We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #154 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Spacious, clean and newly remodeled rooms. Great staff that were extremely helpful and friendly. Bar/restaurant had good food and a cool band. Grounds were manicured and pool was clean. Will return again with family.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Watermom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments, I will be sure to pass them along to the staff! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, Proud Mary’s Southern Bar and Grill has become a staple in the community, known for its Fried Chicken and offering happy hour 7 days a week.
Again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 808 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

room was clean everyday, A/C wasn't too noisy, didn't hear any of the other guests. We didn't eat at the restaurant because it looked pretty pricey and we could eat around there for less. Overall was a good experience, we will stay again if we are visiting that area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you Michael, we look forward to seeing you again in the future stays here in Sunny San Diego.

Again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our group occupied four rooms over 6/26 – 6/28. One of those was an accessible room. Prior to arriving, I called several times to really get the feel of the accessible room in order to determine what extra equipment I needed to travel with from home. The gal at the front desk seemed to be really bothered by my questions – even though she could not answer them. She read the words they had on the website and told me to take a look myself. She assured me that our room had a shower and a tub. We needed a shower. Impossible for my mother to get in a tub. I asked if the toilet was raised. She said yes. So, the accessible room consisted of : a pocket door to the bathroom and three grab bars. You cannot get a wheelchair into the bathroom. There was no shower. The toilet was not raised, however, the lid was on two inch stilts if that makes sense. There was only a sliver of space to maneuver the wheelchair between the beds and the dresser. Please be aware before booking this hotel if you need accessibility. Next, they have a thief amongst the staff. We checked out of one room and left to go out to breakfast. We called within an hour of leaving to say that we had left a beloved special bracelet in that room. They did not find it they said. Trust me, we know it was positively left in the room. When we got back, we talked to the manager, housekeeping department, etc. We even spoke with the gal that cleaned the room. She mentioned that the beds were stripped before she arrived. We never got a chance to speak with that person. When I called yesterday to check on the process of locating the bracelet, I was told they did not have it. I told them they had a thief working for them. Their response: Call the police if you think that. What I think they should do is seriously question the folks that were in that room just after we checked out of that room. Instead of calling the police, I think that posting here is a more effective route to take. So, beware.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding our accessible rooms. They provide valuable insight on how we can improve our room and additional information we need to provide to our front desk staff. We are always trying to improve our guest experience for our special needs guests. As for the lost bracelet, we have safes in every guestroom and we suggest that all our guests use them to secure their valuables, sadly often times’ thinks are misplaced or lost when linens are striped and all the towels are removed for washing. You would be surprised at the amount of items that are left in hotel rooms on a daily basis, we do try to return as many items as is possible but sadly your bracelet was not one of those items.

Again thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

...but could use little more supplies. The receptionist asked if we needed extra blankets when she inquired about children, and we clearly said yes. Nothing came of such kindness. Stayed here with my family for 4 nights for a sport tournament nearby. The paper in the shower room ran out on 3rd day, and unfortunately it was at 3:30 am in the morning. I ran to the lobby only to be greeted with a sign, "Will be back in 15 minutes." I waited on the bench and then checked later again to no avail, and had to drive to a local 7-eleven to buy some. The towels in the pool also ran out very quickly, but that's wasn't a big deal since our room was close by. The room was very clean and the staff was kind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us Michael. I have shown your comments to my housekeeping department and asked that they keep a closer eye on guestroom supplies during extended stays. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This location was off the beating path a bit but it worked out well for our groups needs. It was centrally located amongst all of our playing locations, it was very close to the freeway, and only 15 minutes from the beach and other tourist destinations. We worked exclusively with Mary Holladay and Ana Blazak to coordinate all aspects of our event. That ensured that everything we needed was taken care of in a timely manner. We occupied a great majority of their property during one of the their busiest seasons and they still managed to accommodate our group with ease. Despite being booked to the max, and sold out they were able to allow some of our group that arrived early to check in. That was a huge help and made the start of our trip very pleasant for some.

The rooms are larger then most other properties we have tried in the past and all of sinks, toilets, and showers worked. No slow draining sinks, or cold showers. They also have a few laundry facilities, which are a must for a group of youth athletes that are competing and vacationing all at once. The pool was large enough to accommodate the kids during the day, and the seating area near the pool kept the adults entertained enough. Plus the staff kept the area equipped with plenty of towels for drying.

We booked our teams annual banquet here as well. There was plenty of seating, the projector could be viewed from all angels and the speaker system actually worked. The food was way better then any of us expected for banquet food. Everyone left full, happy, and entertained. The staff that worked out banquet did a fantastic job overall.

The only minor complaints we had from our group were the pool closing at 10 p.m, the occasional rogue vending machine, and some minor confusion on check-in and check-out dates for the group. But overall it was a great experience. Thank you again Ana and Mary you two were great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Is that you Dad? But seriously thank you and we are happy to hear that we were able to host your team and that your group was pleased with everything from the Sales Managers through the food and Banquet Staff!
Again thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Friendly staff and great location. It is within walking distance to most of the city attractions. Staff is very knowledgeable about transport and all the tourist stuff. The rooms are convenient and a good choice for business and tourist purposes. The hotel is looking after the environment and have many initiatives for a more "greener" environment. It is has a historic charm and the 2 lifts dated back about 100 years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hummingbird663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly and our location worked for your needs. Thank you for noticing that we are doing our part and working toward keeping our environmental foot print as small as possible.
Again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Only complaint is the shower head is up so high and no adjustment. The water pressure is not strong so it is difficult to rinse the lower portion of your body and rinse long hair if you wash it. Otherwise service and cleanliness was very good and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with the new shower heads being low flow but as I am sure you can understand with Southern California in the midst of the worst drought in its history we here at the Ramada San Diego are doing everything we can to conserve water.
Again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada San Diego Airport
#145 of 278 in San Diego
1,401 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5550 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center Qualcomm Stadium Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn Qualcomm Stadium
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing