We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog-friendly elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #68 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This old hotel has been given a sophisticated but warm make-over. You only know how old it is if you go into the stairwells. I stayed two days with my little dog, who was made to feel very welcome. The front desk staff, while nice enough, really needed a bit more training (I called for directions and the woman who answered the phone had to get someone else to help me). While room service was efficient, the on-site eating facility had limited hours.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side on the 4th floor but I didn't hear much noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear MissTBlu,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our pet friendly hotel! We have just hired several new staff members and they are going through rigorous training as we speak. Thank you for your patience while we make this transition.

On behalf of our Bristol team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked 7 rooms for a conference near the convention center, and I think everyone was pleased. The Bristol is an older building which has been upgraded to a small boutique hotel. The lobby and rooms are stylish and comfortable, although one will notice some older features of the building itself. The rooms are super stylish and comfortable. There is a gym, albeit, a very small facility, with treadmill, bike, eliptical, and nautilus weight machine. The location is very convenient to the gaslamp district, convention center, shopping, etc. We walked to our conference. I liked the little details like umbrellas to lend on a rainy day, and suggested jogging routes. One might notice sounds from the light rail which travels behind the building, but the noise did not bother me. I'd say the Bristol is a good value for the area, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Merris W.,
Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel for you accommodations during your conference at the Convention Center. Thank you for mentioning the Bristol Hotel’s great location, just a 10 minute walk to the Convention Center and the Gaslamp Quarter, which is just 3 blocks away. I am so glad you enjoyed your stylish and spacious guestroom, as well as the personal touches like umbrellas, and suggested jogging routes.

Once again thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

En route to a holiday cruise departing from San Diego, we made a weekend stop at The Bristol. We generally stay at much larger hotels, and were pleasantly surprised by every aspect of this smaller boutique beauty. From check-in to departure, and with everything in between, we were impressed by the staff, the comfort of our room, the location (a bit off-the-beaten-path, but close enough to the action) and especially by the general ambiance of the facility. The front desk staff was eager and helpful in solving a baggage problem and with transportation to our next stop. The IT staff went above and beyond in solving an Internet problem for us. Our next visit to San Diego will certainly include The Bristol again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear gillyrich8,
Many thanks for a great review. I will be sure to share it with my team. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the Bristol Hotel’s charm, comfortable and spacious accommodations and ideal location, which is just a few blocks from the Convention Center, Gaslamp Quarter, and waterfront/cruise ship terminals. We are perfectly situated to all of the sights and sounds of downtown San Diego.

As you had mentioned, our Reception Staff is eager to assist our guests in any way they can and they can also give you great suggestions for restaurants in the immediate area as well as tips for sightseeing and current attractions.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a very wonderful stay at The Bristol. The hotel is beautiful with a wonderful location. Horton plaza is just a short walk away. We stayed in room 716. The room was clean and the decor was modern, but most importantly the beds and pillows were so comfy. The hotel provides complementary ear plugs but we never needed to use them. We stayed for a great price and you can't beat free wifi!!! The staff and valet were so friendly and the restaurant in the lobby was delicious. I recommend the flat iron steak, which also happens to be 50% off for hotel guests. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank grisbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Grisbella,
I was very pleased that you enjoyed the Bristol Hotel and that you had a comfortable stay in room 716! I greatly appreciate you mentioning many of the wonderful aspects of the Bristol Hotel including our great rates, our centralized location within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter and the Convention Center, our delicious food and 50% discount for guests on select dinner entrees, complimentary Wi-Fi and our amazing staff - what more can I ask for? Thank you!

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wanted to stay near the Gaslamp but not directly in it due to the late night noise. Was a five minute walk or less into the heart of the Gaslamp so it worked out great. Smallish hotel but very nice lobby and extremely nice folks at the front desk. Got to the room and was very pleasantly surprised with the "chic" decor; the room furnishings were very cool (unlike your standard Hilton or Marriott). Bed was quite comfy as were the pillows. Hotel seemed relatively quiet as we didn't hear any neighbors or much noise from the hallway. Just a very nice place. FYI, valet parking is $26 a night but that's par for the course in any downtown area.

Didn't have time to check out the lobby bar/restaurant, so no comment there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear SDFunSun,
Thank you for a great review; it is greatly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed our downtown San Diego location within walking distance to the Gaslamp and many other sighs such as PetCo Park and Seaport Village. Thank you for mentioning our chic décor, quiet accommodations and friendly staff. As you noted, our Valet Garage is moderately priced and we intentionally price ourselves between $8-$12 less than the surrounding hotels and surface parking lots. We also offer a 50% discount on overnight parking when driving a Hybrid Vehicle.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting our hotel and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Bristol Hotel is my "go to", home away from home, when traveling to San Diego. I have enjoyed the hospitality of this boutique hotel many times. It is a great location and as a woman sometimes traveling alone I feel very safe. The staff is always very accommodating and friendly. My one negative comment is that I sometimes find the water drains slowly in the shower. This is easily fixed by removing the plug, which the ever efficient housekeeping staff always seems to put back into place when left on the side of the tub. Very good all around value.

Room Tip: If you want less noise, ask for higher up or away from the 1st Avenue side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicvegas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Vicvegas2014,
Thank you for making the Bristol your "go to" hotel when staying in San Diego. This is greatly appreciated, thank you for your loyalty! I will share your review with our staff and they will be pleased to read that you had acknowledged their friendliness and accommodating demeanor as well as our excellent housekeeping staff who not only does a great job in keeping your room spotless, they also look after your shower drain plug, returning it back in place when removed.

As you mention, the Bristol Hotel offers excellent value, safe and comfortable accommodations in a great location, just steps from the convention center, Petco Park, the waterfront, Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, once again a big thank you and we look forward to your return visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

First of all, loved the hotel but the staff was amazing! Efficient and friendly, from the valet to the front desk. We rolled in at 6:30 in the morning and were granted the earliest early check in ever. Helped make our day go smoothly to get out bags up in the room!! Thanks very much....
The rooms at the Bristol are budget boutique. Cool black and white style. We has the king sized room which had a lot of space, comfortable bed/pillows. The bathroom includes a robe and slippers, but the shampoo etc is not the best quality but works if you didn't bring your own. I did notice some staining on the walls of the bathroom / desk area but the room was in good clean, working order overall.
It is about a half mile walk to the gaslamp, so excellent location. There is some street noise due to downtown location, but the hotel kindly provides earplugs in the event you need to block out the noise. A bar and restaurant are located downstairs. Didn't eat but did get a drink with a coupon voucher, another perk. Overall, highly recommend the bristol for value ( get the parking package if you have a car- the valet was always speedy to get our car out), location and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colorado626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Colorado626,
Thank you for a great review and I was pleased that you enjoyed your “early check-in!" Besides our friendly and accommodating service, when we can, we will also extend late checkouts so that your pleasant stay is not cut short! We aim to please at the Bristol Hotel.

Thank you for mentioning our clean and spacious rooms and comfortable bedding. We are pleased you enjoyed our recently upgraded room decor as well as our many amenities including robes, slippers, eco-friendly bath products, coffee makes, in-room safes and fully stocked, reasonably priced mini-bars.

As you mentioned, the Bristol’s location is a 5 minute walk to the Gaslamp Quarter and an easy stroll to the Convention Center, Petco Park and the waterfront. Besides a great location, we also offer value, from our 50% discount for guests on select dinner entrees at our onsite restaurant to 50% off overnight parking for guests with Hybrid vehicles. Thank you for your acknowledgment!

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
1,427 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#62 of 279 in San Diego
693 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $121 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel located near San Diego's Gaslamp District and features a variety of amenities for business or leisure travellers. The hotel is a San Diego events and bridal shower venue and also offers meeting space, modern pet-friendly guest rooms, an on-site lounge, fitness center and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing