We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Hotel to your Saves list
Bristol Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1055 First Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great location, comfortable room with great access to transport. We dined in the hotel restaurant one night which was very nice. The hotel offers great discounts for food and drink. A very short walk to all types of public transport and a 7-11 is around the corner to stock your mini bar. Super close to 5th ave to get a great feed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Man00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear MrB_MrsMac,
Thank you for writing a review and I am glad you enjoyed our great location and clean, comfortable accommodations. I was pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of our special 50% discount on select dinner entrees in our restaurant , the First Avenue Bar and Grille and that you liked our location near public transportation and all that downtown San Diego has to offer!

Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your future visits.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had an excellent stay at the Bristol hotel during NAFSA 2014 conference. Very friendly personnel. Spacious rooms with good beds. I wouldn't choose to take the breakfast in the hotel as there many coffee & breakfast establishments in the neighboorhood.

Green Features: You can choose when to have your sheets and towels changed.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tineke1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Tineke1967,
Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel for your accommodations during the NAFSA 2014 Conference and we hope that you will be a returning guest in the future. Our location is perfect for business travelers because we are walking distance to the Convention Center and more. We hope that the next time you stay with us you will try our restaurant, First Avenue Bar and Grille!

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Bristol a couple of times now and will be back again in a month. My experience keeps getting better and better. Great staff and management.
Basically most things you would want in a upscale hotel.
Very friendly yet professional.

Room Tip: Higher floors and corner rooms seem to be the best in more than one way.
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciate the environmentally - friendly practices in this hotel...However they may want to switch to warmer light bulbs vs. the cooler ones.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Pickytraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear 7Pickytraveler7,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was extremely pleased to read that your experience at our hotel has only gotten better with every stay and that you enjoyed our friendly Reception Agents and Management Team.

Please drop me a line and let me know when you will be returning back to our great city, I would be more than happy to assist you with a future reservation.

Assuring you of my desire to be of service at all times.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was quiet impressed with this hotel. It was very clean, modern, stylish, quiet and comfortable. It had an excellent location and it was a short pleasant walk to the harbor and many sit-down restaurants. There was a bar fridge in our room but it wasn't working, we called downstairs and someone brought up a new mini fridge right away. Our intention was to buy food for breakfasts/lunches and put it in the fridge but sadly grocery stores were non-existent (and fast food restaurants were hard to find). I would be nice if the Bristol offered a complementary breakfast, even if it is small like juice, muffins and cereal. Other amenities were also present like an iron, hair dryer, coffee maker and safe. Though we were a little skeptical about the hotel restaurant we ended up going there for dinner one night as it was convenient and guests get 50% off. I ordered the steak and double-baked potato. It was amazing! I would say it was the best meal of the entire trip and it was less than $10. The sundae afterwards was also delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing I really didn't like was the extra $26 a day for valet parking. I wish this could be somehow rolled into the price of the room and not be a surprise at check-in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaosAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear ChaosAngel,
Thank you for a great review! As you mentioned, our rooms are stocked with great amenities including plush robes, slippers, eco-friendly spa products and complimentary Wi-Fi. I apologize for the refrigerator snafu, but I am glad that it was taken care of immediately by our staff. Our restaurant, the First Avenue Bar and Grille, offers some of the best cuisine in San Diego and we're glad you enjoyed our 50% discount on select entrees for guests of the hotel. We also extend a 50% discount on overnight Valet parking if you are driving a Hybrid Vehicle. Our standard parking charge is between $8 to $12 less expensive than surface lots or competing hotels and we have intentionally priced it that way to give our guest the added savings.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting and staying at the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First of all the restaurant looks like something from Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares.. who puts carpeting in a restaurant? So it stinks and the food is subpar. Out of all the great places to eat downtown who would want to eat there? Place is poorly managed and staff looks overworked. The owner of the hotel responding to each and every review is a little creepy and intimidating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tae Ha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Tae Ha P,
Thank you for your observations and comments. The First Avenue Bar and Grille Restaurant receives many compliments regarding the food and service provided and I apologize if your experience was not to your liking. We try our best to satisfy everyone and your comments are being forwarded to our restaurant partner for their review.

I also want to assure you that I respond to many reviews not to be intimidating, but because I want to acknowledge that every review, good or bad, is taken seriously, so that we can continue to provide excellent service for past, current and future guests.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friend and I were on a road trip in California, and of the four hotels we visited, this one was the best. The room was clean, comfortable, and had the necessary amenities including a hair dryer, iron, toiletries, coffee maker, and fridge. We had trouble with the fridge not being cool enough so we called the front desk and a gentleman was up in minutes with a new fridge. The staff were friendly and the hotel is in a great location - just a few minutes from Seaport, the ocean, the gas lamp district, etc. The only thing I would have liked would have been a complementary breakfast, although I understand that breakfast could be purchased at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly_bopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Jilly_bopper,
Road Trip?! That sounds like fun! Thank you for rating the Bristol as the best hotel out of the four that you stayed at and thank you for writing a great review! I am glad you liked our spacious rooms and a number of our complimentary amenities like in-room refrigerators, coffee makers, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryers and more. Our location is great as well and I am glad you were able to take advantage of it during your stay with a visit to Seaport Village, the Gaslamp and more.

Thanks again for including us in your road trip adventure and for your nice review.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a great hotel for our weekend holiday. Located downtown and right around the corner from a trolley stop, getting to wherever you wanted to go was easy. Many of the fun places in San Diego (Seaport Village, bay front, Gaslamp District, Petco Park and Little Italy) were within walking distance. The hotel staff were very courteous and attentive, excellent room service. Our room was spectacular, with a great view of the bay. Excellent hotel for the price and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Though on the street side, the rooms located on the upper floors north end offer views of the bay...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was very impressed with their excellent environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Jeff D,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Bristol Hotel, with a great view of the bay!
As you mentioned, we are walking distance to most of the major downtown attractions, especially those along the waterfront, which includes our popular Seaport Village; Petco Park is nearby as well as Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center and Horton Plaza for shopping. I was happy to read you ordered room service and that you will stay with us again!

Thank you for your complimentary comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#98 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,259 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Address: 1055 First Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing