We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Position”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights.At check in we were given a room overlooking the reception area. It was so noisey and had no view at all so we asked to be moved. We were than given a much better room with a great view of the bay.We did experience noise all night from the air con unit for the next door room but at least we had gained a view! Staff all very friendly and helpful.The hotel is in a great position for the beach and for long walks on the boardwalk which we enjoyed very much. However it does need some TLC and an upgrade.
We had a car so went to see the US Midway which was very good indeed. We also visited Old Town and had lunch on the Cosmopolitan Hotel. The margerita was the best i have ever had. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwelshwizad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,965)
There are newer reviews for Bahia Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,106 - 3,112 of 3,965 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here the first part of September for two nights. Our room overlooked the Bay and it was absolutely beautiful! We stayed in a suite which includes a small kitchen, it was perfectly stocked and everything was very clean! The staff was very friendly and helpful from check in to check out. It is a great location as you are close to many of the sights in San Diego as well as public transportation if needed. The best deal of all is that parking is free unlike downtown where the fee is quite high. A very relaxing and enjoyable weekend......the food was good too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Caballeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights earlier this month. It is probably a great place for a family vacation if you have a car, but if you flew to San Diego for business and this hotel is where the conference is being held, be prepared to spend a lot of money on cab fare. Unfortunately the weather was bad during my stay, which is not the hotel's fault, but it didn't help. My room was nicely appointed, and had obviously been recently updated. No water view, unless you count the duck pond. One hint to hotel management -install more locks or those guard things on the doors. My door was right on the parking lot, and had only a deadbolt. I ended up putting a chair under the door knob every night. I do want to commend the front desk staff, who were friendly, courteous and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bojigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights In late August and early September.
The views are quite spectacular and the position is great. Much better than staying downtown
We left the car at the hotel and took a trolley bus tour of San Diego which avoided all the problems of parking etc. They pick you up right outside the hotel.
Found all staff friendly and professional for all the visitors who complain about staff it is probably
their attitude that is at fault.
The private beach is great with good swimming around the bay
Close also is the board walk which I ran on about 6 miles each day. Didnt have time to sit by the
pool When there is the sea who needs a pool?
Found the accommodation fine and not dated in anyway the kitchenette was very useful
All in all a good stay and will stay again when in San Diego
Try and get a room not overlooking the reception area because it is noisy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1000580423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

They put what looks like complimentary bottle of water in the room but they really cost $3.50 each!

We had great dining staff.

The bathroom wasn't very clean.

We were excited that we were getting a room facing the bay ($250) turns out it was facing the parking lot next to a bay. Instead we had a view of people living in their r.v's.

We won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimsgirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I booked the Bahia because of a friend's recommendation. Since it is located right on Mission Bay and a heavily touristed area, we expected to find a worn hotel and a jaded staff. Quite the opposite! Our suite was spacious, clean, well-equipped and modern. It looked out to the bay, and we took advantage of the good weather to sit outside. We ate our meals at the cafe - the dinner was good and reasonably priced. The grounds were clean and well-kept with an abundance of tropical plants. The staff were well-trained and friendly and really seemed as though they wanted to help us. No worries, relaxing, a great weekend. We travel 2 or 3 times a year and consider this resort one of the better bargains we've found. - M&D, Santa Paula CA

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The resort was great and the staff was extremely accommodating. We were close to all the amenities and right by the water. Our room had a terrific view of mission bay. We had a great time and would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Hotel
#149 of 278 in San Diego
750 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#31 of 278 in San Diego
1,050 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $145 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing