We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #64 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stay at The Bristol each year when we attend San Diego Opera. It is a very short walk from the Opera House in downtown San Diego and close to the Gaslamp District, Horton Plaza and a breezy walk to the ocean. A charming boutique hotel with a lovely atmosphere. Very friendly staff, you will be guaranteed a warm, helpful welcome. Comfy beds, interesting decor, we love this place. We travel a great deal and have many options but in San Diego, the Bristol wins hands down. Highly recommended from the valet parking on arrival to the smiling goodbye on departure.

Room Tip: This is noisy downtown San Diego so a room on an upper floor for quietness is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Brynette,

You are one of our most valued guests. We love having you and our staff is always sorry to see you leave! Thank you for such nice accolades and I will share them with my staff; a great reinforcement that a job well done does not go unnoticed. We sure hope that you enjoyed the Opera and are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location.

On behalf of the Bristol team, thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

I cannot wait to check back in to this hotel. The pricing was very reasonable. The position was absolutely perfect. I was using public transport, and this hotel was central to everything. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Staff were polite and helpful. A truly fantastic experience.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Rach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Rach D,

Thank you for a great review and we can’t wait for your next visit!!

We pride ourselves in offering excellent guest service, clean and comfortable accommodations at reasonable room rates in a centralized location. Public transportation is located directly out front and around the corner from the hotel and all of the sights and sounds of San Diego are nearby.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Quiet boutique hotel with updated, classy decor with helpful amazing staff.
Great beds, well appointed bathroom. Incredible location for four nights. We walked everywhere, terrific access to all modes of transportation. Will come back and do highly recommend, a jewel in downtown San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bojangles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice hotel and reasonably priced. The staff was very friendly, our room was clean, the bed was comfortable - what more could you want? The cleaning staff actually made our bed differently every day, which I thought was a very nice touch. We ate breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant (First Avenue Bar & Grille) and I was very surprised by how yummy my oatmeal and eggs were. $5 mimosas all day are also a plus. When we come back to visit San Diego, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear MissGolden,

Thank you for your kind words.

Yes, the Bristol Hotel offers very comfortable rooms at reasonably priced room rates and our staff does an exceptional job in making sure that the Bristol is spotless. The First Avenue Bar and Grille Management Staff will be pleased to learn that you enjoyed your morning breakfast - the Oatmeal, Eggs and most of all (our morning eye opener) our Mimosas!

Most of all, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Check in staff extremely polite and efficient. The room is well appointed. All the essentials: robes, dryer, coffee maker w/comp coffee, plenty of lights & pillows. The bed was extremely comfortable. The overall room has a very easy eye on the contemporary feel. Location is awesome. You can just park your car at the hotel and walk everywhere. Would definately go back and would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziBrandts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear SuziBrandts,
Thank you for your kind words! Yes indeed, we are a very nice, boutique hotel offering all of the amenities that you would expect! Our rooms are spotless, comfortable and nicely decorated at affordable room rates. And, if you are driving, our valet garage offers complimentary in and out privileges and our parking rates are usually $8 to $10 less expensive per day than our competing hotels. Most of all, I want to thank you for acknowledging our staff. They strive to provide exceptional service and I will pass along your comments.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for residing at our hotel and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved this place! Out of many downtown hotels I've checked out, this is by far the best one. Not only was the price unbeatable ($167 for Deluxe King Room), but the quality of this hotel really impressed us. It's very nicely decorated, the rooms are spotless and beautiful, and most amazing of all, they were quiet! -- this is a big plus, especially for San Diego downtown area. The staff was very accommodating and responded very quickly to our requests. We found our first room (Room 606) very cold in temperature (they even had the engineer check the heater, but after over an hour of running the heater at 90degF, it still felt like 60degF in the room!). So they let us check out other rooms (which we loved) before we settled into room 712, which was smaller (Superior King), but was still very quiet, beautiful and best of all warm! We'll definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, but heater may not be effective (e.g., room 606). High floors (6th floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmkyabuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very reasonably priced (on the internet), friendly staff, good location, the transport information and booking office is right around the corner. The hotel restaurant was heavily discounted for guests and even at full price it was value for money.
The hotel valet parking was pricey but little safe alternatives nearby.
A great place for a short break in San Diego

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWLSW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear MWLSW18,

Thank you for your great comments, we really appreciate being recognized for our efforts. The Bristol Hotel offers great value and wee can afford to do this because we are a small, independent boutique hotel that does not have franchise fees and additional expenses associated with some of the larger hotel brands. The parking garage is sublet to an operator, which is a fairly common practice. Our pricing is actually $8 to $10 less than some of our competing hotels and we offer complimentary in and out privileges.

On your next visit to San Diego, we look forward to having you as our guest.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#79 of 278 in San Diego
1,421 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#48 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#61 of 278 in San Diego
969 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $134 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel located near San Diego's Gaslamp District and features a variety of amenities for business or leisure travellers. The hotel is a San Diego events and bridal shower venue and also offers meeting space, modern pet-friendly guest rooms, an on-site lounge, fitness center and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing