We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brazil comes to Bahia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #26 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brazil comes to Bahia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was hungry and didn't want to drive out of the hotel. Saw that there was a Brazilian Carnaval going on outside by the water so I decided to go with my group of friends. It was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed the chicken and the capirinha? I'm not sure if that's the proper spelling. The dancing was really fun as well. Group enjoyed overall. Brazilian music, sunset and good food.

Room Tip: Be nice when you check-in and they'll upgrade you if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,987
    959
    365
    172
    149
See reviews for
1,406
899
86
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've been going to California for 25 years. We were referred to the Bahia from a family member. The Bahia is by far the BEST resort, above and beyond any other resort, that we've stayed at in the San Diego area. The staff; house keeping, grounds crew, reception and restaurant staff were exceptionally friendly. We were there for a week to meet family that flew in from the east coast. Our relatives had arrangements at another "chain" hotel. The were not impressed with their place and had wished they had stayed at the Bahia. We all enjoyed a nice sit down dinner at the Bahia restaurant. The food was delicious, service was great and everyone enjoyed dessert. We reserved and received a bayside King room. The room was nicely decorated, new carpet, curtains, blinds. House keeping arrived the same time everyday, the grounds crew even washed and scrubbed the exterior stairs to the upper level rooms. We took the Bahia Belle over to the Catamaran, we enjoyed a pleasant conversation with Captian Ron prior to departure. We also used the onsite watersport rental. Fantastic service. We can't say enough about the property. The seal sanctuary was heart warming. Gracie and Billy are a joy to watch.

Every experience exceeded our expectations. It was a blessing for us to visit, we will be back.

Room Tip: King bay view, early morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14ArizonaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Scott was very friendly and helpful with my check in was kind to his new trainee. Tara, our server at dinner was excellent and friendly, not to mention efficient. I wish I ate at the hotel restaurant earlier in our stay, I probably wouldn't have tried other places.... Tara made it really enjoyable. Desmond was very helpful and friendly as well. Great job on customer service. This is my 5th summer stay and Elide remembered me and welcomed me back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmbaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STROUDSBURG
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great if one has the time and money to relax, but I attended a convention and was too busy to use anything except the room and the restaurant for breakfast which charged exorbitant prices. I made my reservation months prior to my stay but they had lost the reservation, therefore charging me the convention rate for one night, then the regular rate so I only stayed the 2nd night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGIANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bahia Resort in San Diego from July 4th, 2013 through July 10th, 2013. We have two older girls, therefore I reserved a suite to accommodate us. I was told that this unit would sleep 5 comfortably.
Upon check in I was told that our room was not ready and that they had until 4PM to have the room ready. They told me that I would receive a text, which I did about an hour and a half later. In the mean time they gave me a parking pass, told me to post it on the car and if I lost it I was S.O.L. for the rest of the trip and could not park on site.....OK...Guarded with my life for the rest of the trip.
They directed me back to a "tower" which was at the back of the property. I asked for bell service to meet us, which he did. He proceeded to drop our items out of the cart half way to the room, rolling over food that we had brought for the trip...no biggie..I bought more chips.
We got into an elevator which could not hold all of us. I noticed a strange smell. I mentioned it to the hop. He stated that he could smell it too. It was a musty odor. The hallways were odorous and hot. The room was odorous and hot. I immediately turned on the air and opened the patio door. I found that our room abutted a public park....NICE!!! We had a great view of the bay, RVs, pop up campers, and tents. We also got to experience cars moving around throughout the night. Because our air conditioning unit barely worked, we needed to leave the patio door open to get our room below 80 degrees. There is no central air here....just a window mount unit that works when it feels like it. No rhyme or reason....
Other then the flat panel television and the custom alarm clock the room was very dated. Wall paper was pealing, the carpets looked dirty...just not a very nice place...for what I was paying..over $300 per night.
My two teenage daughters got to sleep on a fold out sofa bed. I was still trying to figure out where we would sleep 5...maybe there was room in the bed next to my wife and I????
The bell hop mentioned that the "resort" was totally booked. Another room was just not going to happen.
This is a hotel bordering on a motel. They advertise amenities such as a spa and a fitness center. The spa is located at their sister property the Catamaran which is across the bay. The fitness center is a square home gym with a couple of cardio machines. What a joke. They have a flat panel outside the elevator touting an elaborate fitness center as well as spa. It makes you think that you are in utopia....NOT!!!! Everything is across the bay.
After returning from a great beach day on Saturday, we found that our room had not yet been attended to. This was 5:30 on Saturday night. I found a maid, who informed me that she had allot of work to do...I had to call Housekeeping to get the room serviced. The wait made us miss a dinner reservation with friends.
I mentioned to the staff at check out that the value just was not there...I paid over $2000.00 and felt ripped off. His response: "We are sorry that you feel that way". He actually said it twice....
Please update do not stay at this facility, at least until they address the issues, or lower their prices...

Room Tip: Stay out of the towers...they are the only units with Kitchenettes, or so I was told. Get a lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wagnerpest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Bahia Resort. Our ceremony was on the private beach and our reception was on the William D. Evans boat. We also had the opportunity to take our wedding pictures in the garden/gazebo area which is so beautiful. It was the most amazing day and working with the Bahia staff, including Beth Hunt, was easy and a great experience. Beth went out of her way to make my day extra special by working with myself and my parents to meet all of our needs and requests. Our guests said it was the best wedding they have ever been to and loved the setting of the beach and then the boat. We also received numerous compliments about the food and how well everything was cooked and presented. We stayed in a suite and it was perfect area for my bridesmaids to get ready in before the wedding. We even stayed an extra day so we could hang by the pool. My parents had a brunch for our out of town guests and we had a private room with a beautiful view of the bay. The staff could not be nicer! I would definitely recommend the Bahia if you are planning an event or just visiting San Diego. You can not beat the location and the beauty of the grounds. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Bahia several times and I personally have been going since my parents first took me 33 years ago. My husband and I have spent a few anniversary trips here and each time we come back wishing we didn't have to leave.

The waitress that served us dinner on 7/5/13 was Tara and she was absolutely amazing ... the best service in the world. She knew it was our anniversary and made us feel so very special.

My husband wanted to have flowers delivered to our room for anniversary surprise and Andy at the customer information desk did wonders in helping my husband.

We plan on going again and again and again ... fantastic staff!

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms on bay front ... so private, serene and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing