We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great views and very comfortable! ”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Great location, great views and very comfortable! ”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and we loved it! The rooms were upgraded and exceedingly comfortable. The views were brilliant. Loved waking up to the warm sunny mornings and looking out to the bay! We had our toddler with us too and had a 2 queen room. He was thrilled to have a huge bed to sleep on, and he slept thru the night too! The staff are courteous and friendly. A very family friendly hotel and a great experience. We will totally come back here if we get the chance to visit san diego again! Great place!

Helpful?
Thank Chanthara K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,050
    977
    376
    177
    155
See reviews for
1,456
929
88
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am a San Diego resident and have found the Bahia to be my favorite hotel in San Diego. It is a beautiful resort and proved to be a perfect getaway for Thanksgiving and Christmas day. The bar is great and the service is always superb. My sister and I were lucky enough to have Isabelle as our waitress on Thanksgiving and Christmas and she made our Holiday very, very special. She looked after all of our needs and was exceptionally kind and helpful. Her great service and warm personality will keep us coming back to the Bahia as our favorite place for Happy Hour and, as we did on Christmas day, keep referring visitors to San Diego who might otherwise not be aware of the Hotel. Thank you, Isabelle, for taking such good care of us and helping to make our Holidays happy and fun. The Bahia is lucky to have you, and so are we.

Randi Lee in PB

Green Features: The resort is beautifully maintained. The grounds provide a truly natural feel and the Bay side feels like paradise. I have referred many friends to stay at the Bahia when they visit San Diego and will continue to do so.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for providing such a wonderful review about your stay with us. Isabelle is a true gem and she has been catering to our guests with the warmest of smiles for more than 20 years. We know we are lucky to have her and that is reinforced even more when we read reviews like yours. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri Valley, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Bahia and had a great time. The room was exactly what they promised us, the service was great and they were very helpful with ideas on activities for our family while on vacation. I would recommend the Bahia to our friends and family.

Room Tip: The suites were remodeled and very modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great location, close to the night life and a beautiful view of the beach. Rooms were clean and staff was very nice. Cute pond in the front of the property with 2 sea lions, had a great night here. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaN_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Walking distance to the ocean and the Boardwalk (10 minutes on foot), right on San Diego Bay itself, spacious room that comfortably slept six with a useful mini-kitchen, nicely laid out grounds and a decent bar/restaurant - we found this to be a great hotel for the money. Its only a 3 minute drive to Sea World, 5 minutes to Old Town, and 10 minutes to downtown - so its close to everything but is also a tranquil place with a nice vibe. We stayed in the tower farthest from the hotel lobby area with a balcony (large at that) looking onto the garden area. Very pleasant! We will certainly be back - I would take this hotel over the majority of those found a few miles away in hotel circle that may cost $10-$30 a night less but pale in comparison.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenJonesOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Bahia recently for a 3 days. We were up in the air about staying another day but opted out.

We have two toddlers, so chose to stay in a suite, so we could comfortably be in the room while they were napping. They let us check in a few hours early. They assigned us the governors suite, which sounds nicer than it was... The suite was so old! Why they didn't renovate it ten years ago baffles me. I was uneasy in the room, with the carpets, with the furniture. It just wasn't welcoming, just stingy and dated.

Immediately after we put the kids down for their nap, an Indian wedding procession started partying right outside our window (groom on an elephant!) The front desk informed me that this would only last an hour, which it did. What they didn't inform me of was that the reception would be on the top floor of our building and that our heads would be pounded with Indian techno music throughout the night. If you've ever travelled with small children, you know that sleep can make or break a trip. I definitely had a bad taste in my mouth after the first day.

There are renovations going on throughout the hotel, so there are lots of workers. It just made the whole place feel very busy, when all we wanted to do was relax.

All that being said...our rate was reasonable and the rest of our stay was uneventful.

The hotel in located within walking distance of mission bay and the beach, both great places for running or biking with families.

It is also so close to sea world and the zoo, making it easy enough for day trips.

We also loved being able to walk to eat all our meals, loving the convince of the location.

Bottom line, you get what you pay for and in this instance it was just good enough.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wattsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights as a family of five. We had a suite which came with two queen beds in the bedroom and a pull out sofa bed in the lounge. On checkin we were upgraded for free to a
Bay view room. Lovely staff, great rooms, very clean, great views, nice pool and spa. Fantastic location. Close to everything. 5 minutes from the beach. Great for an early morning jog. We ate at the bar one night. Great value and very large portions. Really recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomershamFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing