We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get Away”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having never stayed in the San Diego area, we wanted a place that was walking distance to attractions, shops and restaurants and one that had a kitchen. The Bahia fit the bill! When we were first taken to our suite, I was dismayed, as I had requested a room with a water view, but the staff quickly changed us to a better location. The property is older but well maintained.We loved the tropical feel with palm trees and gardens. The concierge was most helpful with bike rentals, (Mission Bay has wonderful bike paths), kayak rentals, (again, Mission bay is perfect for this activity) and how to take to bus to other areas, (we didn't have a rental car). The hotel also has a friendly driver contact that will take you to the airport for a reasonable fee. We would return to the Bahia in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4 story building that face the water are best, the other side face the workshop.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,966)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,798 - 2,804 of 3,967 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week in a one bedroom suite. Location: Does not get a whole lot better than this the hotel is on its own inlet in mission bay, surrounded by its own beaches. Two blocks max walk right to the ocean and the boardwalk. You also have the belmont amusement park just two blocks from this hotel as well. Easily accessible on and off the highway as well.

Room: Our room was updated quite nicely actually, you can tell the hotel itself is a little dated,however our room was very clean and updated nicely, no complaints at all.

Staff: were all extremely friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the restaurant I was very impressed with the service all around.

The food at the restaurant was also surprisingly excellent, I had the fresh catch of the day a salmon dish, which was some of the best prepared salmon I have ever had, and I'm from washington state so have tried my fair share.

I gave this hotel a 5 rating because its about as nice as it gets for a hotel in its class, anyone who gets on here and complains that its a little old etc, needs to remember they are not staying at a five star hotel/resort.

Give it a chance and you won't regret the price and location combination!

Room Tip: Depends on how you like to travel, but I would at least do yourself a favor and get a bay room for t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley n R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived at noon and though check in was at 4 p.m we were given a warm welcome and an upgraded room. The front desk staff were very helpful, friendly and courteous, a real pleasure to deal with. Our suite on the bottom floor looked out over the bay and was spacious, well appointed and quiet. After getting settled we went back to the lobby to see if the staff could give us some help in suggesting the best way to see the city during our short stay. The bell boy arranged a tour for us and explained how we could catch the trolley just outside the hotel and also arranged to have us dropped off there which saved us cab fare (probably over $50). The complimentary breakfast in the onsite restaraunt was excellent and we enjoyed our lunch there when we arrived as well, good food, pleasant surroundings and again friendly courteous staff. The complimentary cruise across the bay was fun and a great place to get some great sunset pics. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Bahia and hope to return some day to see more of this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Our only request in rooms was a quiet location and that is what we were given.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamajean14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Returned to the Bahia for a three day working vacation last week. As usual, the front desk was awesome; my room was ready when I got there at 2 so no wait for the 4o'clock check-in. Went directly for a jacuzzi and swim. The pool area was clean and the snack shop was open for drinks and snacks. The grounds are beautiful, Mallard ducks roamed the grounds. Having now stayed in every building and area in the resort, I would say there is a wide range of rooms for guests. I like the one story casitas on the west side of the property, directly on the bay, and only one story. These rooms are close to the pool and restaurant, and the view is outstanding. Ask for a remodeled room if you are particular as the older rooms are a little dated.

Room Tip: Ask for a one story casita for quit.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everyone at the hotel was so helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

The room we were allocated was in the 4 storey apartment block and the room was very large. It had a miniature kitchen and a balcony that overlooked the bay. All modern features and decor too.

There is a private beach on Mission Bay which you can use with free recliners and chairs here, excellent for a place to relax and watch the world go by.

Location: This was excellent, it's within a 5 minute walk of the main beach where there are plenty of bars and a few places to eat here. We were there on St Patricks day and this was excellent, everyone was in the spirit and got into it. One thing to remember though, they wouldn't accept our UK drivers license as ID to enter the pub, so we had to take our passports.

Sea World is a 5 minute drive away from this hotel as well, so if you're planning on making the trip, then this is ideal.

Bahia Party Boat: We were very surprise that we were given tickets to this on our stay, we didn't even know that this was something the hotel offered, but there's a Mississippi padel steamer that goes around Mission Bay to their sister hotel and does drop offs so you can visit the other side of the bay. Whilst this costs $10 if you're not a hotel guest, all you need to do is show your room key upon boarding for a free trip.

There's a bar and a DJ on the 2nd flood of the boat and a a sitting area on the bottom and top decks where you can enjoy a beer and watch the sights whilst cruising around the bay. Just check the times they are running along with seasonal opening times as they do change.

Overall, an excellent hotel which I would certainly visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This beautufully located hotel could use a facelift, but otherwise is clean, charming and it is situated on water and extremely close to Mission Beach and Pacific Beach. I would stay there again.
It is also close to downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The service and staff at this hotel is first rate. It is difficult to find this level of professionalism anywhere. Such a close walk to everything. Try the sushi house next door. Great for teens, adults and seniors.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#153 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $141 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing