We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay at the Bristol Hotel downtown San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
“One night stay at the Bristol Hotel downtown San Diego”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great experience here. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I stayed only one night but the accommodations were superb. A comfortable eco-sensible hotel with a great location in the downtown area. Tons of great shops and restaurantsnearby in the gas lamp area of downtown. I booked online and got a great deal on the room. When I called and asked about parking in a nearby lot vs. valet I was told by the front desk that I receive free valet service included with my room! GREAT! And they also offered me a free upgrade to a grand king room which is a bit larger as far as square footage goes. All in all I was quite impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the quality of service here at the Bristol.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.. It may be free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNAMDAFENOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your outstanding review!!!

We strive to be the perfect hotel, offering clean, spacious and comfortable accommodations, value, location, and most importantly - customer service and satisfaction. It looks like we succeeded in making your stay a most pleasant one and my entire staff thanks you for recognizing our efforts. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Bristol Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Assuring you of my desire to be of service at all times.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    446
    117
    48
    41
See reviews for
172
424
73
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Bristol for a night and while it was a cool hotel in a cool spot in downtown. My disappointment came when I saw that a large group of teens were staying at the hotel too for some dance competition. Why on earth can hotel management use their heads and keep them all on the same floor. Of course they I was put on that floor and of course at 1:00am they were still running around. May better management prevail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Al E,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed out downtown San Diego location and our hotel. Regarding the disturbance you had, once we had become aware that we were having noise complaints we immediately contacted security. We also spoke with the chaperons, brought the problem to their attention and from that point on, disturbances had ceased.

I apologize to you for an unpleasant experience and I assure you that this was the exception and not a situation that we would tolerate in the future.

On your next visit to San Diego, please feel free to contact me directly so that I may make amends and personally take care of your reservation request.

Assuring you of my desire to be of service at all times.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a wonderful room with two queen beds. The locations is great nearby the gaslamp quarter. There's a bus 30 which brings you to la Jollan beach in 60 minutes and it stops 2 minutes walking from the hotel. The staff was very friendly en helpfull. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a good sized 'superior king' room with plenty of space and two soft chairs, small table and pleasant decor. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Good shower. Hotel is in a good central location close to the gaslamp quarter. There is a shopping mall and grocery store nearby (Ralphs on G street). It is an easy 15 minute walk to the harbourside and a slightly more strenuous 20 minute walk to Balboa Park. We were awoken a couple of times through the night by police sirens which is why I didn't give it 5 stars, but otherwise had a comfortable nights sleep. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red_Kangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I never ever write these reviews, but think it was only fair as I relied on the reviews before making my boooking at the Bristol and it does not disappoint, only exceed your expectations.

We were a group of 4 girls staying at the Bristol for two weeks.

First of all great location in downtown, walking distance to horton plaza, gaslamp quarter. We rented a car it was very close to the beach, Little Italy, and Old Town. There is also a bus stop and trolley station right outside the hotel.... All in all very Accessible.

Valet parking is also very easy and ideal especially that its alot cheaper than paying the parking fine.

Rooms and appearance, we are frequent travellers and have never experienced a cleaner hotel, there is always someone cleaning throughout all hours of the day. Bathroom, cleaned spotless on a daily basis, thanks to Rosie who put up with us for two weeks.
Beds were very comfortable and perfect air conditioning which was much needed after along day of shopping in the heat.

The staff were the most friendliest and accomodating individuals I think they probably made our stay so enjoyable especially Ahmad and Mike. Everyone made us feel very at home and facilitated to our many requests whether it be extra towels or directions.

Honestly, reviews do not do this hotel justice, you have to see it to believe it.

OUTSTANDING HOSPITALITY .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rirri86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Ladies!

Our staff was delighted to be of service and to host you as our guests. We thank you for your wonderful accolades and for recognizing our great hotel, location, clean and comfortable rooms, and friendly staff.

During today’s staff meeting I shared your TripAdvisor posting with our employees and I especially acknowledged your praises to Rosie, Ahmad and Mike. They deeply appreciate your kind words.

From the bottom of our hearts we will certainly remember you and we hope that you return sometime soon!

If I may be of future service, please do not hesitate to contact me. I send you my personal THANK YOU and you have made my day.


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I found a great deal for this hotel via Bloomspot and so decided to give it a shot since they also received good reviews on http://tripadvisor.com.

I arrived earlier than planned (long story but thanks Southwest) at 10ish in the morning and they let me check in without problems. Probably due to the fact that there weren't that many people. I got a room on the 7th floor with a partial view of the sea.

The hotel is a mix of old and new. Decor is hyper modern, hip and cool but hey retained some of the building's historical design, e.g the room doors.

Rooms have flat screen TVs but no HD which is a bummer. A minor gripe really.

Location is good since it's a few blocks from the Gas Lamp district and about a mile from the sea front. Public transportation makes it easy to get around as well, e..g. on the main bus line to San Diego Zoo and Balboa park. There's a 7-11 close by so don't pay the $4 for bottled water in the room!

If I can get a similar deal, I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnEEkEy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear SnEEkey,

Thank you for your comments!
I was pleased to read that your stay was very enjoyable and we were able to get you an early check-in. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location.
Once again, thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel and please hurry back!


Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights. Exceptional hotel for the price and service. Very clean and a very attendant staff. Exceptional service to our room. Great location to waterfront, convention center and gas lamp district. Maybe a 15 minute walk to each. Did not need to rent a car due to its location. Would definitely stay there again as the price was right and the hotel was great.

Room Tip: Guest reception did state that "pet rooms" were on the first or second floor. Stayed away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Daer Mr. Jon F.,

It was great to read your review of your 5 night stay at the Bristol Hotel. Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable accommodations and our incredible location. San Diego is a walking city and some of the most popular attractions are just minutes from the hotel. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the beautiful waterfront, the historic Gas Lamp district, The San Diego Convention Center, and more!

Thank you for selecting the The Bristol Hotel. We look forward to your future visits.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
The Bristol San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#79 of 278 in San Diego
1,399 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#63 of 278 in San Diego
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel located near San Diego's Gaslamp District and features a variety of amenities for business or leisure travellers. The hotel is a San Diego events and bridal shower venue and also offers meeting space, modern pet-friendly guest rooms, an on-site lounge, fitness center and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing