We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A happy customer 6 years running” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #26 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A happy customer 6 years running”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've scheduled a 3-day seminar for my professional association at the Bahia Resort Hotel every October since 2007. We just keep coming back because it suits all our needs -- easy access from the San Diego airport; clean and cheerful meeting facilities; an exceptionally responsive banquet staff; yummy food for our events; and right on the bayfront. Guests wishing to stay over can dine at the lovely hotel restaurant and take advantage of all the water-sport rentals on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,986
    958
    365
    172
    149
See reviews for
1,404
899
86
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springtown, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first trip to California and the Bahia, let me just say it was amazing. The rooms were great, the view was beautiful, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Loved getting to see the sea lions every morning while i sat on my balcony. Perfectly located in the middle of all the exciting things like the ocean, Belmont park and Sea World, and many other activities. Loved the pool and the hot tub. We will be repeat customers!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great resort with a perfect location. On the bay with a 1.5 block walk to Mission Beach. Less than 5 min (and no freeways) to get to SeaWorld. San Diego Zoo was also an easy drive. La Jolla was only 6 miles away and a great get away too. Rooms were huge and spotless. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Only negative is that it is older and dated so does not have much for curb appeal. We will go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I came here to celebrate our anniversary and get some early spring sun. I wanted to stay here mainly because it was central to everything - Mission Beach, La Jolla, Sunset Cliffs, Sea World, Balboa Park, downtown, etc. I didn't have high expectations and was initially doubtful because our room reservation was incorrect. However, they did not hesitate to immediately upgrade our room to accommodate us.

The facility is quite peaceful, tropical, and quiet. There's a beautiful central garden with a pond, free roaming ducks and stream. The pool is large, clean and heated. There's a huge, roomy hot tub adjacent to it, along with a small gym and arcade. We had a "bayside" room which is a bit of a misnomer because there are privacy hedges and a parking lot between the room's back door and the bay, but it is just a short walk away. There are two rescued harbor seals in a fenced pool near the lobby that seem to be well taken care of. Parking is free and right up to your door. The room was reasonably well supplied with a very comfortable bed, granite topped dresser/TV stand/fridge holder. Lighting was cozy, TV was a large HD flat screen, and there was a coffee maker. There was a round wood table, two chairs, and some chaise lounges. The bathroom was modern and had good water pressure. There were no imperfections like loose baseboards, stains, or mold. My only complaint was the seating wasn't that comfortable.

Housekeeping usually showed up around 3 pm. Room service was prompt and courteous, although the flat bread pizza left something to be desired. The bar and restaurant next to the lobby were excellent. We had a sweet and enthusiastic waitress named Isabelle. I had the fish tacos and they were delectable.

They also had a nightly steamboat cruise (adults only on weekends) with a casino - tickets were complimentary. You can also rent bikes and motorized catamarans right there.

Our stay overlapped with the weekend spring break started, which was disappointing because the common areas like the hot tub became inundated with partying college students. I advise others to take this into consideration when making reservations.

Overall, we loved the place and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bayside is a little more private. Garden views are beautiful but common sidewalks are adjacent to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xorreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. It was clean. I very picky and I thought this place was very clean. The grounds are beautiful. Close to the beach and Sea World. The heated pool was nice and they have a huge hot tub. We didn't encounter any staff except for check in and they were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Threadgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've returned to the Bahia Resort Hotel every year for over 12 years now for our large week-long conferences. We love the location, the staff, the meeting rooms and the property. We have participants coming from all over the US and it's hard to keep them in-doors, as the area is so beautiful. They have access to a great walking path along the bay, or just a couple blocks from a walk along the ocean. There are restaurants within walking distance, and much more to do within a few miles, if you have a car.

Because the property is not new, we have appreciated their continuing to update their sleeping rooms throughout the property. All in all, we have so enjoyed coming to the Bahia each year. I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay no matter how long you are there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knygaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Bahia from 3/9-3/17/2013. Prompt and courteous check-in. Everyone that worked at the front desk was most helpful and cheerful during our stay. Our room was wonderful...the bed was SOOOOO comfortable. The room was immaculate and cleaned every day. The food was delicious...the happy hour menu at the bar was awesome! All of the appetizers were $5.00 and excellent. I ordered the spinach-artichoke dip and the fish tacos, which were to die for. The buffet breakfast(15.00) was excellent....fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, pastries, homemade waffles etc. Room service was cheap too, if you didn't want to leave your room. The whole atmosphere of the Bahia is so tropical and inviting. The pool was huge, as well as the hot tub that seated 33 people!! Everything was exceptionally clean and well groomed....the plants were gorgeous all around the whole resort. There were beaches everywhere you turned. Clean water for boating and swimming. Two blind rescued seals have a beautiful pool area surrounded by natural rocks and plants and are a pleasure to watch. My next trip to Cali will definitely have me staying at the Bahia. I can't say enough good things about this place. If you're looking for a four star hotel with all of the bells and whistles, you won't find it here. Rooms are simple but tastefully done and in pristine condition. The area itself and the grounds of the Bahia make up for it. Just having so many areas to explore and walk around make the Bahia my choice in the San Diego area. Mission beach is just a 5 minute walk, and what a gorgeous beach, with 2 miles of white sandy beach and a boardwalk to either bike, roller blade, skate board or walk/jog and the houses along the boardwalk were fabulous. So many restaurants within walking distance. You won't be disappointed. Thank you to the Bahia staff for a most wonderful vacation!!! Hopefully, I will be returning next year, if money allows! So sad to return home!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing