We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #161 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Fresno, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fair value for the price”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

There's nothing special about this Ramada, but there's also not much to complain about as long as you keep your expectations in check. It's an older hotel with exterior rooms, but the price is right and you'll get free parking and WiFi, which is no small thing in San Diego. No breakfast, but you're also paying less than you probably would at other hotels nearby.

Front desk was helpful and able to get us checked in early, and we didn't have any problems during our stay. Great location (close to 163 freeway) is a big plus. As long as you're not expecting a newer Ramada (or even an older Sheraton), you'll be content here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56waldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    272
    199
    79
    79
See reviews for
307
138
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carroll Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Visited San Diego for Comic-Con this summer and snagged this hotel for a decent price on an opaque booking site. For the price we paid, this hotel was fantastic. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the refrigerator, microwave, and wi-fi were all nice additions. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The biggest downside to this hotel was its location. Although it is very close to several major highways, it is a solid 7 miles from downtown San Diego, and a bit of a drive to the Qualcomm trolley (we expected this and factored it into our trip). The lack of restaurants within walking distance means this hotel is definitely for someone driving in or renting a car. It is, however, a central location between San Diego and attractions in La Jolla and Torrey Pines. Some reviews have mentioned the aircraft from MCAS Miramar. The hotel is definitely close to Miramar, and we did see several military craft fly over the hotel. With that said, the planes never woke us from our sleep, and I would not hesitate to return. To sum up, this hotel was a fantastic value find for us, and would be a great stay again in the future. However, if you are looking to be in the heart of downtown, this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: This is a motel setup, so I always recommend a non-ground floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grvdggr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The room was very roomy and was clean, actually to clean the smell of the products they used were a little over barring for me that i had to open the door to air the room out before getting comfortable. The hotel was nice, quiet & customer service was excellent. I was a little bummed by them not porviding breakfast, but they did have a restaruant on site, that i did not eat at. I would stay here again if i ever wander back to San Diego!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel was clean, convenient and has nice location with quick access to I-805 and Hwy 163. Staff were friendly. I stayed there for a week while on a business trip. Only issue was one night (out of five I spent there) when the fighter jets from MCAS Miramar kept flying until midnight and I was not able to sleep. I guess it's the sound of Freedom, so no complaint here...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler0123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here with my family and I had no real complaints. I did like the frig and the microwave and the free Wi-Fi. My kids used the pool and jacuzzi everyday and really liked the two. There were a nice mix of people out there and they had no problem finding others to play with.

The location was great in that it was off a main road and it was easy to get to places in town (with some driving, yes, but nothing that bad). My only real issue with the area is that there is nothing but chain places out there so there weren't any great options if you wanted to eat out.

The staff was friendly and helpful (although I didn't really meet with anyone other than check in/out). I didn't eat there so I can't say anything about the meal.

I'd stay again especially if the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently stayed here for business trip to San Diego. It was very well-priced - about $60 per night - and was clean. Plenty of parking right in front of my room any time of the day. Quiet, was able to get work done during the day and at night. Sat at the pool with my laptop, which was a nice treat. Room had a fridge, which was a nice bonus. Staff were very friendly. When I first came in, I was visibly stressed and tired from a long trip east to west. The person at the desk greeted me warmly, which was such a nice welcome. Also, the motel is centrally located so it made it very easy for me to get to business meetings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoannaLovesBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Advantages:
- Free parking
- Excellent rooms with modern decor
- Large flatscreen TV
- Fridge and microwave
- Great pool and jacuzzi
- It is a business hotel so it was very quiet all day / night

Disadvantages:
- No breakfast
- You will need a car as it is far from most sites

Would I return? Yes, if I had a car.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed nice. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhillyFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego
5.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Residence Inn San Diego Central
#103 of 278 in San Diego
353 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#137 of 278 in San Diego
1,346 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 5550 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center Qualcomm Stadium Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn Qualcomm Stadium
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing