We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“RUN, This place is the worst” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base
Ranked #181 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RUN, This place is the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The price seemed right and the location was perfect so I thought I would give it a try. I booked 6 rooms here and paid in advance to "lock in the price" I was not told until check in that they were going to hold $606 against my credit card and that I would not get it back for five days. They made sure that I had no money to spend on my vacation. The locked in price was a joke because the also charged me extra money on every room after I checked in. To top it all off neither the heater nor the coffee maker in my room worked and the staff did nothing to make it right when we complained about it. PLEASE SAVE YOURSELVES, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pack790cubmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
32
27
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife did a last minute booking here. We chose this hotel because it had the few negative reviews for a cheap hotel.

Its nestled in a caldisac behind a gas station. The hood looks pretty rough, not really safely looking to walk around to explore.

Staff was OK. Check in guy was nice enough and attentive which was commendable considering I checked in pretty late. The lady who checked me out gave me a hard time about paying with a debit card. I guess only cash or credit is accepted here.

The room was a king size non smoking on the first floor. Furniture is dated, carpet stained and mushy. Not really the type of room I'd spend my waking hours in while on vacation.
Washrooms were very clean and looked like it had new tiles. Fan is strong at absorbing odors.

Like I mentioned the hood doesn't look too safe. On the bright side there's a ton of cc cameras on the premises. However it still provoked my spidey senses more than usual.

Bed was best part of room. Sheets were very clean . Just have to remove the ugly cover which is never cleaned at these places anyways.

Breakfast is included. The usual which is described well by other reviews. They ran out of coffee though.

Place is acceptable as a quick stopover. However if given the choice I'd spend the extra 20-40 bucks and for a nicer area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jose p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I am actually still in the hotel and writing this that should tell you how terrible it is!! Where do I start...Fist I show up early so I pay an extra $20 for early check in so they can "clean" the room according to them this means leave the pubic hair in the bathtub, the weed on the desk and in the drawer and hair all over the floor in the bathroom. Next they forget to tell you there's construction on the building so you will be woken up at 8am by the sound of a nail gun and generator running. They just turned off the water in my room to top things off!! So I went to check out today but they already had charged me for the day so instead of sleeping in my car I decided since I payed I may as well tuff it out. What a dump!! Lesson learned here and never again..."Quality" Inn may have to change the name because there was ZERO quality involved...The people who rated this over 2 stars must be the ones who stayed in our room before we got here and high as kites!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Son and I stayed here and the room was adequate and economically priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorMom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our family stayed in the Quality Inn during our trip to San Diego. The hotel is a typical mid-range hotel; the rooms were in good condition and comfortable for our family's stay. The beds were comfortable, and the prices were reasonable, considering that we booked for a weekend in July on short notice. The hotel is a few miles from San Diego, but convenient to the freeway. The only issues we had were that the breakfast room was really small, and there was a really long line one day, and there was some mold on the shower curtain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckley wv
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

The rooms here were nice and clean, and the front desk staff was wonderful. Thanks to the young man that checked us in, he is an asset to the hotel. Thanks again for a wonderful stay

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank carolbeckleywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

Not quite located in San Diego I had a little trouble finding this hotel. Once I did I had a decent stay. Breakfast was good and the staff went above and beyond helping me find other places I needed to get to.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShepardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
13.2 mi away
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#179 of 283 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base

Property: Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base
Address: 3878 Dalbergia Ct, San Diego, CA 92113-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a great stay at the Quality Inn(R) I-5 San Diego Naval Base hotel in San Diego, CA! Our hotel in San Diego is near Naval Station San Diego and the historic Gaslamp Quarter. You can head to Comic Con, located at the nearby San Diego Convention Center, and also explore such points of interest as Coronado Island, Old Town San Diego, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park and USS Midway Museum. The Quality Inn in San Diego is your ideal lodging choice, as our convenient location gives you easy access to San Diego's top attractions, including San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego and Balboa Park. For your convenience, we provide access to copy and fax services. As our valued guest at this San Diego hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as Free hot breakfast & free coffee, Free WiFi, Business center, Free parking and Exercise room. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, TV, down pillows, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base hotel. Book now - we look forward to hosting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing