We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of surprises!”
Review of Bahia Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Resort Hotel
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“full of surprises!”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Our Bahia Resort stay was full of great surprises! The beautiful bay and a free cruise on the Bahia Belle around it, two adorable rescued seals on the property, a great swimming pool and spa with full service bar and free kid's video arcade, free parking and a great staff - couldn't have been better - can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The mini-suite was perfect for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pledgerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    997
    387
    181
    157
See reviews for
1,515
956
91
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland,OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the Bahia Resort Hotel in room 138. I loved the location of the hotel, we could walk to Mission Blvd and the ocean, very close to Seaworld and town. We were on the Bay side with a main floor suite- pull out couch bed in living area (even though our reservation said 2 queen beds...), and a room with a queen bed. The room was old, the mattress on the bed was very uncomfortable, the pull out couch bed wasn't bad though. We had an infestation of little sugar ants- no big deal, other than that the room was clean and not moldy or musty.
The bedroom window has shutter windows so that the sound from the parking lot- right outside the room was very loud. Also when room 140 was shutting their door- they slam- it felt like they were in our bed with us. Our room was next to the housekeepers closet room, so not ideal for sleeping in. I'm told 131 is the concierge's favorite room, although old- it does not have noisy feet above it (like ours did) and is on the corner- so neighbor only on one side. I'm also told that the 300 level rooms are the best right on the water. Their view is obstructed though by the two large "paddle" style ships that are moored there and it is on the boardwalk that you would take to go to Mission Blvd- so lots of eyes outside your sliding door.
I liked the location of our room because it was more private. You walked out the slider and right onto a patio, then grass, then sand, then water- NICE! The bay was perfect for floating, renting boats, sailing and laying out on the loungers that they have. There is a public beach right on the other side, but lots of vegetation make it difficult to walk through on the beach side. The towers have been remodeled, they look like they have great views, but they overlook the public beach which had lots of people, parties, hangers out.
The people at the resort were very nice and the pizza in the restaurants was very good. The breakfast we had at the resort was good too.
The pool was awesome (not large, no slides or anything like that- just a nice hotel style pool with a hot tub.) They have a nice workout room with treadmills- good air conditioning in there and next to that is the video game room- all the games are free!! Very popular with our family- Golden Tee and car race games.
My understanding is that they are remodeling the resort one section at a time. Although the tower rooms are better, I don't like their location as well and we wanted to be right on the sand. The weather on the bay was better than the beach- not as windy and cloudy. The water was warm and the sailing was great.

Room Tip: Hope for remodeling of bay front rooms 100-150...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationformeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

When we pulled into the Bahia on a Friday around 3pm and there was a line out the lobby door with people trying to check in. Once I made my way to the front, the check in process was simple and easy. We drove down to our room, which was no easy chore because the parking lot was packed, and there was no place to turn around. Once you got to the end, if you hadn't found a parking
space, you had to do a 3-point turn in the driving lane.
We got to our room and as soon as I opened the door, I said, "Oh no." There was a dingy smell and when I flipped on the light switch, nothing happened. It was so dark. I was very disappointed in the room quality.
We had a downstairs room facing the bay. On the patio










, the lawn chairs were dirty and uninviting. The bathroom was sparse and I just really was unimpressed. To make matters worse, when I got in the shower so I could get ready to go to dinner--there was NO hot water. And at times, the shower water was ICE COLD.
I called maintenance and they "fixed" it, but the next day I had the same problem. I called maintenance again and they were going to fix it again. That night, the toilet ran ever 3-5 minutes. It woke me up at 1am and I could never fully go back to sleep. The next morning, I went down to the front desk and spoke with the manager.
He immediately offered us a new room and also moved all of our stuff while we were out atthe beach for the day. His name is Scott and he was the best part of the hotel. He did not give me the "run around" and he did his best to make our stay more enjoyable.
Unfortunately, the shower drain didn't work in the new room, and the toilet still ran... But we had HOT water. It
was very nice!
All in all, I was disappointed in the place. It was Way too crowded--there were at least 4 weddings each day and there were numerous other activities...just way too crowded. Scott was great and I appreciate his hospitality. But honestly, I spent as little time as possible at the hotel because it was overcrowded, it had no "resort feel", and it just felt and looked dingy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjenrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The rooms were very nice at the Bahia. The room was large (we had a king and a pull out sofa) and the mini kitchen was wonderful. Refrig and freezer, microwave, toaster, stove and oven! It also comes with kitchenware. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and there were multiple weddings going on in our building (the 600 tower across from the lobby). It was horrible! The noise coming from the music and people was awful. It went on past midnight. The walls were shaking it was so bad. I can't believe they put people in this tower with that type of noise. My husband had a race Saturday morning and had a problem sleeping. If you check in at the Bahia, make sure to request a room not in this building.

Helpful?
4 Thank scootermae16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Since my spouse was attending a conference at the Bahia in early June, we assumed a windowless boring same-old grind chain-type hotel. We were so happily wrong! What we found was a tropical paradise, even nicer than their own website. The low room rate made it an incredible value for all we got.
After a speedy check in two hours early (thank you!) we parked next to our harborside room. We were thrilled with the kitchen suite with two queens, huge balcony, fully stocked kitchen (with seating!) and vanity. The condition was spotless. I could not find a speck of dirt anywhere in the kitchen or bath. The daily cleaning staff did even more than I expected, which included washing our dishes. I couldn't find a note to let housekeeping know we didn't require fresh linens every day, (to conserve energy), but I couldn't find such a note that is found in most hotels these days.
First night we strolled their extensive and mature gardens and marveled at the sheer quantity of lush palms, flowering trees and pond and fountains. We said hello to the blind harbor seals, now safe in a habitat at the Bahia. Checked out their nice giftshop and bought discount tickets to San Diego Zoo there, as well as some snacks and drinks. The lounge at the Bahia is really fun. Walk through a Morroccan door and you feel like you are in a movie set with crazy fan contraption overhead. I with we had time to dine in the outdoor restaraunt with fountain and fireplace and beautiful tiles. Maybe next visit! We continued the walk ten minutes to Belmont Park (amusement park) and California party beach, Mission Beach. Next day we also walked the 2.5 mile boardwalk to resort neighbor, Paradise Pier to check out their lookout tower, which we had seen from our room. We saw an entire wing of the resort is being renovated. They were putting in new rugs and furniture while we were there. In the evening we dunked in the awesome hot tub and loved the set up with lots of space, and tropical colors and music.
The conference room had the most gorgeous full window view of the charming bay with triple-decker antique paddleboats (more on that below). Also, the conference beverages, lunch and cocktail hour were fantastic, as were the staff. The view also showed a playground right on the sand for children and various rentals, including bikes, kayaks and sailboats.
Weekly beginning Wednesdays, the Bahia Belle vintage paddle boat cruises around the picturesque harbor (which we got a "free" evening cruise as guests). There is live music and cheap yet great cocktails and sanwiches on board. Guest get off and on the boat every 60 minutes or so. Or better yet, just stay on it for the night (adults only 9:30 til the wee hours).
We were less than two miles from Old Town. 40 miles to Legoland, two hours to Disneyland, 30 minutes to the Zoo (yes, we did all of these!) The hotel has a helpful brochure with directions to these and more. We will be back!

Room Tip: San Diego is a wonderful vacation spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthByNorthwestNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed at the Bahia for a conference last week and really enjoyed myself. The room (actually a suite) was clean & comfortable. I had a view of the bay, and the room provided a couch for lounging & reading. I think because the hotel might be older, the tub was also big enough to be cozy for soaking (many newer facilities have smaller tubs). The staff were very friendly and helpful at all hours. The business center could be expanded & made more comfortable for guests, as it is very small, but I was able to check email & use the internet whenever I needed, so this wasn't a problem (fyi, I didn't bring my laptop so didn't use their wifi & cannot comment on this). The facilities have two seals that they care for, which adds a very peaceful feeling to the location. I didn't visit the bar, but the restaurant was nice for breakfast. The staff run a shuttle up to the incredible spa located at their other facility, the Catamaran (although if you are a walker, you could just head out). Loved the spa, needed the cucumber water & massage. Being near the ocean, I walked 3 miles on the boardwalk the first night in town. Really good sushi right next door. I would definitely recommend the hotel & would come back, should I return to San Diego in the future.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Was told this was the best hotel on the Bay. Was extremely disappointed within minutes of driving through. !/2 to 3/4 of the resort was under construction. Very little parking at all unless you want to park under ladders and construction crews. Room was very dated, carpet stained, a little smelly. Look like no updated since early 80's. Every time someone in hotel turns on water pipes make loud noises, all night long. Private beach is tiny. Does not feel like a 4 star hotel. The only thing good about the room was the view. But don't plan on your sliding door staying open, it's a constant fight!! This was supposed to be our anniversary trip, wow how sad!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie0627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
896 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Resort Hotel

Property: Bahia Resort Hotel
Address: 998 West Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#70 Business Hotel in San Diego
#79 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Resort Hotel is a welcoming waterfront property located on a 14-acre picturesque peninsula in San Diego’s scenic Mission Bay. Featuring spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens as well as friendly service and comfortable accommodations, Bahia Resort Hotel is the ideal destination for an authentic Southern California beach getaway. Impressive accommodations are key at the Bahia; guests may choose between our deluxe studios and suites, each with its own balcony or patio and a full range of amenities. Further room options include kitchenettes, direct access to the beach and views of the sparkling bay and our expansive tropical gardens. At Bahia Resort Hotel we ensure you receive all the comforts and amenities needed to enjoy your vacation. Staying at the Bahia grants guests easy access to an array of dining options, including our signature restaurant Cafe Bahia, which offer international cuisine served amid this indoor-outdoor tropical paradise. At our Moroccan-inspired Tangier Lounge, guests enjoy crafty drinks alongside a crackling fireplace and live piano bar. Beyond the Bahia, seemingly countless options offering an array of culinary experiences are just minutes away. For those seeking to spend their vacation on the water, Bahia Resort Hotel boasts an assortment of options. Headlining these choices is the Bahia Belle, an 1860s-era sternwheeler that tours guests around the bay nightly. Step back in time and enjoy a colorful sunset and views of the bay’s playful seals from the top deck, then prepare to kick up your heels as the vessel becomes a vibrant nightlife destination with live entertainment and a full-service bar. Additional nearby water activities include sailing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, surfing and more though nobody will blame you for simply relaxing on our soft sand beaches or at our sparkling pool. Back on land, the Bahia boasts a fitness center, kids’ arcade, tennis courts and bicycle and Segway rentals. Within walking distance guests can also explore Belmont Park, an oceanfront amusement park featuring the Great Dipper, a wooden roller coaster and designated historic landmark built in 1925. Take in the picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean during a leisurely stroll on the boardwalk, go rock climbing, or play miniature golf in this popular beachfront locale. Traveling further afield is a breeze, as the Bahia’s location is ideal for those seeking to experience San Diego’s major attractions. The Bahia Resort Hotel is located directly across from SeaWorld and is within 10 miles from the world famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown’s Gaslamp District and the San Diego International Airport. The Bahia Resort Hotel is owned and operated by Evans Hotels, a San Diego-based hospitality group that also includes the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and The Lodge at Torrey Pines. The Bahia is a reflection of all that “America’s Finest City” has to offer ‒ from year-round perfect weather and soft sandy beaches to dazzling Pacific Ocean sunsets ‒ and we look forward to helping you create your picture perfect Southern California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bahia Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel San Diego
Bahia Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing