We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I guess the only bad thing is that I didn't really get to spend long enough there to enjoy it all! A family holiday can be a little taxing on the wallet but this place was great value. The sort of place you think is a great price then you book hoping it isn't &%^*!! Well surprised big time! Great place indeed! Lovely views and I am so keen to visit again one day.

Room Tip: Don't go ground level to ensure a great view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownunderGAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,961)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,783 - 2,789 of 3,961 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel. We stayed for two nights as part of a four week trip and this might possibly top the list of hotels we stayed in. Sadly when we arrived our room wasn't ready (we were too early but the travel agent didn't give us check in times) but the receptionist was lovely and offered us a key to the pool area (which we didn't use at all during our stay) and to call us when the room was ready. We decided to go exploring instead and took the short walk to Mission Beach.

The beach is really lovely. It's very long so you would be able to find a spot easily.

The hotel itself is on spit of land so there is sea on either side. While we were waiting we took advantage of the beach sunbeds that belong to the hotel. They are only available one one side as the other has gardens rather than a beach. That's where our room was. There were pluses and minuses to garden rooms - due to the road (only beach access so very quiet and screened by plants) you were set back from the beach so people didn't walk behind your rooms to get to the beach but that also meant there was no sea view.

We didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on that however we did have cooking facilities in our room which made a nice change from eating out. A recommendation to the hotel would be for a washing up bowl in the kitchen. As English folk we've never seen a waste disposal so were a bit scared!!

I really wish we'd had longer here. Our room was beautiful and so comfortable. It was also spotlessly clean and modern. I will make it my mission to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenie_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed at and done business at this hotel. If you want to get the flavor of San Diego beach life, this is a great option. Family-friendly, with a laid back beachy vibe.

As with their sister property The Catamaran across the bay, I like how the Bahia has kitchenettes in room (I stayed in the main tower building). It is so handy to be able to cook and have a full size fridge and microwave at your disposal when you are away from home. They are stocked with basic cooking utensils, plates, glasses, etc.

I have eaten at the cafe a few times and enjoyed it as well (expensive as per usual for hotel restaurants, but the food is good).

3 Stars because this is your basic laid back beachy hotel, not a 5 star luxury place...and there's room for improvement. It's older and a bit run down, but nothing horrifying. The interiors could use a face lift for sure, but that would invariably up the cost of staying here. It's great for what it is: staying near the beach without paying a bundle.

Check out the adorable rescued sea lions out front (or seals? Sorry, I always get those mixed up).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnolia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for 1 night via a Groupon deal.

Pros:
1. Clean & quiet room
2. Nice swimming pool
3. Tennis court
4. Our room opened up to the beach
5. Affordable
6. Hot breakfast
7. Cute rescue seals
8. Cute little kitchenette
9. No lame resort fees
10. Free wi-fi

Cons:
1. Bathroom sink is very small
2. Toilet paper holder is awkwardly placed extremely low to the floor

Overall, my family had a great time. The staff was very friendly and inviting. We plan on coming back!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Fam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The bathroom floor was dirty, hair in and around the tub. The carpets were gross! The wait staff in the restaurant and bar were rude and disrespectful.the breakfast buffet was gross. The orange juice tasted bad, the bacon burnt and even at free wasn't worth the price! I sat down to dirty coffee cups and flat ware. If I had to pay more than the $99 I paid for the groupon, It would have been grand theft. I came to check out the hotel for my daughters wedding and cannot recommend it to her. The nicest part of the stay was the boat ride.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samiam236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, General Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Bahia. I am certainly disappointed they your stay was not what you expected it to be.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its staff for the problems you experienced. The issues with your guest room are certainly not typical, nor is it the type of standard I hold at the Bahia. We normally get great reviews about our breakfast buffet, but we certainly failed in your case. I have passed along your comments to the appropriated staff members for review.
I was glad to see your boat ride on one of our Sternwheelers was a pleasurable one.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope you contact me directly so we can discuss the various issues you experienced.

James W. Greene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We are having a great time. Everyone here has been so friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. I have food allergies and the staff has done everything to make it as positive and healthy an experience as possible. Esperanza has been doing an amazing job with our room. We love not having to wash our own dishes ;) And Juan is taking good care of us at breakfast, especially with my dairy allergy. Not only is the area relaxing and the scenery beautiful, but the positive attitude of all the staff have also been a large part in making this a relaxing and wonderful vacation for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First time at the Bahia as a guest, I work for a resort in AZ. The resort was so relaxing with great views and we could walk to the boardwalk at Mission Bay Beach, Resturants, & Shops.
Loved the rooms by the water & sand beach where my kids were insight from our patio, they built sand castles, found seashells, pulled a starfish right out of the bay! We did the pool & jacuzzi, visited the sea lions, and enjoyed a breakfast buffet during our short visit but it was a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCandreaful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#153 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $144 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing