We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #70 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 6 days at the Bristol San Diego. I have never had such a wonderful experience. The room was very comfortable, hotel staff were extremely helpful and courteous, and the wait staff in the First Avenue Restaurant were exceptional!! We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food was comparable to the restaurants in the Gaslamp District but the prices were much lower. Will definately be going back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel has the best customer serivce I have received in a while. I also appreaciated thier green efforts - from low-flow flush otpions on the toilets to non-toxic soaps & snacks. The bar is convenient, staff was helpful & friendly & room was cute & clean. A much more personal experience than most of hte big hotels at a better price!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had a great experience! The rooms are very spacious and clean. The staff was always very helpful (e.g. told us about their zoo deals, drink vouchers for their restaurant) and friendly. Overall a great price, especially for the location--two blocks away from Gaslamp District restaurants, bars, and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were a group of 9 people an stayed for 3 nights in 4 rooms
The hotel is in good location in center San Diego
The rooms are nice with lot of space
The servuce was very good
All of these in a very good price

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zguby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

“Boutique hotel is a term popularized in North America and the United Kingdom to describe intimate, usually luxurious or quirky hotel... Typically boutique hotels are furnished in a themed, stylish and/or aspirational manner. Boutique hotels are often individual and focused on offering their services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting, so they are therefore extremely unlikely to be found amongst the homogeneity of large hotel.”
The above is from Wikipedia but, even so, I failed to recognize most of it in the Bristol Hotel in San Diego, which claims it is a boutique hotel. It is NOT. It is a reasonable business hotel, that holds functions such as weddings, in the Downtown area.
We stayed for three nights, 4th-7th August. The room was a good size, no view (understandable in a city hotel), supremely comfortable kingsize bed, and pleasantly furnished. The lobby was a pleasant place to wait with excellent air conditioning and free internet access for guests. The location was perfect and staff were always helpful.
This was a great hotel in which to start our holiday and is really good at what it does but, in my opinion, does not qualify as a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Bristol is the cutest hotel I've stayed. My bf and I came from the LBC to stay in SD for 2 nights for his bday and my post-nursing finals celebration. I'm very picky when it comes to sleeping in beds other than mine, and this hotel had a super clean and really really comfortable bed. We did the zoo & parking package and it's so worth it. The staff at the front desk were really nice and helpful, except for one of the girls. I can't remember her name, but it started with a "z." She didn't seem to know that there was a zoo & parking package and wasn't really enthusiastic with helping us, so the other guy just took over and helped us out. I will definitely stay at this hotel again. If you need to get ice, often, I suggest booking a room on the 3rd or 8th floor. I think those are the only floors with the ice vendor. Loved this hotel and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frosted_cupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Enter the stylish public spaces and notice the calm surroundings. Helpful, engaging staff from the front desk to the clubby bar help make this lovely small hotel a wonderful experience. For both business and pleasure the Bristol was perfect. The room was huge for such a centrally located hotel and an excellent value as well. All the details were noticed from making a true commitment to being green to keeping the experience luxurious. Fresh flowers in the room were just an example. We will definitely make the Bristol Hotel our San Diego place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumboPetaluma_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#78 of 279 in San Diego
1,427 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#64 of 279 in San Diego
694 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $121 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel located near San Diego's Gaslamp District and features a variety of amenities for business or leisure travellers. The hotel is a San Diego events and bridal shower venue and also offers meeting space, modern pet-friendly guest rooms, an on-site lounge, fitness center and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing