We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel That Feels Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Ranked #101 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I finally found a good hotel in San Diego. This facility is well maintained and they have enough staff to get things done - and they're all friendly, helpful people. I felt relaxed here. Management is pro-active. They're out there interfacing with guests. The Front Office Manager even called after I got to my room to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. I've never had that happen before. The hotel is clean, well landscaped and just has a relaxing feel to it. It's a bit remote from downtown and the beaches but I did not mind the drive. I had been about to give up on finding a reasonably priced hotel where I felt respected and safe but I'm glad I kept looking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hi Brian S! I can't begin to tell you how much I enjoyed reading your review of our property. Staff service is so important and we work hard to deliver an exceptional product and service. Thanks so much for noticing and putting it into writing so other travelers can read it. We look forward to hosting you on many future visits to our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 360 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

This Residence Inn has some of the nicest people, great food, clean facilities, etc. I had a reservation two doors away and the manager treated me terribly and I was fortunate that the Residence Inn was so close. I went inside and the staff immediately made me feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hi Steven V. Thanks so much for your positive review of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. We work hard to deliver exceptional service and quality and I am so happy that we delivered on that promise. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego and to our hotel in the future.

At your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The property is very well-maintained; one negative was that parking was pretty packed the week we stayed and because the different houses of hotel rooms are separated, the whole complex is spread out which can lead to a few minutes' walk to get to the breakfast or pool. Breakfast was a good variety of food, and management was conscious of our needs. We would definitely look at staying here when in San Diego in the future; short drive from downtown and the attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor require you to climb up/down stairs. You might want to get a room close t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Hi Nilay S! Thanks so much for your review of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. We work hard to deliver exceptional service and a quality product. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer as well. Hopefully the next time you are in San Diego you will be able to stay with us again.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We got a penthouse suite and it was quite comfortable. There were two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living area and a kitchen. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the service at the hotel was excellent. I was also impressed by the landscaping on the grounds. It was very attractive. We were on a family vacation and this place was central enough that nothing was more than a 15 minute drive away. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you've got family, definitely go for the penthouse suite!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Paula F,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your experience at our Residence Inn San Diego Central. We are delighted to see that you had a great stay with us. We work hard to keep the place looking great inside and outside of our rooms, and I am glad you enjoyed it.

Just like you, I also love the Penthouse set up! It is roomy, cozy, and has a nice homely ambiance to it. Thank again and we look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you to San Diego.

Sincerely,

Ivan Malaver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed there one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Very clean room and great breakfast. However, the breakfast area gets packed fast and seating is limited. Will definitely stay here again when we travel back to San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlin505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Girlin505,

Thank so much for your review of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central! Your feedback is very important and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego and to our hotel in the future.

At your service,

Ivan Malaver

Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

During our recent vacation to Southern California, we stayed at 4 different Marriott properties. Three of them were Residence Inns. All three had the same layout, essentially the same price and the same amenities. There others were nice, but the Residence Inn on Kearny Mesa Road was definitely tops! The rooms were cleaner, the service was better and everything just seemed more cared for and caring. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PHS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi PHS1001! Thanks so much for your review of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. We work hard to deliver exceptional service and a great product and I am so happy that you took the time to write such a great review. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego and to our property.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Corrrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Cons: The lot next to the hotel is where garbage trucks are parked. It stinks! And the trucks make a noise like Transformers opening and closing. It's loud, like clunk, clunk, clunk! Hopefully it won't be noisy at night.
Pros: The room is great. Lots of space and a kitchen.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank SoccerCentralCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Hi SoccerCentralCal and thank you for your review of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. I am happy that you like the rooms and apologize for the noise next door. I will speak to the manager at the company next door and let them know that their daily operations can have an adverse effects on our guests. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#20 of 278 in San Diego
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
7.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92111-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $165 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing