We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy boutique hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #67 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cozy boutique hotel in a great location”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is my second stay at the Bristol.
The first time was in May 2011 for a weekend trip to San Diego. The second stay was this past weekend for a conference.
The official conference hotel was the Marriott Marquise, but I figured it was better for me to be 10 minute walk away from the crowd surrounding me during the conference.

The hotel is in a strategic position: only three blocks away from the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and 10 minutes from the Convention Center. Thus, the location is convenient with the advantage of being also quiet and relaxing.

The Bristol looks recently renovated. Its decor is elegant and tasteful. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is professional and friendly.

The rooms are provided with free wi-fi, cable TV, blow dryer, bath robe, snacks and beverage (for payment). Among the hotel amenities, it's worth mentioning a fitness center; a complimentary lobby business station with printer; restaurant/bar/lounge; and valet parking.

In sum, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    446
    117
    48
    40
See reviews for
171
424
74
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I was attending a conference in San Diego and couldn't afford the rates at the huge chain hotels downtown. I looked around for other places, and the Bristol was everything I was looking for.

CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE: I talked to a real front desk employee when I called the reservations line. The decor is exquisite and charming. The staff is courteous and willing. I bothered them several times for early check in, various odds and ends that I had forgotten, directions to attractions, random pictures, etc. They were very patient and helpful. Their decor is modern, dynamic, and attractive--the property really does look as it appears on the website. Cleanliness is clearly a top priority at this property, down to small details--I returned after housekeeping not only to find that everything had been restored and restocked, but my housekeeper had actually arranged my toiletries on my countertop in a more visually pleasing array. I felt taken care of. I also had an emergency with my packed clothes getting stained on the flight over, but their same-day dry cleaning service had me covered.

LOCATION: I never questioned my safety here, even when walking home at night, alone. Don't tempt the fates, of course, but The Bristol is secure. It is also very close to several remarkable restaurants and shopping centers--closer than a lot of the larger hotels, actually. If you need to save money like I did, you might find that walking is a real option here, with distances that won't leave you sore and out of breath.

SUGGESTED IMPROVEMENTS: I would have liked a heads up on some of the events that were happening in town during my stay, like foot races, comedy shows, or live bands. But I don't see this being a big issue, a lot of folks probably come to San Diego with a full itinerary anyway. My main regret is that I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get you farther away from street traffic (e.g., construction, car alarms, sirens) Draw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pccarmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were staying in Mission Bay but the taxi service was very expensive. Took a chance a booked via Hotel Tonight app. Couldn't have been more pleased. Hotel is well appointed with a nice restaurant and hip bar. The greatest ammenity was the front desk staff. They were pleasant and very helpful. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were looking at a few different places to stay and settled on Bistol because of the place. The room, were clean and modern. Valet parking is affordable at 26$ per 24 hours. If you are really on a budget you can find garage parking a few blocks away for $5 each time you come in and out. Honestly I dont even think you need your car. there is shopping and restaurants in walking distance and the Gaslamp district if a few min walk away.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view try to get something on the opposite side of the elevator and higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

San Diego is a great destination with many high end hotels. The Bristol is fine boutique experience at a value. The staff is very accommodating. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The bar is jumpin and fun.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at the Bristol for 3 nights and were very happy. It's in a great location. It's close to everything from fast food to fancy restaurants. The rooms are nice. The front desk staff are very knowledgeable about tourist activities in San Diego. During our stay, all hotel guests were entitled to 50% in the restaurant (food is good). There's a computer in the lobby with free internet access. We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: We heard to ask for a room on the upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed one night at the Bristol. It is very close to the Horton Plaza Mall and a short walk to the gaslamp district of San Diego. We had a room with two double beds. For the most part it seemed clean, but there was a paper that someone had written on left on the nighstand. This made us wonder just how well the room had really been cleaned. It was a small room as compared to other hotels with double beds that we have stayed at in San Diego before. The bathroom was also quite small, and the sink was clogged. It was good for a one night stay, but we will try somewhere else the next time we are in San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunDevilTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#78 of 278 in San Diego
1,399 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel located near San Diego's Gaslamp District and features a variety of amenities for business or leisure travellers. The hotel is a San Diego events and bridal shower venue and also offers meeting space, modern pet-friendly guest rooms, an on-site lounge, fitness center and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing