We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location near Navy Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base
Ranked #188 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Son and I stayed here and the room was adequate and economically priced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailorMom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our family stayed in the Quality Inn during our trip to San Diego. The hotel is a typical mid-range hotel; the rooms were in good condition and comfortable for our family's stay. The beds were comfortable, and the prices were reasonable, considering that we booked for a weekend in July on short notice. The hotel is a few miles from San Diego, but convenient to the freeway. The only issues we had were that the breakfast room was really small, and there was a really long line one day, and there was some mold on the shower curtain.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redanteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The rooms here were nice and clean, and the front desk staff was wonderful. Thanks to the young man that checked us in, he is an asset to the hotel. Thanks again for a wonderful stay

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
5  Thank carolbeckleywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Not quite located in San Diego I had a little trouble finding this hotel. Once I did I had a decent stay. Breakfast was good and the staff went above and beyond helping me find other places I needed to get to.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShepardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I made this reservation on line, so we arrived sight-unseen. We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We wanted to be close to the Naval Base, since we were visiting family. The base was very close, kind of around the corner. The room was scrupulously cleaened each day. There was a quite adequate breakfast provided along with the room. The room was definitelty not luxurious, but it was a great place for our stay. The front desk immediately took care of a problem we had with the air conditioner. I would recommend thiis Quality Inn for people visiting the base and on a budget

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NelliBli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My family and I stayed here a couple days for Seaworld and the San Diego Zoo. As we don't reside anywhere near the area I booked online ahead of time looking for the best quality for the best price. First of all, the hotel is located in NATIONAL CITY--not San Diego. National City is a rough area and my husband was dismayed to find out I booked a hotel there--he is familiar with the good and bad parts of San Diego county. The hotel's directions on their website is vague. We made a few wrong turns getting there. In fact, I overheard a couple in front of me checking in stating the same thing. Not an area you want to be lost in at night.

The parking is really really bizarre. The layout is just wrong and it is small so there's a good chance if you plan on arriving late you will have to park on the street out of view from your room--not a good idea in this area.

Checking in, the staff were friendly and informative. The room was a nice surprise--roomy for two queens and had a classy look. It had a microwave, fridge, table and a nice sized tv. Only one complaint here. Upon close inspection I noticed the toilet was not completely clean--the part we all sit on to do our thing. Not only that but the toilet seat itself kept sliding when I sat down and I am not a heavy person!

Breakfast was just ok. Cold cereal, oatmeal packets, dried out pastries, fruit, sausage links, bagels and bread that the toaster would not toast properly. There was also waffle batter that the waffle iron did not really get crispy on the outside so when trying to peel it off I ended up with a broken up pieces of mushy waffles on my plate.

I just remembered one more thing. I don't know if the ceilings are not properly insulated, but we had the first floor and we could hear what sounded like continual stomping above us for at least an hour(it was 9:00pm) before I called the office and asked them to intervene. The first time we called, the front desk made excuses for the nice ladies above us who were getting ready to go out for a night in town. But the noises were so loud for so long I called the front desk again and told them they needed to deal with this ASAP or move the people. Unfortunately, the hotel was completely booked.

Would I stay again? Yes, but not before trying to find something in a better area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NWMOM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Reservation thru website; which was correct. Got a H/C room because it was the only ground floor room available. I had requested ground floor on reservation. Large room with great bed. Everything in the room worked. WiFi worked well once I learned the procedure. Ice machine was close by and was noisy when used, which was seldom, Very visible and close to I-5, but follow directions carefully to get into parking lot. Hot breakfast, boiled eggs, saugage, waffles, cold ceral, toast, pastries, oranges, coffee, tea, juice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SkinnyDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#212 of 278 in San Diego
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base

Address: 3878 Dalbergia Ct, San Diego, CA 92113-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $78 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a great stay at the Quality Inn(R) I-5 San Diego Naval Base hotel in San Diego, CA! Our hotel in San Diego is near Naval Station San Diego and the historic Gaslamp Quarter. You can head to Comic Con, located at the nearby San Diego Convention Center, and also explore such points of interest as Coronado Island, Old Town San Diego, Qualcomm Stadium, Petco Park and USS Midway Museum. The Quality Inn in San Diego is your ideal lodging choice, as our convenient location gives you easy access to San Diego's top attractions, including San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego and Balboa Park. For your convenience, we provide access to copy and fax services. As our valued guest at this San Diego hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as Free hot breakfast & free coffee, Free WiFi, Business center, Free parking and Exercise room. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, TV, down pillows, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base hotel. Book now - we look forward to hosting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn San Diego I-5 Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing