We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$267
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Room Service
$149
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$345
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$183
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$310
HotelsClick
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
223
105
28
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
105
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousemon wedhome away from homesocial hourfree beer and winequeen bedbasketball courtfire pitlaundry roomquiet locationgreat place to staybalboa parkfamily vacationfront desk staffthree nightspool and hot tubminute drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 371 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Love the service. Jasmine and Candice are perfect choices for the front desk. They are fully focused and determinied to serve their customers' needs. Just as easily, they can transition from task-masters into friendly smiles when their guests need or want to chat.

Love the condo-style layout of the complex. Access and parking are very convenient.

The full kitchen, living room with a sofa, full-sized flat screen, desk, and closet space prove to be a great value for the price.

The daily complimentary hot breakfast, and the M-W complimentary, themed dinners provide even more value. Lots of restaurants located within a few miles of Residence Inn, and for those who want to eat-in, the kitchen is equipped with the conveniences of home, including utencils, pots, pans, and dishes. A note on the refrigerator even offers the service to pickup-n-deliver groceries to the room, billing the room when the service is complete.

But wait, there's more.

The common area includes a nice pool, grill, fire pit, laundry mat, and play area equipped with a net that can lay low for a light tennis workout, or raise up higher for a volleyball game, or the net can be completely ignored altogether during a half-court basketball session.

Conveniently located. Worth a stay.

Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hi Michael C. Thank you so much for your review of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. Candace and Jasmine do a great job and always work hard to deliver exceptional guest service. Thank you for noticing and allowing me to thank them for their efforts. This is truly the best part of my entire job. Your review was spot on and thank you for mentioning so many of our amenities. Guests reading your review will certainly have a better understanding of our hotel before they even arrive. Thanks again and please come back and see us again when you are in San Diego again.


At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We would highly recommend this hotel for a family visiting San Diego.
The accommodations allowed for plenty of space and privacy for my husband and I.
The social areas were clean and inviting. The breakfast each morning was more than enough and held my two growing boys well into the afternoon.
Ivan, the day manager and all his staff were pleasant the entire time. We used Marriott points for this stay and never did we feel slighted because we were on a "Freebie"

Room Tip: think about your family needs in accommodations and let them find a room that will work.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Hi Deborah T!. Thank you so much for your review of our property, the Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional product and service to our guests, and I am so happy that we succeeded. I agree that Ivan is a tremendous asset to the hotel and exudes the "Spirit to Serve". I will personally thank Ivan as well the breakfast staff for a job well done. Please come back and see us the next time you are in San Diego.

At Your Service,

Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Marriott is a staple. don't gamble with crappy places (like humphreys half moon inn & suites). Marriott knows how to do it. too bad the "social" part of the evening dinner is only mon/tue/wed thats a sweet deal. full kitchens, hot water when you want it. friendly housekeeping. didn't try the pool or hot tub. free parking, free internet. decent TV selection. free breakfast rocks! I love marriott!

the ONLY bad thing about this particular residence inn is the traffic on the interstate getting into the place..

Room Tip: stupid question as always
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fly319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hi Fly319! Thanks so much for your candid review of our property. I LOVE IT when loyal Marriott customers rave about Marriott products. We do our best to deliver exceptional service and products to our guests and I am so happy that the Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central was able to deliver. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff at our next huddle. Safe travels and please come back and see us again.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It's the people that make a difference here. They are warm and friendly, always helpful and treat you like they really care. The rooms are always spotless, the grounds are clean and well maintained. There is plenty of parking and good freeway access. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms have full kitchenettes. Choose ground floor if you don't want stairs. Choose second floor is you want a little exercise built in to your day, I do!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Dennis V and thank you for your nice review. I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire staff regarding the service and the cleanliness of the property. We work hard to deliver quality service and a great experience and I am so happy that we were able to deliver. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego and to our property.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good value for the cost and convenient to restaurants and the freeway. We were very impressed with the quality of the room and the cleanliness of the entire area. It seemed more like a studio apartment than a hotel room with a full kitchen and lots of room to spread out. The breakfast was very good with an abundance of choices, from hot items, waffles with strawberries and whipped cream, to healthier choices like yogurt and fruit. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, providing a list of restaurants in the area. The area is slightly industrial, but it was quiet. I would return here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lnlcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi lnlchris.

Thank you for offering your feedback on your recent stay.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
JONATHAN CORRELL
General Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central
jon.correll@dimdev.com
858-278-2100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews