We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like seeing an old friend”
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like seeing an old friend”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

San Diego has long been a favorite city of mine for vacation and business travel and now each time I go back there I make sure to stay at this centrally located hotel which is so nice and welcoming that it's like seeing an old friend.
The price, the look, the comfort, the space, the service, the facilities and the food are all very good - what more could you ask for in a hotel?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sandro M,
I was pleased to read that San Diego is a favorite city of yours and that you have chosen the Bristol Hotel as your “home away from home”…thank you!

Sandro, as you have pointed out, the location of our hotel is perfect for a weekend getaway or if you are visiting on business. The nightlife and restaurants of the Gaslamp Quarter & Little Italy, music and live theater venues, and the Convention Center are all nearby and within walking distance from the Bristol Hotel. Local transportation is just outside our front door. I am also glad to read you enjoy the value, comfort, service and facilities we provide.

The Bristol Hotel loves having you as a guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    443
    117
    48
    40
See reviews for
169
421
73
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakland co.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We hadn't been to San Diego in years and we needed a reasonably priced, centrally located hotel for a mini-family reunion. We didn't want a huge, expensive hotel we'd get lost in. We found The Bristol online and the price was right and it worked out perfectly. Nice rooms, valet parking and very friendly staff. Great location 2 blocks from Gaslamp quarter. Easy in and out to the San Diego Zoo, Coronado Is., and beaches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear exadman,
We are so pleased you enjoyed the Bristol Hotel! As you already know, our hotel is perfect for reunions and I appreciate your acknowledgement of our reasonable rates, great location near the Gaslamp District, nice rooms and friendly staff. I hope you had a wonderful family reunion and that we can be a part of your next one!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We used this hotel for a getaway weekend after a business trip. What a pleasant surprise in a city that usually charges an outrageous amount for rooms! This hotel is older, but has been refurbished and has a boutique feel to it. The room was spacious, beautiful and very clean. Even though we were on the street side, the room was very quiet - very little noise even on a weekend night! The staff was very helpful and gracious. The bar / restaurant off the lobby was quiet, and a great place for a before dinner drink or just spending some time unwinding. We ended up eating at the bar, and the food was wonderful - better than the meals we paid 3 times the price for at other establishments! The location was an easy walk for most of our sightseeing, and a quick cab ride to the zoo and Balboa Park.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, and will stay there again when I am back in San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious - you won't feel cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 141Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 141 Travel,
Thank you for recognizing that the Bristol Hotel is all about value and we are so glad you had a memorable experience with us!

As you mentioned, the Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel, which is ideal for both business and pleasure and is located in the heart of San Diego. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our location and hope you enjoyed your time at the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. I was also pleased to ready that you enjoyed our on-site bar and restaurant and that you found the rooms to be comfortable and quiet.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was my first visit in San Diego and the weather was very nice for the weekend. The standard hotels we use the rate was not available so this hotel was second choice. The lobby is small and cozy. The furniture in the lobby is very comfy. The location of the hotel is in the middle of downtown walking distance to the shops, bars, food, and the troley train. Spent three days in the hotel king size bed felt like a dream mattress. There was nothing wrong with the room. One small detail the positing of the bed and TV made it ackward to watch. Then again very little time spent in the hotel so that was not an issue.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the same side of the elevator. The view or lack of view was not good. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear DC C,
Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and for posting a great review. From the cozy and welcoming lobby, to the “dream mattress,” to our convenient location, I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

I am delighted that the Bristol Hotel provided you with a memorable experience for your first visit to San Diego and we look forward to your many return visits.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything is very lovely about this hotel, it was 12am room service was closed i need my carpet vacumed and very nice security guard Adam did it... The food also was amazing!!!! And the valet, perfect. Everything is close to everything here, just perf! Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astonnnlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Astonnnlo,
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our valet parking service, and to learn that Adam, went above and beyond his duties to vacuum your carpet! I am also glad you liked the food at our restaurant, First Avenue Bar and Grille, which serves some of the finest food in San Diego. I will inform the Chef that you enjoyed his cuisine.

Thank you for also mentioning the great location of the The Bristol Hotel in downtown San Diego and we hope you were able to take advantage of all there is to do and see here!

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Very central, and the staff were very helpful. Our one meal there was superb, and the bed was very comfy. Couldn't ask for better, and the price was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Simon56,
I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay at the Bristol Hotel. Not only are our prices very affordable, but we are also centrally located and within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, the Convention Center, Petco Park, the waterfront, Seaport village, Horton Plaza and more- thank you for acknowledging this. I am glad you had the chance to try our on-site restaurant, First Avenue Bar and Grille, which offers delicious cuisine at reasonable prices and several of our entrees are discounted at 50% for guests of the hotel.

I was also pleased to read that you commented on our comfortable bedding, which is very important. We just recently upgraded our mattresses and have been receiving many favorable comments.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013. Great rooms, clean, free wifi, business centre with free printing, great value for money. There is only valet parking available, Close to the gas lamp quarter, Was a great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loren77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Loren77,
Thank you for the great review! I appreciate your acknowledgement of our clean rooms, free wifi and printing, and value! We offer 50% off select dinner entrees at our onsite restaurant as well as parking discounts for hybrid vehicles- all on top of great rates! I am also glad that you liked our location, close to the Gaslamp District, Horton plaza and much more!

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again at the Bristol Hotel soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
984 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#64 of 278 in San Diego
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel - a Greystone Hotel - is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing