We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Low End Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Inn and Suites
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low End Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

After being told it is 5 minute WALK to the beach, WRONG. More like a 15 minute DRIVE. cancelled reservation as soon as I seen the place in person, DIRTY!!! Strippers are located right across the street, and quite frankly, there is nothing in the area for children. It was a pretty long drive to the beach as well.

Room Tip: Strippers right across the street, and NOTHING in distance for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    25
    20
    27
See reviews for
39
24
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Other reviews on this site put this hotel down unfairly!! i stayed here with my boyfriend for 6 nights, we choose it simply for the location as we wanted to go to Seaworld and the Zoo, it is a short bus ride from both
The rooms are clean and cleaned daily by housekeeping, there is a fridge and microwave provided which was really useful for us, nice working shower/bath and comfy beds, nothing to complain about! there is a small poo and a jacuzzi, its not big but its also not a big hotel so you usually have it to yourself! :)
Breakfast is basic, muffins and pasties, but its sufficient for being free! seven eleven and a target just round the corner, and somegreat eating places, including Phil's BBQ which is AMAZING if you forget the usual hour long que! (it's worth it)
Service is helpful, they agreed to look after our suitcases for us after check in as our fliht wasnt till the evening :D very friendly
I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14lauren11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel was just disgusting. Everything was dirty. The inside and the outside of the hotel. In our room the carpet was old and sticky (did not want to walk barefoot on it). The electrical outlet by the door didn't have a cover on it (which is not good when you have small children). I'm pretty sure there was mold growing on the ceiling of the bathroom. The room itself smelled. When people would walk outside of the room it was loud and would cause the room to bounce. You just feel so gross and dirty staying here. The staff was not very friendly. Sort of felt like I was bothering them when I was checking in and out. I would definitely not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book the Comfort Inn & Suites in San Diego. Much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This must be the worst place i have every stayed in ever, anywhere in the world. the pictures are deceptive, and the sullen rude woman at the front desk does nothing to improve your stay. I got a cab out of there first thing in the morning without "breakfast". Thats another story. The breakfast room was a shocker, the hotel bedroom stank and smelled of mould and bad air freshner. I can say the bathroom was clean with clean towels and linen. Do not be misled by the pretty pictures like i was. The place was a dump with a capital D and i would not recommend it to anyone. It was ghastly!!

Room Tip: I never saw a good room or a fitness center or a restaurant. Well, nothing that defines those items...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 500alexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Noisy, not too clean. Close to Sea World and freeways. Gentleman's club across the street was very busy on a Saturday night with busloads of patrons arriving hourly. Loud neighbors, thin walls. Towels plentiful but thin and scratchy. Room given initially was occupied and I had to return to the front desk for reassignment. IHOP immediately next door was very convenient. Grocery store and Target across the street.

Room Tip: Room 314 is a mini-suite, decent size and reasonably comfortable. Do not accept 115, 215 or 315-they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I made a mistake by booking this room. The price was good, if I had known I was going to deal with the most rudest staff I would have never done it. Reserved a room with a king size bed stains all over the linnen. Room stayed humid through ought the whole trip. Telephone in the room didn't even work! This place is located LITERALLY across the busiest strip club I've ever witnessed. Now that I get home checking bank statements they had charged me an extra 100$ which was suppose to be my deposit upon check-in (which was never even stated I needed one when I called to book) This dump is full of thief's and run by the most rude staff I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chileo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good price close to everything in we wanted to see. Continental Breakfast included but if you don't want an IHOP is right next door. Happy Buffet down a few streets. Pool and Jacuzzi, room clean and free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#115 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Inn and Suites

Property: Bay Inn and Suites
Address: 3325 Midway Dr, San Diego, CA 92110-4910
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Inn and Suites SeaWorld San Diego is a 46-room hotel located just one mile from SeaWorld San Diego, Old Town the San Diego Sports Arena and minutes from San Diego's most popular Beaches and Attractions! We offer special Discounted Room Rates for Military Personnel and their families. Call the hotel directly for our Best Rate Guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Bay Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Motel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing