We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed for 5 days a few weeks ago. Had a top floor room in the main building with a fantastic balcony and view of Mission Bay. Rooms were very nice, as was the service. Can't beat the location and amenities. Great location near Sea World and the Pacific Beach neighborhood. Would highly recommend to anyone coming to San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,458 - 2,464 of 4,076 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had our DRA Convention at this resort last week and they did an excellent job of taking care of us. The staff is very helpful and energetic service was on the mark and the meeting rooms were perfect for a group of our size....2-300 attendees. Thank You Bahia!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Pullnleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Avoid at all costs - the majority of the staff are rude and make you feel stupid for asking a question! The rooms are dirty and full of insects, there was no cutlery in our room - not even a spoon which i realised while in a rush in the morning. The stove in our room didn't work and neither did the coffee maker so i had to boil water in the microwave!! The bathroom was horrible and there was noise ALL day and ALL night - they seem to enjoy putting you in a room where building work is being done above and next to you and they took great joy in telling us it was an upgraded room so i dread to think what we would have had otherwise. The highlight of my stay was checking out after just 1 night!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuxuryTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize your experience was less than exemplary. All members of our team go through extensive customer service training and we are sorry to hear you came across some that didn't live up to our company-wide standards.

We are surprised to hear about insects in your room as we do not hear of this issue often but we will conduct a thorough review of your room.

We also apologize for the lack of cutlery and an equipment issues. All our kitchens come equipped with service for four guest that include plates, bowls, glasses serving utensils along with the standard fork knives and spoons. Our housekeeping staff should have noticed some items were missing and replaced them.

Our maintenance team has already attended to the room so future guests do not encounter the same issue.

As for the noise, we have just finished the last of our major renovation.

All of our private beach West Bay rooms and suites have been completely made over, just one year after we wrapped up renovations to all of the East Bay rooms. While this is an exciting time for us, we apologize the remodeling may have hindered your relaxation. We hope you'll give us another chance down the road so we can prove to you that there's no better place in San Diego to relax and unwind with a friendly staff at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Bahia for a couple nights for a short getaway for a special occasion. Overall, we had a great stay! I am a little more particular than my husband as I travel quite a bit for work. My other half raved about the place! He would go back in a heartbeat! Me, while I agree and would go return, I wasn't quite as enthusiastic as he was.

Great service! Friendly staff. Beautiful grounds! I loved the location as it's off the beaten path but within walking to Mission Beach. Our room was on the first level and we had a view of the bay which was great because we could watch the sunrise and the evening view was gorgeous! I'm not sure about all of the rooms, but ours had a full kitchen which I loved! The beds were ok, a little hard but not bad and the pillows were nice and soft. The decor could definitely use some updating though. And the tv was in a very strange spot. It was on a dresser off to the side of the bed so very strange I thought and no way to move it or position it so you could see it well from the bed. And I think our room was near the laundry facility or something because we could hear a thumping noise that seemed to go on for quite some time (not what you might think - lol!) so we assumed maybe it was laundry. We had the buffet breakfast on Saturday and although the food looked great and tasted good, everything on the buffet was cold. We had to wait for them to crank up the heat and try again. Some of it was still luke warm so I think we overpaid for breakfast, but oh well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelly12364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Overall, the Bahia resort was pretty good. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the grounds/views are gorgeous. My only problem was the room. The double beds are small and the couch bed is what you would expect... Uncomfortable! If the beds were big enough to fit 2 small people maybe we would have not needed the couch bed. The bathroom is also dated but functional. The view from the room was amazing though. The location of the hotel was also great. Not sure if I would stay again but definitely enjoyed my trip nonetheless.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank srbhomeslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Normally we stayat name brand hotels but after looking at the big difference in price, free parking and no resort fee we decided to give this a try. While our room was small it was nice and clean. The grounds were well kept, pool was large and clean as was the workout room. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The location on Mission Bay is super as it is a short walk to the beach and shops.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdw148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Celebrated my birthday weekend at this fabulous place.Great staff, great food, great room, great views, great stay. The cruise on the Bahia Belle was a big plus too. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1gypsykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 278 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $105 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing