We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Vacation”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Vacationed at The Bahia Resorts with my wife, We could not get over how gracious and friendly everyone was when we arrived. The guy Mike C on the front desk was so helpful he made us feel very welcome . We would recommend the Bahia Resorts to anyone looking to vacation in San Diego.

Room Tip: ask for the bay side
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomR571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,967)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,839 - 2,845 of 3,967 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Last summer, my honey and I got married at the Bahia and had a wonderful and lovely experience. We were married on the beach as the sun was going down and had our cocktail hour and reception just a few hundred feet away. Lindsay Berthiaume was our wedding contact and I couldn't have been happier with the details and all the accommadations she helped us with as unfortunate events occured just weeks away from our wedding date. The property is beautiful, tranquil and just a short walk away from the ocean and Belmont Park which has the Giant Dipper roller coaster and other fun amusment park rides and games; perfect for families with kids visiting San Diego.
We are lovers of nature and were delighted to see the seal enclosure with Billy and Gracie who were saved and given a home at the Bahia. We highly recommend the Bahia for a romantic getaway, functions for business or fun or travelers here to see our lovely city. When in town, stay at the Bahia!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of their suites-it's like an apartment-very nice! Full kitchen and living room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JewelsK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

LMA showed it's appreciation to employees by hosting a farewell salute on the Bahia - William D. Evans. The event was a success and a great time was had by all employees and their families. The Bahia staff provided excellent service and food. They also accomodated all of our added entertainment and worked with our suppliers to ensure that everything was set-up and activities were enjoyed by all.
Thank you Bahia Staff!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I would like to take 5 mins of my time to share my GREAT experience staying with Mike Cee and the other great crew @ the Bahia while out in CALI . I was feeling the NORTHEAST WINTER BLUES decided to take off for a few days, just to relax. Booked my trip at the Bahia and was greeted by a guy @ the front desk named Mike Cee you would have thought I was some BIG WHEEL, This guy couldnt have been any nicer or couldnt have done anymore to make my trip anymore pleasant. The whole crew there were very pleasant , rooms were very clean ,service was excellant and just a over all pleasure to stay there and will be staying there many more times in the future, ENJOY

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 799jimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a wonderful time staying at the Bahia Resort. Excellent staff, beautifully landscaped property and had a great time on the Bahia Belle. I must comment on one of your staff members - Mike C! He was the BEST and most helpful. He is extremely friendly and is a great asset to your hotel. I would highly recommed the Bahia to all my friends and family!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueF688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is our second time staying at Bahia. It's a clean property. The only thing that we didn't like was there were no door latches. A man came into our room without knocking. My husband just came out of the shower and I was in bed watching a scary movie. That's when a man opened our door. Scared the living daylights out of me. Ran outside he was in the elevator with the door closing when I told him what I thought of him. I called the front desk and asked if it was their policy to have men come on in. They said no and laughed it off. Put the chair under the door knob. Next time we'll stay across the street at The Hyatt. I here they have door locks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WENDYLALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel consists of a number of buildings spread out over a peninsula that juts into Mission Bay in San Diego. There are a few single and two-story buildings that face the Bay, along with two five-story towers at each end of the property. As I was there for a conference, I was able to see a number of the rooms. The original room I was assigned was in the middle of the property overlooking the parking lot. It was indistinguishable from any Motel 6 room I have ever stayed in, small, dirty motel room, with the airconditioner next to the room door under the window. We've all been (at one time or another) in a bad motel room, and this was no different.

I returned to the front desk and asked for another room. The desk clerk was nice, friendly, and helpful, and tried to find me a room near the meeting rooms in one of the multi-story buildings. This room (classified as a small suite or something like that) was nicer, larger, with a couch and a small kitchen area. The bathroom was in need of renovation, but was not too bad. (My wife's comment was she would never take a bath in the bathtub, but it would be okay for a shower).

I went into two other rooms. The first was a friends who received one of the rooms facing the bay. That room was very large (a one-bedroom suite) with a large more modern kitchen, nice furniture, clean, no smell, really an excellent room. Another colleague had a beach-facing room that was spectacular, large, clean, also with kitchen and a great view. Each of these people booked at roughly the same time as I did and paid the same amount (the conference rate). Why they got the nice rooms and I got the Motel 6 room is anyone's guess. The key then to this resort from a room perspective then is to get a room that faces the water, not the multi-story building rooms, and to avoid the interior rooms like the plague.

The beaches are quite nice, with cabanas, and a nice marina. There is a hotel paddle-wheeler that goes out for a cruise each night. Friends reported that it was a nice bay cruise, though I did not go. The pool is okay, and the restaurants are acceptable. Overall, if you want to stay near SeaWorld, this is not the worst family hotel you could stay at. But do not under any circumstances accept a room on the interior of the property.

Room Tip: Exterior, bay and beach-facing rooms only. These are called "suites" but they are the onl...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#153 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $141 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing