We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Amazing”
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #72 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Beautiful, Amazing”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated next to bus lines and trams to be as convenient as any other. The real surprise was in the helpfulness and superior attention to detail with the staff. All of them. The rooms are beautiful and well maintained and the bedding is just short of luxurious. This hotel is like paying coach and getting first class.

Room Tip: Street-side rooms have more noise but aren't terribly bad. I slept easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynder70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Cynder70,

Wow, thank you for the first class endorsement, no pun intended!

We pride ourselves on great: value, location, customer service, clean, nicely appointed guestrooms and from reading your review, we certainly exceeded your expectations, thank you for the acknowledgement. I will definitely share your comments with our team.

On behalf of the Bristol team thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    443
    117
    48
    40
See reviews for
169
421
73
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Having booked this hotel from Australia, we were not sure what it would be like. We need not have worried and it was a pleasant surprise, considering the price. Other hotel in the vicinity we priced a lot higher.

We arrived early for our stay and the room we booked was not ready. We were offered another one, which we could have had immediately but instead they stored our bags and said the room would be ready in an hour.

We were given room 815 on the First Ave side. We did worry when we saw the earplugs, however except for the very occasional fire truck, and never having to use the earplugs, our four nights could not have been better.

The hotel is close to public transportation, which is on the same block, and as we are both over 70 years young and don’t drive, this was a plus.

We did eat at the First Avenue Bar and Grille in the hotel and as hotel guests, were given a 50% discount. There are many other excellent eateries in the Gaslamp quarter, which are within walking distance, even for us. There is a fast food store on the corner and a convenience store on the same block.
We thoroughly enjoyed our say and would not hesitate to recommend this fine hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps being on a higher floor would reduce the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValR161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel has some good prices for the area (2 blocks to the gaslamp district where most of the restaurants, bars etc are), 1/2 block away from a coffeebean and 1/2 block from a rite aid in the opposite direction.
The rooms are clean with nice colors and the beds are comfortable.
I like the effort they have made to 'go green' with toilets that you can either full flush or half flush and soap bars that have large holes in the middle to cut down on waste.
I previously read reviews beforehand, so knew to ask for a 'quiet side' room and the only noise we encountered was a drunken man in the hallway speaking loudly who thankfully didn't hang around too long.
Overall this hotel is a very good deal to be in a location close to the action, but not too close that you have to put up with all the craziness on a Friday night/ weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReenyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Reenyl,

Thank you for acknowledging our Green Efforts!!

We have embraced “Going Green” for several years and we are always exploring new, unique and improved methods of conservation and recycling. I was extremely pleased to read that you had recognized our efforts and the benefits that we can extend to ours guests in our mutual goals.

Thank you for residing at the Bristol Hotel and we hope you come back and see us sooner rather than later.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Clean. But, no view to speak of from my room. Had to call front desk kids(H.S) running up & down halls, yelling, slamming doors from 930 PM - 1 AM! Never again. Did offer small refund & apology. Rather have a quite place to stay-irregardless of cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a view & away form students!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnjscheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear dnjscheer,

My sincerest apologies for an unpleasant evening.

We have a no tolerance noise policy and if we are made aware that guests are continuously making noise we would have carried out out policy. We also have security on duty until 6AM, 7 days a week and they not only monitor the Lobby area, they also patrol the hotel and guestroom corridors, making sure that everything is secure and quiet. I will certainly ask our guard if he was made aware of your disturbance and if he had any interactions with unruly guests. I assure you that this experience was the exception and not our rule.

I realize that an apology coming at this time may do little to change your opinion of our hotel, however, we would certainly would like to redeem ourselves and ask you if you would give us the opportunity to make a future reservation for you. I personally assure you that you will walk away with a much different opinion of our fine hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Once again, my apologies.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Overall nice hotel and friendly staff. The street side, or "view" side of hotel has a lot of street noise, room comes with ear plugs. I would recommend staying on the quiet side, if you can do that then the hotel is a 4-5. It's a great location and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan01981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Stefan01981,

Thank you for your feedback.

The Bristol Hotel is a small, upscale, Boutique which offers a great location, personalized service, clean and comfortable accommodations at affordable prices. Value is the “cornerstone building block” and we try and think of everything a guest would want in terms of amenities, beyond the normal shampoo’s, soaps, etc. and just recently we added ear plugs to assist those guests that are light sleepers. Like every major urban city, there are those city sounds that we just can’t get away from; the occasional honking horn or the fire truck. Our west view rooms offer spectacular views of the bay and scenic landscape while our courtyard rooms offers more serenity and are quieter.

On behalf of our Bristol Team, we value your patronage and look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CAlifornia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I loved every aspect of this elegant little hotel. The decor is lovely, the staff os warm and efficient, and the location is perfect. We checked in for a quick getaway
and were surprised and pleased at the elegance of the lobby and room (gorgeous black, red & white color scheme). Best part is the location - an easy walk of a few minutes to the restaurants, shops & nightlife of the Gaslamp District. We walked back and forth several times and although there is a fair amount of street people and panhandling, we never felt threatened, even when walking back late at night. The parking is a bit pricey, but we literally never needed our car until we checked out, so I think it's worth it for the peace of mind and security. The room was quiet, comfortable and just lovely...I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportsFan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear SportsFan59,

Thank you for an outstanding review!!!

From reading your posted name I can see that you are a sports fan, therefore, we hope to see you more frequently during the Padre baseball season at Petco Park which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The ball park is only one of several downtown attractions and I am happy to hear you were able to go to many, like the Gaslamp during your stay

On behalf of the Bristol team, we thank you for residing with us and we look forward to your return visits.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Hotel is a "boutique" hotel stay. If you like a quiet hotel but still want to be walking distance to the core downtown, and the gaslamp quarter, you've found it. It is less expensive than most other hotels around but it still offers a great room, comfortable beds, helpful staff and only a few blocks from the popular Gaslamp quarter district. The trolley line and bus stops are on the same block. Some good restaurants within a block and Peets coffee also a block away. Can walk to the conference centre in less than 10minutes.

We picked room 801 which they coined as "the quiet room." It was on the back side of building and faced a wall, but it was quiet, private and lots of natural light. The room itself was nicely furnished and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was simple but updated. There were signs that the building was very old but that adds to the charm.

Only thing I would like to see is an updated name sign out front to make it look a little more modern.

Restaurant was ok. I think they have just reno'd it and are working on the menu and service. It was tasty food and convenient but could use a little upbeat feel. Its worth trying if you are staying in the hotel.

No pool. If we were travelling with the kids we may have stayed some where else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side will give you a quiet stay and are still bright. Room 801 was ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneortwoweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Oneortwoweeks,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel, it is greatly appreciated.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed room 801. All of the 01 series rooms are quiet and offer clean and comfortable accommodations. Our guestrooms facing west have views of the San Diego Skyline/Bay and are quiet as well; however, from time to time you will get an occasional traffic sound as we are in a very central location in downtown San Diego.

Our First Avenue Bar and Grille offers great cuisine and cocktails and our hotel guests are entitled to 50% discounts off of our select menu items. Thursday evenings is “Prime Rib” night and is a local favorite.

The Bristol Hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and we have affordable room rates and as you mentioned, we are located near all of the sightseeing venues that San Diego has to offer. As you mentioned, we are very near the Gaslamp, trolley lines and much more!
Once again, thank you for your comments and on behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for residing at the Bristol Hotel!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 278 in San Diego
1,379 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 278 in San Diego
984 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
The Horton Grand Hotel
#65 of 278 in San Diego
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel - a Greystone Hotel - is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing