We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I visit San Diego at least 4-5 times a year. I have a triathlon there this weekend and was given amazing customer service by Mr Mike C. He is very professional and helpful
The rooms are always nice, they have a fridge as I pack my own stuff for race day.
This is by far the best place to stay near the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    861
    340
    160
    145
See reviews for
1,270
772
76
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Enjoyed the Bahia - the staff were excellent, welcoming, and responsive. The location was great for our needs - right at water, walking distance to the pacific, food on and off site. The rooms are adequate, comfortable, a bit on the older side and still nice. Had a suite with full kitchen, which was very helpful. Great pool, fun games in the arcade. Rental of water equipment very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks out at the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Bahia Resort is a beautiful property!!! I was there on October 10, 2013 on a site visit for an upcoming staff retreat and Christina Gurga from the Sales Department made this visit super special; her customer services skills are great. The Bahia is in a superb location on Mission Bay; the rooms are spacious, clean, and have been recently remodeled. I believe that if this property is chosen for our staff retreat, our participants will have a "real" retreat!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel, but visited my friend who was staying there. She said it was a fabulous resort with everything she wanted and more. Upon entering the room, the wall of windows presented the most beautiful view of the bay and surrounding areas with a lanai to enjoy that view. It was quite a nice size room with 2 beds, a small table and two chairs, sofa, kitchenette and nice bathroom. The furniture was a bit tired looking, but we found out that they are in the process of updating the rooms. We especially loved the gift shop on the grounds. The manager was nice and helpful. He did a fantastic job with the gift selections in the store and the prices were very reasonable. Kudos to him!!! The grounds are lush and well groomed, with a seal pool housing a couple rescued seals that everyone enjoys watching. Everyone was helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Select a view room, even if it is a bit more, and you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbatzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

First the good points: the grounds are lovely and the location is great. We had a suite directly on the bay with a patio that provided shelter from the wind. It was a great place to enjoy the sun and the beautiful view. Unfortunately, there were also several negatives. Cleanliness of the room was marginal. The suite was inadequately furnished - only one chair at the table and no lamp by the sofa. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Also, the door to the restroom was so narrow that it was impossible to access with a walker or wheelchair. We would consider this resort for a future stay, but would also consider other options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're happy to hear you enjoyed our location and the view. We apologize for the marginal cleanliness; anything less than stellar is unacceptable and we will work with the housekeeping staff to ensure future guests don't encounter something similar in your room. The Bahia Resort Hotel is proud to be a leader in San Diego in accessibility, as recognized by Accessible San Diego. We offer many different room types all designed around wheelchair accessibility. If we had known of your needs prior to your arrival we would have been more than happy to accommodate you. We hope to see you again soon and provide you with a room that meets your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This resort was perfect for our San Diego get away. The staff were exceptional and helpful in very way. The best part was that we were free to enjoy the many extras that the resort offers... The beach chairs, pool, sandy beach. The fridge was an added perk.

The front desk staff deserve special recognition for helping us to find running trails both on the beach and on the trails in the area as well as helping us to find a great spot for multi day bike rentals

The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was bright and modern in appearance.

It was evident during our stay that the resort is very particular about keeping the resort well maintained

I would recommend this resort to anyone travelling to the San Diego area

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Being natives of San Diego, We thought why go far away when we have a little paradise oasis right here in our own backyard.
This is our first time at the Bahia, if you can believe it and we are loving it!!! We feel like we want to live here it is so great. The staff is wonderful, especially Alexa, who served us in the Tangiers Bar. We are celebrating my sisters special birthday and she made us feel like we were family. We will come back again, definitely. Don't change a thing.....

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden are quiet and make you feel like you are in you own tropical paradise
See more room tips
Green Features: Thought is was great that they had blue recycling bins in the rooms
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your time at the Bahia Resort Hotel and we hope you'll visit us again. Your kind words about Alexa have been passed along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#134 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,570 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing