We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst accommodation of our trip”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 4, 2005

We travelled through California for nearly four weeks in September and stayed in 10 different hotels. THIS WAS BY FAR THE WORST... AND ALSO THE MOST EXPENSIVE. We booked in for one night with the idea of extending for another three but after checking in to the room almost did not stay that night. The accommodation must have been built for the least possible cost and had no money spent on it since. Rooms are dark, dingy, poorly built and badly finished. Some poetic licence has taken place calling this site a 'resort'. It has nothing going for it - it is isolated - there are much better beaches in other areas of San Diego and certainly better and more reasonably priced accommodation. I would not go back to this place.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,961)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,730 - 3,736 of 3,961 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2005

What a great place to stay. It felt like our own private island. You can not beat the location and it is nice to find a resort that has such a professional and friendly staff. We will be back again and again. FYI we found the best prices on the hotels own web site and when we arrived they gave us a free upgrade. It was great.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Yorba Linda, CA
18
Reviewed September 8, 2005

Our family of six ( four boys under 12)retruned from five days at the Bahia. As usual it was wonderful. If you are looking for a classic California all inclusive resort for children, this one is hard to beat. If you are looking for an executive level hotel, you would be better off at the Four Seasons in La Jolla. Tips for families: Ask for the Bay side (private beach) suites as they have large kitchens. The play ground is on the beach for the kids. Yes, the Stern paddle River boat is a little corny, but the kids love cruising on it to watch the fireowrks at Sea world at night. Don't miss the Belmont Park roller coaster. and Mission Beach, two blocks away. Bring your boogie boards, fins and surfing attire as Mission is a classic Southern Calif . surf beach. Tip for travlers to San Diego: A smile, a few "thank you's" in spanish and a couple bucks goes a long way with the room cleaning staff. I got checked in fast, towels, the exact room I wanted and great service every time.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2005

I stayed here for 2 nights, mid-week, and was a bit disappointed. I had read mostly positive reviews on Expedia. It wasn't until after I had booked my trip, but before I departed, did I notice the 'less than stellar' reviews here. My experience was similar to many others posted here. The view was OK. Out our window was the marina - so basically a bunch of boats. It's obviously in the bay, so you are not directly on the ocean. There is a nice beach you can walk to on the other side of the hotel that is decent and clean. It's only about a foot deep for as far as I could see, and no waves, which made it nice for our two-year-old. The pool is decent and the jacuzzi looked nice (although we didn't use it).

Although we booked a King bed/Suite, we were given a Queen. We could have had a King, but would have had to downgrade to a studio-style room. The room was spacious and clean, but didn't appear to have been updated for a good 20+ years. I don't know if was the ocean air entering the fabric of the decor, or the lack of proper cleaning, but the room did have a musty/moldy smell that was bothersome, and affected my wife, who has allergies.

Our experience with the staff was average. I do notice a bit of a trend in unfavorable staff reviews. We did have two expereiences that are in line with the others here: 1) the maid came the first day around 8AM; a bit early I thought. We had to ask her to come back. 2) Our third and last day, the maid came before check-out time. She cleaned most of the room. We used the room significantly before checkout. Also, we had brought an old pillow we use for travel (quite nasty, I must admit) that the maid must have tucked under the sheets with the other hotel's pillows. Because we didn't see it when we collected our things, we left it. I feel sorry for the people that unmade their bed to find that stinky thing. I would assume that would generate another complaint to the front desk. Seems there is much room for improvement in the area of housekeeping.

We paid $139/nt for our rooms, Tues-Wed nights. This was the beginning of September, and I would think slow season, as most schools had just started back up. It was overall a pleasant stay, if not a little overpriced. However, I'm not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alexadria, VA
12
Reviewed September 8, 2005

I stayed at the Bahia without reading any of the reviews here, now that I read them I a surprised... I had a great Garden room, the staff was fun and made my vacation a memorable one. I am not sure what you expected of this resort but I had a great time with my family and the location of the resort made it easy for us to get arround. We have plans to go back early next year.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

Stayed for a week - very noisy at weekends - the bedroom windows don't close properly - and they are right by the pathway
very rude staff - especially at breakfast - mission beach reminded us a blackpool or ibiza on a really bad day - a lot of down and outs and lager louts
not an ideal place for small children, very distinct lack of eateries nearby - although the fish and chips were great across the road.
would not stay here again - there are some much nicer options around the rating of this should be a 3* maximum motel (no where near a resort)

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2005

If the Bahia had a school report, it would have "Must Try Harder" stamped all over it. On the surface, it's certainly a pleasant 3-star hotel, but the flaws detract significantly from the overall impression the hotel gives. On the positive side, the room we had was certainly spacious; we were upgraded to a bay-view suite with well-equipped kitchenette and separate bedroom. The staff are generally helpful, and the hotel features a prolific use of live music; in its bar, in the restaurant... even by the pool. Food in the restaurant is very good, although there are very few other places to go within near walking distance for a good meal, with the exception of the excellent Mizu Japanese restaurant.

Unfortunately, as mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is in need of updating. Our room smelt damp; age-old stains on the carpet revealed the source. The white bedsheets and towels were the equivalent of a Guest Book, with suntan/make-up/whatever stains dotted about them giving an indication of former residents. And how's this for a horror story: we went out for the day, and returned only to find our door wide open. The maids had failed to close it after they had cleaned our room. Thankfully nothing was stolen. In a separate incident, we were sat in our room one evening watching TV, when a family of four entered, laden with cases. They had been given a key to OUR room in error. Brilliant.

Overall the hotel is okay. Potentially it could be so much better. It just needs a bit of attention. While in San Diego, I would recommend visiting the Old Town (direct bus leaves opposite the hotel) and Sea World (if you don't mind rubbing shoulders with a million other tourists). Avoid Mission Beach unless you like the idea of mixing with extras from "Beverley Hills 90210". Fashion Valley is very good for shopping, and while you're there have a meal at The Cheesecake Factory.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BenWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#152 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $144 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing