We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Slice of the 1960's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #153 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed April 20, 2011

As I entered the lobby to check-in, I noticed enlarged full-color retro photos of a 1960's style motel on the wall. A cute accent, I thought, but after observing more of them in the restaurant, I realized they were of this very motel! The owners and management have preserved this property well, changing little of its mid-century modern architecture, while tastefully updating the guest rooms. In fact, the most striking difference from the photos is the guest composition -- a wee bit more diverse in 2011 than 50 years prior!

I enjoyed the central courtyard with a pool large by today's standard (8.5 feet deep) and found the breakfast restaurant a welcome change from the normal continental breakfast lobby. As others have pointed out, breakfast is not "free" here; instead, $6.95 will win you an omelet prepared as you wish along with fresh fruit, bacon, hash browns, juice, and a decent selection of cereals and cold items. Best of all, there is no lack of seating or a room full of bleary-eyed guests in night shirts and sweats.

The quintessential motor inns of a few decades past are rapidly succumbing to the nondescript boxy structures of today, where parking lots and wifi take the place of flower-filled motel courtyards. For a refreshing taste of yesteryear in a quiet, commercial location, give this one a try.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 813 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

A pleasantly updated clean room with microwave and refrigerator, very comfortable bed, and a great location that allowed getting to any destination fast and easy, made this an ideal fit for my vacation plans. Ample parking, lovely pool, and on site restaurant were additional welcome amenities. Would be delighted to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASW-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

great location! Friendly staff. Remodeled but the rooms had a slight old smell, Nice rooms with comfy beds. Lots of pillows, the bathrooms did not match the room; however, they were very clean.Definatley would stay there again.
Very quiet area

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latinavlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Right off freeway 163, centric. We didn't try the restaurant even though they gave us a 40% discount voucher, free internet. When we got there, we were a little disappointed about the building structure, 2 floor with door rooms facing the parking lot, motel look, but clean and well maintained, also has a nice outdoor pool located in the center of the building. A soon as we enter the room, we changed our minds, room looked great, upgraded and very comfortable, well decorated and spacious.Good service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larusaphilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed here originally to save some money for two nights before we headed out on a cruise. I was very surprised at the quality of everything for the price. We paid $55 per night and got a room on the courtyard side (booked through Priceline). Our room was very clean and updated, looked like a room at one of the nicer Marriots. The bed was comfy and the room was big. We had a new flat screen in our room but our friends who stayed on the street side had an updated room but an older tv. Not really a big deal. The pool area was nice with some tables and chairs around. We received a free drink voucher from the lounge and had drinks there both nights before we went out on the town. We were surprised at the price of beverages compared to home (Alaska), they were a really good value! Ryan, the bartender chatted with us quite a bit both nights so we had a good time despite the emptyness of the bar.

We didn't eat at the hotel and didn't even realize they had breakfast in the restaurant until we were checking out. We ate at Coco's up the road both mornings.

The location is very good too. Straight down the highway from downtown San Diego and very accessible to everywhere else in town. If you're wanting to save a little money stay here :-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaTravels907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Our company has put out of town guests into this hotel and they always say their experience is great - they are very happy with everything about the hotel.

Excellent location for working in/near UTC or Kearny Mesa areas. Central to everything, yet away from crowds. Mostly quiet except when Miramar jets are practicing -- which is actually fun to watch.

However, I think the management and/or front desk staff need to wake up and join their competitors regarding room rate "matching policy." Every time I reserve, the rate quoted by hotel is significantly higher than the rate for same room on hotels.com. Every time, I call the hotel and ask them to match the hotels.com rate. Every time, they refuse. Come on! Most other hotels in San Diego will match rates if you call the property, so not sure why this one property is so stubborn and difficult to work with. For this reason alone, I could only give a rating of "3."

Just checked hotels.com and this hotel's internet booking site ... both are same price. I am glad the rate discrepancy has been fixed, and I am upgrading this rating.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Great for Comic con, it's 10 min.drive away from Qualcom. My 10 year old & I had a decent stay. Listen, it's a 2 star hotel, so don't expect much, but it's clean, with no bugs. There are no interior corridors so all the rooms open to an exterior non secured walkway. Not much in the way of food close by, ya gotta drive 10 or so mins.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adapaoferidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
5.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
4.2 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5550 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $78 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center Qualcomm Stadium Hotel San Diego
Ramada Inn Qualcomm Stadium
Ramada Inn San Diego
Ramada San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing