We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Ranked #212 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel for 2 nights with a family of four, including 2 teenagers. On arrival, the hotel wasn't too easy to find and was at the last exit before the Mexican border.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and welcomed us with a smile every time we came into the hotel.

San Diego's Seaport is around 25 minutes away by car and the Mexican border is a 15 minute walk.

The room was very clean and spacious and perfect for a family. Breakfast was basic but great for a quick bite to eat before going out for the day.

Although being close to San Diego would have been nice, the proximity to the border made the stay unique and very handy for a little trip to Mexico for dinner in Tijuana.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank WhoSaidGetOffTheBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality S, Manager at Quality Suites Otay Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team was able to meet all your needs. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Diego.
Be well,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 77 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is very, very clean and staff are very friendly. The prices is very reasonable for the room we got. We reserved a room for three people. My son decided to go. When we got to the hotel they were able to accommodate us with an extra bed. The only bad thing is that is about 20 miles south of downtown San Diego, our destination. So if you don't mind the drive to the beaches or amusement parks this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecrazies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

VERY CLEAN !!! I highly recommend for anybody thats going on vacation , going across the border or just simply wana get away, the staff there are great very friendly Breakfast its delicious its also very quiet which was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinadalberto_664_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality S, Manager at Quality Suites Otay Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us! We consider our staff to be our greatest asset and they love to be recognized! We pride ourselves on our welcoming and friendly staff and thank you again for recognizing them. We hope to see you next time you are in San Diego.
Take Care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

im so happy and satisfied with the service and everything from this hotel.the manager is great.I felt very welcomed here and im so happy that there is a clean gym and a wonderful pool.In the mornings you get wonderful breakfast.there is waffles,bagels,orange juice,apple juice,eggs and toast and more.its so good.The room is wonderful. im in love with the bed.It is absolutely clean.I will be coming here more often.I live in los angeles and when i come to San Diego.I will definetly be staying here.You also get different discounts for restaurants.I cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: The rooms are great.I check many of them before I got one.I recommend them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality S, Front Office Manager at Quality Suites Otay Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. I have shared your comments with our staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. These kind of comments are what keeps our staff striving to give better & better service to our guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be an even better experience.


Sincerely,

Mr. ID

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

i had the best time here mostly due to the wonderful staff, everyone was so professional and courteous. Luis the night attendant was the most wonderful person you could ask for. helpful and considerate and extremely professional, i will refer my friends here. the rooms are immaculant and there are pleny of towels and soap, the tv is huge and great. very quiet and the best part no smoking. i enjoyed my stay here and will definitely come back joan from san diego and roasarito and nebraska the breakfast is very good and the wi fi system is great, no complaints at all only praises joan

Room Tip: see above description
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishwar R, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Suites Otay Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Joan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ishwar D. Rathod
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
(619) 661-1966

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Let me begin by saying how friendly and helpful the staff of this hotel are. Everyone puts their best foot forward to assist and make guests comfortable. This attitude is exemplified by the manager, Mr. ID, who does his best to ensure the well-being and happiness of his guests. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable, with all the standard amenities, including internet with a very strong wifi signal. The free breakfast was always well-stocked and delicious and included a make-your-own waffle station! The hotel itself is located just a very short walk from the Otay Mesa border crossing, as well as several shopping plazas, and seemingly every fast food joint you could possibly want. Great service, friendly staff, comfortable and great value!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishwar R, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Suites Otay Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ishwar D. Rathod
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
(619) 661-1966

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a small group and the hotel was so helpful in getting us settled and providing the resources we needed. The staff is extremely friendly and hospitable. The circumstances were somewhat unusual but the staff, especially the manager Mr. ID were so accommodating. Everyone - front desk, maids, even the maintenance man was so friendly.

GOOD WORK and SERVICE!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Americana Inn
#108 of 278 in San Diego
325 reviews
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#186 of 278 in San Diego
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#162 of 278 in San Diego
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Otay Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Otay Mesa

Address: 2351 Otay Center Dr, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Comfort Suites Otay Mesa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Otay Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get more for your money at the Quality Suites San Diego Otay Mesa hotel in San Diego, CA near Maquiladoras and Cross Border Xpress to Tijuana Airport. This smoke-free hotel is close to Las Americas Premium Outlets, Aquatica San Diego, SeaWorld's Water Park and Sleep Train Amphitheatre. Enjoy amenities like free hot breakfast, free WiFi, free weekday newspaper, fitness center and swimming pool facilities. Rooms include a flat-screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer and coffee maker. Also, earn rewards including free nights and gift cards with our Choice Privileges Rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Otay Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Otay Mesa Hotel San Diego
Comfort Suites San Diego
San Diego Comfort Suites
Otay Mesa Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing