We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vibe...good locale.....great staff”
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #72 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oklahoma CIty
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cool vibe...good locale.....great staff”
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Was in town for seminar at Westin and it was sold out. Booked this for location and was extremely pleased. It was $90 cheaper than Westin's group rate and it is only about 300 yrds away. I booked the standard king room for 127/night. The room was in good shape and modern. There was a coffee pot with Seattle's best coffee. The soaps and bath products were natural and of good quality and replaced daily.

Room was clean with black marble countertops and good water pressure. the minibar was one where you could place your own stuff in it. Bar did happy hour daily with 1/2 off appetizers. The app I had was fantastic and Debbie in the bar was great. (bar closes at ten though)Check in with Derek was easy and they honored my request for quiet room by placing me on backside of hotel. Five pillows on king bed and bed was comfortable. One light had a built in ipod dock and speaker.

Elevators were quick and there was a bowl of green apples available at the desk for free. The hotel is across from the bus station but never felt unsafe or saw any issues. There are several nice hotels in this area and seemed policed quite well. High speed internet in room worked well and without issue. Also, there is an in room safe large enough for laptops.

The only thing missing was the lack of paper cups to take coffee to go when I was walking to the seminar. The rooms had glass coffee cups. However, when checking out, the clerk asked if there was any one recommendation I could make to improve their service. she actually wrote my suggestion and said it was a good one. She may have been making me feel good but the point was that this hotel seems to care about how to improve its service and actually asked the question.

The room could be a five star room but the hotel lacks the amenities of a five star hotel (concierge, spa, full business center) but doesn't have a five star price so all is good. There wasn't a pool and no business center but there are computers with printers in the lobby.

I was very happy with my stay and would definately stay here again.......especially at this price point as it is one of the best values around.

Other points. Hotel is at the (North?) edge of the gaslamp district and can be a little bit of a hike to petco or some of the places down towards Market. There is a Panera Bread, 7/11, wendys, Pizza Hut, sushi, quiznos within 1 block. Starbucks is about 2 blocks near the mall. There is valet parking and it was in the high 20's per night but was the standard for the area. Also...if going to seminar at Westin....would definately stay here versus Westin considering price and service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okcJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    443
    117
    48
    40
See reviews for
169
421
73
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The Bristol is a small boutique hotel downtown San Diego, very conveniently located. Staff are super-friendly,. Rooms and beds are very comfortable, Hotel is quiet, lovely atmosphere and the welcome at the front desk is warm. Valet parking staff are friendly, courteous and prompt. Restaurant is bright and cheerful, food is good, fresh daisies on each table.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed here for several nights in January while attending a conference. Our first room was a little disappointing: kind of small, sink was cracked, water was not hot, bed was too soft. We asked for another room after the first night and got an upgrade to a much larger, and nicer, room. The room was clean, quiet and comfy. The staff are friendly and helpful. You can store stuff in the minibar (unlike some hotels where you pay a fee if you even open the minibar) and the wireless is free. The hotel is right across from the bus station, as others have mentioned, but we found it very quiet. The exception was the Sat. night when things got pretty loud in the alley behind the hotel. I think this is just the reality of the Gaslamp district. The only negative thing I would say is that the fitness center is very small and minimally equipped. Overall, great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirage2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Chic, charming hotel with friendly welcoming staff. The location is central and safe, close to the Gaslamp and Horton Plaza. The rates are fairly reasonable..less than $120 for a 4 star hotel. For once, I cannot fault this hotel at all. The staff at reception, particularly, a guy called Ahmad, were absolutely great with their friendly service and helpful directions and tips. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for any stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed just one night for New Years Eve with some close friends. Upon arrival the vallet, the bellman, the front desk attendants...evryone was so friendly and inviting! The hotel is in a great location...walking distance to so many restaurants, bars, and the gaslamp district! We decided the decor is...modern chic. Nothing too fancy, but very nice and CLEAN. The lobby was great too, they even had a piano that they welcomed people to play...people were hanging out in the lobby till the wee hours of the morning. It was nice that that was allowed and encouraged, not stiffling at all. In the end, it was a very quick trip but we all had a GREAT time here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4fulfillment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My wife, my daughter, and myself stayed here for a conference and were very pleased. Very accommodating staff, updated and comfortable rooms, and easy access to public transportation. Would highly recommend to anyone traveling to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcspiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband & I just moved to San Diego and needed a hotel for a few days while our apartment was getting ready. We wanted to stay downtown. This hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Our floor was pet friendly, which was perfect & the main reason we stayed here. No pet fees! Everyone we met: front desk, housekeeping, valet, servers were VERY nice and genuinely friendly and helpful. Our room was a king and HUGE. Very well decorated, modern & chic. We had huge bay windows. Comfortable bed with tons of pillows & luxury linens. The bathroom had a giant tub with a seat and a rounded shower curtain which was extra roomy. Our last night, we went to the bar in the lobby. We didn't even know it was there! It's hidden. I do wish the from desk had mentioned it because it's a gem! Amazing happy hour prices on martinis & appetizers. The portions are so big on the apps that we didn't need dinner! And Kevin our bartender was top notch. Even though we won't be staying at the hotel anymore, our apartment is in the neighborhood & I will definitely come back for the bar. *On a side note, anywhere downtown is noisy this is no exception. We did hear lots of street noise & the bus station is across the street. Didn't bother us one bit, but be ready for it.* Overall, the Bristol is great!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
1,379 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
984 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 278 in San Diego
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel - a Greystone Hotel - is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing