We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights on a business/pleasure trip. The hotel was obviously built way back when, but that's what made it so neat! Before that scares you, I should say our room was completely new. Granite tops with cherry wood furniture, large flat screen, a VERY clean and new bathroom that looked like it was being used for the first time. Our room was ground level, so we could drive right up and park at our door (no long suitcase hauls), and then a large sliding glass door (of very good quality) led out the back to our own patio with the beach across a little road. The road is closed to the public at night so you get a very private feeling. Some sections have multiple stories, which would give even better views if you don't mind going up a flight. There was a nice patio outside the bar for Happy Hour. We didn't have a meal in the restaurant but the avocado taco appetizers were wonderful! Location was perfect for us - a five minute walk brought us to Ray's rentals to rent beach cruisers (brand new bikes for all day for $10!). A super bike path runs down the beach and around Mission Bay. We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have cabanas on the beach that are first come, first served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,158
    1,004
    393
    184
    162
See reviews for
1,551
969
91
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Even though this hotel is dated, you really don't mind too much as your private access to your own beach with cabana is breathtaking and makes it all worth every dated item. The bed was comfortable, however squeaky every time you moved. The sliding door going out to our very own patio and short walk to our cabana and own beach was sticky and very hard to open due to the salt air and water damage. The air conditioner did not cool off the room, so we just opened the slider and had the cool air flow in and that seemed to cool off the room. With all this I still enjoyed our stay largely in part for the cabana and beach and sun setting view. If you don't watch out though in the morning the mama duck and her babies will come in to the room looking for hand outs, we had to shoo them away twice before they took the hint and moved on to the next room. They do take pride in the beach and the beach is groomed and the duck poo is removed every night and the grounds are well kept. The seal feeding is a pretty cool attraction as well. The pool and hot tub is wonderful, the water in both was perfect and very relaxing. The pool towels, however were not much larger than a hand towel but you do dry off pretty quickly anyway, plenty of pool side chairs, they even had a BBQ grill pool side with a bar to cater to your every need. If you don't care about the dated rooms and want to spend some quiet time with your family or lover then this secluded place is perfect!

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the ten dollars extra for the private beach access you get your own cabana and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and it was wonderful. When we walked up to the front desk, we were welcomed by Scott Harmon with a big smile. The atmosphere was great, very similar to many places we have stayed at in Hawaii. Scott checked on our room, a bay front suite, and it wasn't ready. I told him that's ok, we will go to the bar for a glass of wine. He said he would do us one better and treat us to the wine since it was past check in time. We went to the bar and sat outside in a tropical environment. Shortly thereafter, Scott came and told us that housekeeping found the rug in the room badly stained and they wanted to clean it before it was rented. He said The Bahia wanted to upgrade us to a Deluxe Bay front Suite. We were delighted and went to our room. It was BEAUTIFUL and huge. It had a kitchen with service supplies including wine glasses. The bedroom was large with a king bed and TV. The living room had a sofa, chair, table and chairs, a desk, and flat screen TV. The living room wall was glass with sliding glass door out onto a patio with two lounge chairs. We had brought a bottle of wine, so we took our glasses onto the patio and enjoyed the fantastic view of Mission Bay. The only negative comment I can make is the shower, which was large, did not had a shelf for shampoo, so we had to put it on the floor. We certainly could handle this very minor inconvenience. All in all, this place was absolutely wonderful and all the employees we came in contact with were friendly, helpful, and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: It appears that the Deluxe Bay Front Suite has two layouts. Rooms with even numbers have their livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I guess the only bad thing is that I didn't really get to spend long enough there to enjoy it all! A family holiday can be a little taxing on the wallet but this place was great value. The sort of place you think is a great price then you book hoping it isn't &%^*!! Well surprised big time! Great place indeed! Lovely views and I am so keen to visit again one day.

Room Tip: Don't go ground level to ensure a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownunderGAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel. We stayed for two nights as part of a four week trip and this might possibly top the list of hotels we stayed in. Sadly when we arrived our room wasn't ready (we were too early but the travel agent didn't give us check in times) but the receptionist was lovely and offered us a key to the pool area (which we didn't use at all during our stay) and to call us when the room was ready. We decided to go exploring instead and took the short walk to Mission Beach.

The beach is really lovely. It's very long so you would be able to find a spot easily.

The hotel itself is on spit of land so there is sea on either side. While we were waiting we took advantage of the beach sunbeds that belong to the hotel. They are only available one one side as the other has gardens rather than a beach. That's where our room was. There were pluses and minuses to garden rooms - due to the road (only beach access so very quiet and screened by plants) you were set back from the beach so people didn't walk behind your rooms to get to the beach but that also meant there was no sea view.

We didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on that however we did have cooking facilities in our room which made a nice change from eating out. A recommendation to the hotel would be for a washing up bowl in the kitchen. As English folk we've never seen a waste disposal so were a bit scared!!

I really wish we'd had longer here. Our room was beautiful and so comfortable. It was also spotlessly clean and modern. I will make it my mission to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenie_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed at and done business at this hotel. If you want to get the flavor of San Diego beach life, this is a great option. Family-friendly, with a laid back beachy vibe.

As with their sister property The Catamaran across the bay, I like how the Bahia has kitchenettes in room (I stayed in the main tower building). It is so handy to be able to cook and have a full size fridge and microwave at your disposal when you are away from home. They are stocked with basic cooking utensils, plates, glasses, etc.

I have eaten at the cafe a few times and enjoyed it as well (expensive as per usual for hotel restaurants, but the food is good).

3 Stars because this is your basic laid back beachy hotel, not a 5 star luxury place...and there's room for improvement. It's older and a bit run down, but nothing horrifying. The interiors could use a face lift for sure, but that would invariably up the cost of staying here. It's great for what it is: staying near the beach without paying a bundle.

Check out the adorable rescued sea lions out front (or seals? Sorry, I always get those mixed up).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night via a Groupon deal.

Pros:
1. Clean & quiet room
2. Nice swimming pool
3. Tennis court
4. Our room opened up to the beach
5. Affordable
6. Hot breakfast
7. Cute rescue seals
8. Cute little kitchenette
9. No lame resort fees
10. Free wi-fi

Cons:
1. Bathroom sink is very small
2. Toilet paper holder is awkwardly placed extremely low to the floor

Overall, my family had a great time. The staff was very friendly and inviting. We plan on coming back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,045 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#152 of 278 in San Diego
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing