We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #62 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

stayed here for 4 nights last month during 2 week holiday to california. The hotel is very modern and the rooms are nicely decorated with everything you need. We never ate at the hotel but the menu did look very good, used the valet parking service which seemed quite pricey but did exactly what it said it would. There are a lot of homeless near the hotel at night but we never felt threatened at all. The gaslamp area is a few minutes walk and driving out of san diego to get to all the tourist attractions we wanted was very easy as the freeway is close to the hotel. We went to the zoo, seaworld, la jolla, coronado, hillcrest and san diego old town-all worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasvegaskingandqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    433
    113
    46
    37
See reviews for
166
408
72
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

What a smart little hotel. We booked based on reviews here at TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. It is a nicely remodeled old building, with lots of charm along with crisp modern decor exactly like the pictures on the website.

We had the largest room, a Deluxe King, for about $125/night including taxes, and it was both bigger and cheaper than anything we'd find in the nearby chain hotels. It was nicely spacious and good for a five-night stay.

The service is efficient and friendly. The hotel doesn’t boast a lot of services but everything is quite charming and easygoing.

The location is fine but definitely downtown, with some eclectic and shabbily-dressed folks hanging around thanks to the Greyhound station and nearby city bus stop. They mind their own business; in five days, only one person asked us for money. We found it perfectly safe, and frankly thought it made the area far more interesting.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

I found a great rate at this hotel, almost too good to be true, so I wasn't expecting much from the Bristol. It was quite a surprise.
The staff was always friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless. The beds were comfortable-soft sheets and feather pillows with down comforters. The towels were fluffy and soft. The hotel was really close to a bus transfer point, so you could easily reach anywhere in the city. It was also close to the Gas Lamp district, which made going out at night easy.
There were a few downsides. It is right next to the greyhound station, so you have some questionable people wandering around at all hours. There was also a fire station right down the street, so there was some siren noise. I didn't notice it waking me up at night, but a light sleeper might.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ACWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

stayed for one night before attending an event in Balboa Park. convenient location in walking distance to mall and other downtown stores/restaurants. parking on-site. fun, modern art.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank ivydturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed with friends whose room was on the 8th floor under the ballroom. Dancing and loud music until late above their heads. The kids at the party were then given rooms on the 8th floor with them. Turned out to be a miserable night especially when the front desk was helpless to fix it. The management should not have put people, other than the partygoers on that end of the 8th floor. Meanwhile I was sleeping great at the other end of the 7th floor.
Lot's of transients and homeless around the building. Across from the Greyhound station, but close to the gaslight and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout12563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Bristol Hotel on your most recent visit to San Diego. We appreciate the time it took you to review us.

While we do try to accommodate the guests who are in the ballroom with a room beneath the ballroom (it makes sense and is always our goal to accommodate this way) the night in particular you are referring to was a sold-out night at our hotel, and while we did our best to put the ballroom guests on the 8th floor, rooms that were open and unused by these party guests were sold to the general public.

I am so sorry that your friends on the 8th floor had a loud night. If we can do anything to make your next visit more worthwhile, we would be happy to accommodate. Having San Diego's only retractable roof ballroom does have its difficulties on a busy night, and we appreciate your friend's patience.

Best Wishes and Kind Regards,
Bristol Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Bristol for 5 nights and would highly recommend staying at this affordable hotel. Located just outside of the the Gas Lamp district, the Bristol is within walking distance of several attractions including shopping at Horton Plaza, the Seaport Village, and the convention center, as well as the historical Gas Lamp district with all of its restaurants, bars, and shops. Only shortfall is that the hotel is located near the bus depot where homeless people like to hang out. The staff was excellent, very courteous and knowledgeable. In addition, we bought our 3 month old and the hotel provided us with a crib.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous_traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
240 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

I was down on San Diego for business which I am about every 6 weeks or so and my office put me here - they like to try out new places and know that I'm typically game. While it is not my top choice for places I've stayed around the Gaslight, it is definitely not at the bottom of the list either.

The hotel is completely renovated, but still had a lot of the old charms of the old building that it is - lots of original molding and tons of character. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are remarkably spacious (I wonder if this was a studio apartment building at one point and they just took out the kitchens?) and pretty comfortable. Free wifi is always a plus as well!

The location is a little on the outskirts of the trendy area - you are across from the bus station which I had a commanding view of (as well as heard - didn't realize my window was cracked all night - but once I saw that, I closed it and it was super quiet).

In the morning I used the workout room. It was a bit sparse (or modest as the front desk guy told me the night before) but the treadmill functioned more or less and I got in a decent run.

I also had a chance to have breakfast in their bistro - the Daisy. I had the Parisian omelet as everything else was rather meaty and I don't eat that...it was quite tasty!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing