We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

After doing a lot of research we picked the Bristol as our hotel for our 5 night stay during Christmas week. I had booked a private room with private bath at a downtown hostel months in advance, but as December approached (which can be low season for certain cities) hotel prices started to go down, so I booked a hotel instead, also downtown. About a week later and approximately 2 weeks before our trip, I found a great rate on the Bristol’s web site which included parking, so I switched it. Parking comes at a premium downtown San Diego, which is no different than any other big city.

This hotel has an excellent location downtown San Diego and just blocks away from the Gaslamp District, where all the actions happens. I read other reviews where guests thought it was a bit too noisy, but we only heard a truck here and there, after all whenever you stay downtown at any big city in the world, it’s very hard not to hear any street noise. I had requested a room in a quiet area.
The staff was friendly, especially one particular guy at the valet parking, I wish that I could remember his name, he was extremely nice and we made sure to tip him every time!

Free wi-fi but no breakfast was included, but they have a restaurant connected to the hotel.

The room and bathroom looked exactly like the pictures they have on their web site, except that they were a bit smaller, well I know that they usually “enhance” their own pictures, but overall, it was an ok size and the beds were comfortable, we were in room #705. There was a mini-bar in the room and upon check-in we were told that we could remove the items in it (they weren’t time sensed) and use it as a mini-fridge, which was great.

I’d stay at this hotel again if the price is right (there are a lot of options downtown San Diego) and recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VVegas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear VVegas76,
Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel for your 5-night stay during the Christmas Holiday! As you mentioned, we offer a good value, a great location and friendly employees. Thank you so much for this acknowledgement. I also hope you were able to take advantage of our free WiFi and although we do not have complimentary breakfast, many entrees are offered at 50% off for guests at our on-site restaurant.

Thank you for your comments and for staying at the Bristol Hotel, our team looks forward to your future visits.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    433
    112
    45
    37
See reviews for
166
407
72
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Bristol for two nights and brought our dog (80 lbs). The hotel does not charge extra for dogs but we did have to sign a pet policy (waiver) which is fair. We were so happy with the hotel. It has been beautifully re-furbished. The room was clean and very eco-friendly. The staff were very nice to our dog and took the time to greet us every time we entered the hotel. Our dog is very quiet so we do like to bring him along when we can. The location of the hotel is excellent - easy walking to the GasLamp district and many good restaurants. We drive a hybrid so the parking (at half price) was not expensive especially considering what it is at surrounding hotels in the downtown area. The price for the hotel was a good value. We will definitely stay at this hotel again if in San Diego.

Green Features: We noticed the use of re-cycled plastic in the toiletries and laundry practices - excellent!
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear kardex2dog,
Thank you for mentioning that we are a Pet Friendly Hotel and that we do not charge for pets- I am glad to hear that you and your dog had a great stay! We love pets and our friendly Reception Agents will give directions to the nearest parks and points of interest. As you mentioned, we are walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, the waterfront, the Convention Center, Horton Plaza for shopping and Petco Park- the perfect home base in San Diego for you and Fido. I also appreciate your mention of our discount parking for hybrid vehicles and am pleased you were able to take advantage of it!

Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Bristol was entirely satisfactory for our post-Christmas holiday. Location downtown was
not in the middle of anything but easy walking distance to Gaslamp, shopping, government
buildings, Convention Center as well as trolley and buses to everywhere. Room was large,
everything worked and was clean, front desk very helpful. It's an old hotel that has been
refurbished (successfully) and appropriate for business or pleasure travelers.
They DO accept dogs, and the little yapper next door to us was the only problem with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ljc3003,
I apologize for that little “yapper”! We are a Pet Friendly Hotel, and had we been aware of this, we would have certainly asked your neighbor to help quiet things down. Thank you for mentioning our excellent location! As you pointed out we are walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, the waterfront, the Convention Center, Petco Park, and much more. The Trolley and Bus nearby can also take you to these points of interest. The Bus can take you to the airport and the Trolley can take you south all the way to the Mexico border. I am so pleased you liked our well- appointed guest rooms , as well as our helpful front-desk staff.

On Behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

when i arrived there i was told there was no self parking, i told them i have my things all over the car and i like to have access to my car anytime, i was told that i can park it outside if i don't want to use the valet, i asked where? he told me i don't know just out side, so i was forced to hand them the keys after i collected my things, was a little upset when i was checking in and mentioned it to the receptionist, who apologized for not having a self parking and then added "but the valet is free anyway" ..... in the guest book in the room, there was a page in the book that talked about (steps to take when self parking your car !!) interesting ! at 4 Am i woke up because the room was getting really cold (i was there Nov 24th) , i went and turned the heater on, went back to bed, just to feel there was a cold draft, tried to ignore it thinking it is going to get warmer soon, after a few min i got up stood on top of the bed and i could feel the cold air blowing from the fan above, went back to the heater/air control unite, everything was sate for heat and the termo was at 73 raised it 75 and then later to 80 and 85 (still nothing but cold air) went to the closet got a sweater and socks and found a paper slipped under my door (a bill for $26 for valet parking :-( ) tried to go back to sleep but couldn't (too cold and i was quiet awake, stayed in bed trying to get some more sleep and then had to get up at 6;30 to get ready for my work assignment, when checking out, i was upset about the extra (hidden and separate charge to park your car :-( the reception manger was very rude and didn't want to remove it and when i told them about the heater that didn't work in my room, only then she agreed to take off the parking fees (really!!) how about the room charges???? for trying to sleep in a freezer? anyway, the hotel has some remodeling done, the lobby looked nice and clean and so is the room (modern and spacious) but i won't stay there ever again in the future, if you don't mind the extra charges to park your car and wants to try this place, just make sure to check if your heater?air is working once you get into your room, so you don't have to suffer like me in the middle of the night.

Room Tip: be aware of their separate outrageous charge for Valet parking of $26 and make sure heater/air unite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Joseph S.
Thank you for your comments, they are most helpful. Most large urban hotels have Valet Parking because of the positioning of the garage, or ramps in the garage so our valet management company takes the responsibility of parking your vehicle safely. We do not advertise free parking or self-park anywhere in our collateral material or website other than specific parking packages. We do recommend that if a guest elects to self-park in the surrounding neighborhood surface lots (there is one directly across the street from the hotel), that you do remove anything of value, especially if it is visible, as you would normally do in unsecured surroundings. Our Parking charges are posted on the Garage Entrance Podium and we do charge $26 per night with complimentary in and out privileges. If you should be driving a Hybrid Vehicle, we extend a 50% discount. Our pricing is intentionally priced between $8 to $10 lower than the surrounding lots and competing hotels. Our HVAC Thermostats are state of the art and I am not aware of any failures, although, anything mechanical can malfunction over time. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and our Engineering Department will check their November service call records for the period of your stay so that we may be able to find your room number. Otherwise, we will conduct a room to room search just for good measure.

I apologize to you for the rude behavior you received and this is something completely out of character at the Bristol Hotel. Our Employees are professional, friendly and courteous and have “the guest always comes first” attitude. I will certainly speak to our reception staff and bring your comments to their attention.

If given the opportunity, I would also like to turn your negative experience into a Positive One. Please feel free to contact me for your next visit to San Diego and I will assure that you will receive excellent service, a great value, and a memorable experience.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December and it was just what we wanted! Walking distance from the Gaslamp Quarter and the harbour which was very handy. We had a really comfy, large room on the 8th floor which had a really nice view (you could just about see the harbour) and the free WiFi was also really handy! The parking was a bit expensive but you seemed to have to pay for valet most places we looked downtown.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Buncel,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your great view and your stay! As you had mentioned, the Bristol Hotel has a very convenient location within walking distance to all the major downtown attractions- the Gaslamp District, Little Italy, the Convention Center, Petco Park, the harbor and more. Thank you for acknowledging our complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Valet Parking is available at a cost of $26 per night and we extend 50% discounts when you drive a Hybrid Vehicle. We have intentionally priced ourselves between $8 to $10 less than our competing hotels or surface parking lots to offer the best value possible for our guests.

On behalf of the Bristol Team thank you for selecting our hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 days in downtown San Diego at the Bristol.
The room was very nice; simple but adequate room , nicely decorated.
The location of the hotel is excellent; right next to the transit store if you are using public transportation and a block from the Civic Centre trolley station. Our bus to the airport stopped right at the corner by the hotel.
Best of all was the value. This hotel was very inexpensive for the quality of hotel in the downtown area, and it included WiFi and free local calls. Parking is pricey if you have a car, but when we booked, the hotel offered a very good package with parking that added only $15/day to the price of the room.
We will definitely stay at the Bristol on our next trip here.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room - it is a direct view of downtown with a partial view of the bay. For day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserG5685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear FraserG5685,
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. It is greatly appreciated. As you had pointed out, the Bristol Hotel offers not only a great location, which is walking distance to the Convention Center and the Gaslamp Quarter, but we also provide a great value to our guests with affordable rates, package pricing and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to name a few.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you again for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the winter holiday. First night was booked thru the app Hotel Tonight and we loved it so much we stayed another night! They didn't keep the special price we got but they did give us a discount over their normal rate. The concierge was very accommodating and even helped me plan my tour of the city. The offer valet parking and discounts for hybrids! There is a bar/restaurant in the back of the lobby that has a good drink selection and although empty the food was great!
The bed was the most comfortable one on my trip from LA to San Diego.
It's right around the corner from the GasLamp Quarter, right across from Horton Plaza, a great walking district. The view from our room could be better, but only being on the third floor, I didn't expect much.
There is also a piano and computer in the lobby.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 317 doesn't have a good view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer discounts to hybrids that valet park with them! Other than that I don't recall any other policies outside the norm.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tifetup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Tifetup,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back for a return visit! I am so glad you found our staff to be courteous and helpful during your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the Gaslamp Quarter and Horton Plaza.

Our restaurant, the First Avenue Bar and Grille has the best cuisine and “libations” in San Diego and we offer guests of the hotel a 50% discount off of select dinner entrée’s. Thank you for your acknowledgement. As you mentioned, we also offer a 50% discount off of our parking rates when driving a Hybrid vehicle.

Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your future visits. Have a Happy and Healthy New Year!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing