We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good -- 3.5 stars”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Couldn't give a 1/2 star rating, so I upgraded the review to 4 stars due to the location. Stayed in a 1-bedroom suite in their Spanish-style building. Pluses: spacious living area, very good location, free workout facility (a bit small, though), nice views. Minuses: room was a bit worn, master bedroom was very small and faced an exterior walkway, and sound-proofing wasn't very good. During our stay, the hotel offered coupons for free drinks and discounted meals (on-site cafe is fine for a snack or light meal), and free bay cruise.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, preferably a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,498 - 2,504 of 4,134 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here the week of February 8th. We had a great stay. The staff were always available, always helpful.
The room was clean, mostly quiet (there was a bit of road noise, but generally quiet after around 11), spacious.
Great location, close enough to all the major San Diego attractions, but enough out of the way to be out of the real heavy traffic.
Chilly weather, but we did have some warm days.
I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rawduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed at the Bahia in march 2013 returned in febuary 2014 the hotel is set by the mission bay lovely spot to stay we got a up grade from garden room to front bay room rooms a bit smaller then some hotels but on holiday so not in your rooms much had two evening meals in resturant food very good and lovely desserts ! Try to go once a year back to San Diego would stay at the Bahia again very easy to get to places from the hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We traveled to San Diego with our 3 kids age 11, 13 and 15 for 6 nights. I had done quite a bit a research and decided to stay at the Bahia for property location and spaciousness of the room. It was a really good choice. Keep in mind this is not a grand resort and the buildings are dated, but good for the money… no resort fees, free parking ( which you might have to walk a ways to your room) and free wifi. The property is nice and well kept,. We stayed in a bay view suite 2nd floor, just under 700 sq/ft and it worked well for us. Nice view of the bay and close ( min 5) walk to the beach. The queen beds were very comfortable and son slept well on pull out sofa. Utensils to use and small refrig and microwave. Flat screen TV's in the bedroom and living area. We found our area was quiet…even though they seemed to have quite a bit of renovation going on. The pool and hot tub were great and kept clean. We did not use the restaurant except for happy hour one night. The ride of the Bahia boat on the bay was great..and all the staff we encountered were very friendly. My only real complaint was there was an old musty smell to the room… But overall it was a great stay and I would certainly return...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdog0062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night during Valentines weekend. The phone reservation process was easy and the agent was quite friendly. The check in process was great too. It is unfortunately rare these days to actually get a warm smile and good eye contact - getting both from the helpful front desk staff member immediately made us feel quite welcome. We were supposed to get a "Garden View" room but actually got a great room right on a private beach (with personal cabana!) overlooking the dock where the Sternwheeler ship, "Bahia Belle" sails (by the way tickets are included with the room and it's a fantastic night out sailing around the scenic harbor and dancing to great music!). The room was amazingly spacious and clean, even if it did have a bit of a seventies vibe. Loved the kitchen with an oven, huge fridge and microwave. Bathroom was clean. Water pressure and hot water were great in the shower. The Bahia Cafe restaurant was outstanding! Only reason I didn't give a 5 star rating was the noise throughout the night. I know there was a wedding party and it was Valentines weekend. However, we kept awakening to loud slamming sounds and the maid cart was really loud rolling by our bedroom window very early in the morning; not great after getting in late from the Bahia Belle experience! The front desk staff was receptive and apologetic to this feedback. Would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Get the kind of room I described above - the ground floor ones with the private beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our visit was fabulous. Kate at the front desk greeted us and checked us in. Kate was very courteous and pleasant and answered all my questions. I'll definitely will be back to enjoy the Bahia Hotel and its beautiful property. Our next stay at The Bahia Hotel we want to take the Bahia Belle boat ride on Mission Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TilleySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here on Valentines Day, which was also our honeymoon. We booked an upstairs oceanfront room. When we got there, we were told it was not available and we were getting a bay view room on the ground floor. Disappointment #1. Then another man came to the desk and apologized and gave us two $25 vouchers for their restaurant. Go to our room, no parking. Someone is in our spot. Go back to desk, they tell us there is no reserved parking. Disappointment #2. Get in the room. It is not a bay view room. it is a parking lot view room. To see the bay, you have to step out and look to the left. The walls are paper thin. We can hear the people in the next room. They played music all night long. We are right next to some kind of storage room with the staff making lots of noise. Disappointment #3. The next day we go to the desk to ask for another room. They say nothing is available. Oh but we can upgrade to a suite for another $100. We agree, but ask to see the room first. Then they tell us, sure but you have to share the deck with another room. We go to inspect it. No way. We are on our honeymoon, we want privacy. Not to share a deck with strangers. We go back to the desk and they say sorry, nothing they can do. Disappointment #4. The off to the Bahia Café for breakfast. I ordered huevos rancheros. Very bad. But my husband had the egg sliders and he liked them. We spent the day at the pool. That was nice. Then at sunset we sat in the cabanas on the beach. That was nice, but would have been nicer if our rooms had been there, like we wanted. That night we went back to the Bahia restaurant. Only because we didn't want to drive anywhere and lose our parking space. This time we both ordered the mahi mahi and it was very good. After dinner we went out on the Bahia Belle. That was fun. But if you don't drink, be prepared for a lot of drunks. The second night, the noise level in the room next door was even worse. So we will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Look at your room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We're sorry to hear your Valentine's getaway and honeymoon included some disappointments. It sounds as if you booked your stay through an outside agency, which can never guarantee room types. We always encourage our guests to book directly with us via phone or Internet to guarantee a room type, as well as the best rates. Since we're located on Mission Bay, we only have beachfront accommodations along the bay and not on the oceanfront of nearby Mission Beach.

While we don't assign specific parking spaces to rooms, it is something we have considered and hearing your feedback is important to us as we discuss the idea. Thank you.

For all bay view rooms on the east side of the peninsula, you do have to cross a driveway to access the beach. We're sorry to hear about the noise you encountered from the room next door, but please never hesitate to contact our security team to help fix the problem. We have also already met with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to remind them of our goal of providing the most tranquil experience possible.

We're sorry our efforts to re-accommodate you didn't work out. We understand why and we hope you were ultimately able to enjoy your bay view room. Thank you for all the feedback, both positive and negative, as we continue to strive to provide the ideal vacation experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#48 of 286 in San Diego
2,489 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,034 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,686 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $136 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsClick, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing