We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Nearby Hotels
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$350
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$255
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$157
$126
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$282
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$323
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
223
105
28
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
105
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousemon wedhome away from homesocial hourfree beer and winequeen bedbasketball courtfire pitlaundry roomquiet locationgreat place to staybalboa parkfamily vacationfront desk staffthree nightspool and hot tubminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 371 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It's the people that make a difference here. They are warm and friendly, always helpful and treat you like they really care. The rooms are always spotless, the grounds are clean and well maintained. There is plenty of parking and good freeway access. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms have full kitchenettes. Choose ground floor if you don't want stairs. Choose second floor is you want a little exercise built in to your day, I do!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Dennis V and thank you for your nice review. I look forward to sharing your comments with the entire staff regarding the service and the cleanliness of the property. We work hard to deliver quality service and a great experience and I am so happy that we were able to deliver. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego and to our property.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good value for the cost and convenient to restaurants and the freeway. We were very impressed with the quality of the room and the cleanliness of the entire area. It seemed more like a studio apartment than a hotel room with a full kitchen and lots of room to spread out. The breakfast was very good with an abundance of choices, from hot items, waffles with strawberries and whipped cream, to healthier choices like yogurt and fruit. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, providing a list of restaurants in the area. The area is slightly industrial, but it was quiet. I would return here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lnlcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi lnlchris.

Thank you for offering your feedback on your recent stay.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
JONATHAN CORRELL
General Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central
jon.correll@dimdev.com
858-278-2100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good option, quiet hotel, nice breakfast. Only issue was to go up the stairs of a second floor room with a ton of luggage, include two new 29" and 25" new Samsonite pieces after being to Carsbald Outlet on the road from LA. We got a very nice Studio Suite with a Queen Bed, nice kitchen facility and everything else that we needed. The room rate was excellent as well, less than USD 99 per night. Would be back for the facilities and price, but could look somewhere else if we need something more central.

Actually stayed in February 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodlamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hi rodlamas and thank you for your review of the Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego central. I am sorry that you had to carry your luggage up the stairs. Unfortunately, there are no elevators on the entire property. We would have loved to have helped you with your luggage had we known.

Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego and to our hotel in the future.


At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed! All the staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we stepped in. They suggested some sights to see during our vacation, including restaurant suggestions with vouchers! We were able to borrow a playpen and a high chair for our 7 month old daughter for the duration of our stay. The breakfast included part was wonderful, and they also had 3 customer appreciation night dinners while we were there on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights. This was particularly nice, as after a day of sight-seeing, our daughter did not usually have the patience for another hour or two at a restaurant. The pool is heated and the outside fire pit was a nice touch. There is a small fitness center, and some tennis courts that we saw older kids using as well. The room was very nice, had a beautiful kitchenette stocked with tea, coffee and popcorn, and was always kept clean. I would highly recommend this hotel for families, couples or solo travelers. If we ever go back to San Diego, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hi Stephanie P. Thank you so much for your review of our property. Your review was thorough and I am especially proud of the staff that was able to exceed your expectations. we work hard on service and I am so happy that we were able to deliver. The evening social hours are an added bonus and our guests appreciate the value and quality that is associated with this. we look forward to hosting you on your return trip to San Diego and wish you the happiest of travels.


At Your Service,



Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here one night only but plan to go back to stay a few nights to relax. This hotel has a very nice pool area, outdoor patio with fire pit and a great indoor eating space. The happy hour/food "Italian night" was delicious. Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious. We will come back on our next visit and plan to stay a few days! Also, the staff was more than helpful, cheerful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 884KathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hi 884KathyG and thank you for your feedback on your stay at our hotel, The Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. I am so happy that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel offers such as the pool and firepit. The evening social hour is also well-received by our guests. The staff also works hard to deliver exceptional service and I am glad that we were able to deliver on that promise. Than ks again for your review and please come back and stay with us the next time you are in San Diego.

At Your Service,



Jonathan Correll
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews