We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, so-so location, clean room w/microwave and...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #161 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    268
    194
    79
    77
See reviews for
298
136
50
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with the decor of both of the rooms during my two stays which were about 30 days apart. After my first stay, I was very happy with the price and accomodations so returned a second time. Updated decor, nice beds/linens, good layout, lots of easy access outlets, nice clean looking pool, easy access to freeway (the 163), refridgerator and good wi-fi. I did not eat at the restaurant. several fast food establishments and I noticed several restaurants on the main street that look busy. I was usually eating near my training location so not at the nearby restaurants. I would stay here again. Less than 15 minute drive to SeaWorld area, without rush hour traffic, easy access to the 15, and 8 freeways. I will say when I drove up the first time, I was a little worried about my selection of hotel (looked older) but the rooms were very comfortable and updated.

Room Tip: 2nd visit I was right above pool and was worried about the possible noise from the pool in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhansencmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your repeat stay with us. Not only is our hotel a great place for business travelers, we are a favorite for vacationers as well as we are centrally located with It is within 15 minutes of all that San Diego has to offer, including Sea World, San Diego Zoo, San Diego International Airport, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego’s Gaslamp District, Historic Old Town and of course San Diego’s beautiful beaches as well.

Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

When we checked in around 5pm on Saturday the 17th, the front desk lady was extremely RUDE. She did not greet us or acknowledge us. She looked up and looked back down on her computer as though she didn't see us. I stood there for a good 3 minutes waiting for her to call me to the counter, but no answer. We were all very tired from an 8 hour car ride so I walked up and asked if she was ready for us. She just said, "Yea." Even after she checked me in, there were no thank you or any kind of greeting. It was very unwelcoming.
The internet was very slow. This place is truly like a motel setting. The room smelled weird.
On the last night, they didnt clean our room, not even replaced any towels. When we came back to our hotel, we notice the "Do not disturb" sign on our door. We never put the sign there because we wanted housekeeper to change our sheets and replace the towels. so we figured that housekeeper was being LAZY and put the sign there so they didnt have to clean. When we checked out the next day, the same lady helped me and was still RUDE. If she hated her job that bad, she needs to find another job. The only thing good about the place is that the location was very convenient. It was close by a lot of good foods and not too far from SeaWorld or the Zoo.
Overall, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE. I BET MOTEL 6 WOULD GIVE YOU BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelloitsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
First I would like to thank you for your time in posting your review. I would also like to apologize for your less than positive experience here at the Ramada San Diego. It is comments like yours that will help us understand what we need to know to do a better job in the future.
We had a Front Office meeting and we spoke about your stay and we all agreed that we will redouble our efforts to always be focused on hospitality and a positive demeanor with all our guests.
Again we thank you for your comments. If you would like to discuss this further with me directly please feel free to contact me, Charlie Holladay, General Manager, (858) 278-0800 or via email at charlie@ramadasandiego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

In our top 2 (out of 4 hotels) in this California trip.

Well located, quiet, staff very friendly. Fairly good quality/price ratio. We would recommend for anyone (as long as you have a car - Typically 10-15 minutes from all major locations (zoo, Sea World, beach), and some nice restaurants in the surroundings. Spa and pool very appreciated at the end of our trip and after long days on the beach (...).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, General Manager at Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our oversized pool area.
Again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Residence Inn San Diego Central
#103 of 279 in San Diego
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#138 of 279 in San Diego
1,334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
13.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5550 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center Qualcomm Stadium Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn Qualcomm Stadium
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing