We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel right outside SeaWorld”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my second stay at the Bahia and I was again highly pleased with my experience. The location is perfect for my business visits. Renovated room was fabulous. Staff is courteous, helpful and attentive. Food from room service is spectacular. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,096 - 3,102 of 4,079 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were travelling with 4 children. Our suite had two double beds in the bedroom and a pull out couch in the living room. The room was very clean and had a fridge, coffee machine and microwave. All the dishes we needed were there. The pool and hot tub were very clean and we all enjoyed them. We had a good meal at the restaurant and room service the next evening after a long day at the zoo. The room service was quick and the food was good. I would stay at the Bahia again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YukonerMarshLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Tried to make a reservation online for Friday night, but made a reservation for that night. Called the next morning to make the correction as soon as we realized and they basically said that was our problem because they had held the room (even though they were not full or near full). They manager wouldn't even give us a credit towards another night or a discount. Not a great way to run a business. We definately won't ever stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Corey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling CA, General Manager at Bahia Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

We are sorry that your stay caused frustrations. Because you booked your stay using Expedia.com we are unable to do any adjustments or refunds because they are the one who processed your credit card. If you had booked your stay directly with our hotel we would have been more than happy to issue you a credit instantly. We suggest booking directly with us as we guarantee the lowest rates and can handle any situation that may arise from mistakes. We hope you will give our resort another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend in January 2013, on a deal through Groupon. When I heard we we getting a studio with a full size kitchen and full size fridge, I was expecting more than what we got. The kitchenette is very small. The fridge is medium size. There were stains on the carpet, and the shower water temperature was not hot enough. We brought DVDs for the kids, but there was no DVD player, and no pay-per-view option. WIth that said, I did think the water pressure in the shower was amazing, and almost made up for the fact that I could not get it quite as hot as I would have liked. The room we had was very quiet. It may be that we were there in low season, but we never heard any noise from inside our room. The drive to Sea World was less than 10 minutes. The front desk staff were very friendly, and the restaurant had a very decent menu, at very reasonable prices. So all thinks considered, this is a decent place to stay at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went to San Diego for our honeymoon and had a great time, but the Bahia Resort wasn't exactly what we expected. We were hoping there would have been more activities to do at the resort. The Bahia Belle was not open when we were there and that was one of the attractions that we wanted to see.
Our room was nice and all of the staff was also very nice and welcoming. We did not have or rent a car when we were in San Diego so we used the city bus system which was nice getting to Sea World and Old Towne. The Customer Service reps in the resort lobby were very helpful when helping us figure out how to use the system.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car with you or are renting a car while there, request to stay at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My mother and I recently went on a family trip to San Diego, and we chose to stay at the Bahia Resort. First, the staff were friendly and sincere. Second, our garden-view room was wonderfully larger than we expected, especially for the price (having AAA is good for those who travel a lot). There was plenty of space to relax and talk. The "living room" and double beds were very comfortable, the large bathroom was spotless, with new tile, sink cabinets in wood and instant hot water (although they need a better drape for the shower; water got all over the floor). One of the best experiences was dinner. We were served by Nestor, the kindest and most professional server I have encountered in years. He accommodated our every request with care and grace (my mother has dietary issues). The food was good, so we thank the cooks too. Jessica, at the Cafe Bahia desk that evening, was a lovely and delightful person who was also very nice to my mother the next day, and I will always appreciate that. With its wonderful people, good prices, 1960's style and contemporary upgrades, the Bahia is a great place to stay. And you must visit the rescued seals in the seal tank. So adorable. I will visit again, hopefully for a longer stay. The Bahia Resort is a wonderful choice for San Diego.

Room Tip: Get AAA and ask for a garden-view room. You will love the space. And go early for the hot breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed in room 426, third floor tower block which was a large room with stuido kitchenette. Located right at the end of the 'complex' it was sometimes a struggle to find a parking spot nearby but it was in a great location. There were tennis courts and a gym but never got round to using them. The room was well equipped with comfortable bed which meant we could chill out for 3 days at the end of a hectic road trip in USA. You do need a car to stay at this hotel as all the sights were a drive away rather than a walk. We didn;t find too many places to eat near the hotel which meant you had to organise yourself a little round dinner time so you didn;t have to drive a long way. Would stay here again as it is a nice little hotel and spent a lovely few days here. One complaint was that reception tried to charge us for a bottle of water, jsut because we happend to have the same variety of water and put it in the fridge! They did waiver the charge without any problems when we checked out so not a major prob.

Room Tip: room 426 third floor tower block was in good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGupsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $106 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing