We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A friendly beachfront resort with a beautiful stern wheeler boat ride!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #27 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A friendly beachfront resort with a beautiful stern wheeler boat ride!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I loved it! I was a little worried because I got a great deal through Groupon but it was beautiful. A little outdated but nice. Beachfront view with huge pool, huge jacuzzi, bar for alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks & ice cream for kids, free arcade games, two seals in resort, beautiful restaurant & bar, free stern wheeler boat ride that was beautiful! I would definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    863
    340
    160
    145
See reviews for
1,272
773
76
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,043)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of five had a terrific stay at the Bahia! Our room (a suite with two queen beds and a pullout couch) was beautifully redone, with a large living room and very functional kitchenette, nicely stocked with utensils, dishes, and appliances (I was surprised to even find a strainer and a real kitchen knife to cut fruit). We had a beautiful view and a short stroll to all parts of the resort. I had booked our stay based on a friend's recommendation, but my husband asked me to reconsider based on some of the online reviews.

I always take reviews like this with a grain of salt, and the kids were already excited about the Bahia, so we left our reservations as is. I'm glad I did! The location was perfect, the staff helpful, the room beautiful and clean, the pool and hot tub perfectly adequate, the tropical garden charming and fun to explore, the food delicious ($7.95 for the kids' bfast buffet was a steal), the watersports and bike rentals so convenient and the Bahia Belle such a charming touch. We also took advantage of a special Brazilian dinner on the beach, where the food was outstanding!

Bottom line, the Bahia has a lot going for it. It may not be fancy, but our family doesn't need fancy. It is a terrific value for a charming resort that our family loved. Suites that sleep 5 are hard to find and much more costly elsewhere. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been redone. We had a choice of ground or 2nd floor, we chose 2nd floor as the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to see there are options to keep your towels for reuse etc.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Older resort hotel in a great location near amusement park, Mission Beach, and all the rental stuff. Stayed in the high-rise portion 3 floors up overlooking the bay. Excellent view of the Sea World fireworks each night. Best I've seen.
Room relatively quiet except for partiers on first floor below. Solution, turn the air on and shut the door.
Had problems with room cleaning which management resolved 2 days consecutively.
Jacuzzi was running with small children all hours (except early morning) less than 14yrs with no parents supervision. Parents with considerable distance at the pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I really liked this hotel...however older, it was clean and had great views. There is so much to do
on the property...luaus, jazz boat rides, bike rentals, hanging on the beach, eating at the restaurant which has live entertainment and you are not far from the Wavehouse and shops,
very nice.
Most noteworthy is the courtesy and service I received from Scott Hartman, at the check in desk who made a concession for an issue we had with our room and was very sweet about it,
and a wonderful young man, Stephen Wright, who was a bell boy who helped me get all my
luggage to my room as I was in a very stressed out state when I arrived. Very professional, courteous and genuinely caring staff....thank you!!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the bay--so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

So far all of the employees have been incredible! All have had excellent attitudes and have treated me with respect. The most important is all have had a very positive attitude. (all have been up and happy spirit) which really helped in the overall feeling of the stay. I am very impressed with all. Thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secaucus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel
has beautiful grounds with lots to do at the resort and close by. The bathroom floor had what I would call years of dirt embedded into the tiles and grout that you would not want to walk on without shoes on. The room needs a serious makeover. We did enjoy the pool; restaurant; and the staff are all great.

Room Tip: It appeared that the bayside rooms would have been a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Took our family to the Bahia Resort Hotel in San Diego. We stayed for 6 days, 5 nights. The hotel is on a peninsula in Mission Bay with its own private beach and private cabana benches. There are beach-side rooms (which look like duplexes), both single and two-story that face the water. We stayed in a two-story building that faced a lawn and the tennis courts. Group consisted of 1 senior, 2 parents, two teens.

The rooms were fine. The senior member of our group needed her room a little warmer, and the HVAC unit heated it up just fine. We needed our room cooler, and it worked great for us as well. They weren't fancy, but we didn't spend that much time there. We were just 30 seconds from the beach on Mission Bay.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, so can't comment there. We walked by the pool, and the kids checked out the game room once, but not enough to comment. Didn't try the fitness room.

When we stayed, we had complimentary rides on the paddlewheel boats that go back and forth from the Bahia to the Catamaran Hotel across Mission Bay. The round trip is about an hour and a half. Great views of the bay and the ocean. We had a chance to speak with the captain, and she was very nice and open to questions and explaining all about the boats. (They have two, one larger than the other, and they usually go out one at a time, although one evening they were both away from the dock. If you have to choose, take the larger boat, the William D. Evans.)

The staff was great. We needed a wheelchair a couple of days, and they were happy to provide one at no cost, to get it all set up, and were very helpful. Rooms were clean and neat, and everyone around the grounds was pleasant and friendly.

Rentals: One of the best parts. Although not part of the hotel operation, there are two rental shops on the bay, and they let you use your room key as collateral for rental gear. They have stand up paddle boards, several sizes of sail boats, one- and two-person kayaks, surf boards, boogie boards, and Segways. We took advantage of the small sail boat, the paddle boards, the Segway, and the kayaks. The bay is perfect for all the watercraft (smaller areas for those less comfortable on the kayaks, but big enough to get up some speed on a sailboat or speedboat), and there is a boardwalk all around the bay that is perfect for a Segway tour. Prices were reasonable and the staff was very helpful.

Evening activities: While we were there, they had a luau on the beach at the Catamaran (sister property), a Brazilian barbecue and music night, movies by the pool, Hawaiian dancers, and a couple of weddings. They also have live seals on the property.

We had stayed there in 1995 or 1996, and it was as good as we remembered. A great place to stay and really reasonably priced for the location and what you get. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We faced the tennis courts in the two-story building but didn't have any problems with noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
#133 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 2,587 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 W Mission Bay Dr, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#71 Business Hotel in San Diego
#80 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing