end room. He saved the day, and deserves kudos, Jim. She is clueless.

Great location, room was fine, fair price for the season. We recommend.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gc85014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsilver, General Manager at Pacific Shores Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I'm very sorry for the mixup upon check in. As a rule, I want every guest that wants to check in early the opportunity if we can make it work. I hope you will come and stay with us agin soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#229 of 279 in San Diego
170 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
211 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#150 of 279 in San Diego
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#100 of 279 in San Diego
663 reviews
Ocean Beach
Ocean Villa Inn
Ocean Villa Inn
#174 of 279 in San Diego
326 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Shores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Shores Inn

Property: Pacific Shores Inn
Address: 4802 Mission Blvd., San Diego, CA 92109-2590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Shores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific Shores Inn is a quaint inn located at the north end of Pacific Beach. Many of the rooms offer some views of the ocean, and restaurants and shops are just a couple of blocks away. The boardwalk is a 2.5 mile stretch that will take you from the north end of Pacific Beach all the way to the south end of Mission Beach. As you stroll down the boardwalk, you will find ocean front shops and restaurants as well as the famous Belmont Park in Mission Beach. Bike, and surfboard rentals are located within two blocks so there is no reason to pack those items when visiting us. And, every room has a microwave oven, refrigerator, and a coffee maker for your convenience. Some rooms also have full kitchens for those who require that. Parking, and a continental breakfast which includes juice, coffee, and danishes are always free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Shores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Shores Hotel San Diego
Pacific Shores San Diego
Pacific Shores Inn Of Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing