We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely Resort”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #29 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really lovely Resort”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our first part of our honeymoon was to the Bahia Resort. We had a fantastic time. Quick check in on arrival and very helpfull staff. No problems with the check. Got to our room on ground level, facing the tropical gardens. Lovely view and very well kept clean area. The room was spotless and not a complaint to be made. Rooms cleaned everyday with fresh towels. On the other side of the premises was the beach view. Seen as it was a 2 second walk away from our room, we were happy with our view. The beach was so clean and really private. Lovely beach walk around the whole resort. The Bahia Belle was great and free (as we were staying in the hotel). It brought us accross to the sister hotel and we stayed a while and checked out Pacific Beach area. Plenty of shops and restuarants and clubs. Had a few drinks in the sister hotel(which was a lovely hotel) got the last boat back to bahia and there was a dj on board which was great fun. Lovely resturant in the bahia. Breakfast was great. Buffet or menu. Food was yummy and plenty of it. not expensive at all.
Romantic and family resort. Shops close by and amusement park. Mission beach a walk away. Beautiful in the early morning. Real relaxing scene!
Sea World a taxi ride away. Amazing. A must do in San Diego!!!
Bus stop right outside the Bahia. All day pass for 7dollars. Take the bus to the tram station and get the tram into town Gaslamp District. We watched a baseball game while we were there. Brilliant to see and fun. Got cheap tickets! Lovely resturants and bars in the gaslamp area. Fun night out. Caught the tram back to our area and bus back to the bahia. Not complicated at all. Easy to find our way!!

Overall, not complaints of the Bahia and staff were great and helpfull. Plenty of activities to do at the hotel and would recommend for romantic or family. Would defo visit Bahia again!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,048
    977
    376
    177
    155
See reviews for
1,454
929
88
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Centro, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I really shouldn't say anything, reservations will be more difficult in the future. We stayed in a ground level beach front unit. After a romantic cruise on the Bahia Bell we retired to our patio just off the beach and shared a bottle of wine before taking a midnight walk on the beach. Just like the movies

Room Tip: Beach front, ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had 3 fun-filled and relaxing days at the Bahia. The grounds are tropical and serene and the million dollar view of the bay from our balcony was breathtaking. We enjoyed sipping coffee every morning from that balcony and watching the boats and seagulls go by. Our room was A+ with full kitchen, living room area and a king size bed. Pillows and mattress were so comfortable we wanted to take them home! Very clean and cozy. Staff is wonderful! I must give credit to the very nice man at the front desk "Scott Hartman". He made sure our stay got off on the right foot. Very professional and caring person. He will do his best to take care of you. We had a room next to a large family and since it was just my husband and myself, we asked for a bit more privacy. We were extremely pleased with his help.:o) :o) Close to all...shops, restaurants, beach, bay, amusement park, etc. They also have a private beach with cabanas, bike rentals, and watercraft of all kind to rent. We will definitely return here! Thanks again Scott Hartman, you ROCK!

Room Tip: Tell staff if you are a couple seeking quiet or a family seeking fun. They will do there best to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Bahia is the best location if you want to experience Mission Beach and Mission Bay. Close to everything! Such a delightful property! The lush gardens/landscaping is such a treat for us desert dwellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssf
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

my kids and we both enjoyed alot. best resort for anyone to go. i want to go again and again. kids had lots of fun by the sea. loved it. very romantic too. have nice balcony. open the door and you see right by the sea. kids can play the sand and have lots of fun. awsome place for couple too. romantic. me and my husband had so much fun outside sitting by the patio and seeing the view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent over a week at the Bahia and loved every day/night! We have a 7 year old son and this hotel is pefect for families. We used and enjoyed the pool/hot tub/arcade area everyday. Service in pool area is friendly and fun. We had a garden view room and enjoyed our coffee in the provided lounge chairs every morning viewing the ducks in the stream. The whole hotel has gorgeous grounds for picture taking to. We walked to Mission beach daily and enjoyed the atmosphere around that area. The bay area at the Bahia is great to. Pefect for laying on a padded lounge chair and reading or enjoying many activites they offer for rentals. We tried restaurant for dinner and breakfast and had excellent food and service with both meals. Can't WAIT for our next trip to the Bahia!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 225guest1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent four days at the Bahia and loved it! Our patio opened onto the private beach so I had a water view whenever I wanted (I'm from the desert), it was close to all the amenities, and the staff was wonderful! I am slightly handicapped so accessibility was important, and I only wish they had had higher toilets :-)! The rooms are old, but clean and comfortable. This is a terrific place for kids -- I loved watching them on the paddle boards. Kayaks and bicycles are also available for rent. We had breakfast in the dining room and from room service and it was always excellent. Unfortunately we were other places for dinner.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the rooms on the private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing